Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars47
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2013
Very melodic easy listening, which is not to say they are simple tunes or lyrics but its an album you can play again and again - when you are in the mood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
I heard this music late one night on the radio and decided I must find out more about this group. This CD is awesome, the music and instruments are something I haven't heard before but put both together and it is well worth listening to. I have the CD in my car and play it all the time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Does it get any better. Saw a small review of Lord Huron in the Times missed bands of 2012. Listened on Spotify and then had to buy it and play repeatedly. Rolling waves of audio bliss, can't praise it enough!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
I gave this album 5 stars because I was so impressed by it's maturity and breadth of vision as a first album from Lord Huron. The music is familiar yet somehow new, the lyrics deal with big issues and personal reflections, and to my ear there's not a bad track on the album. There are clearly echoes and comparisons to be made - think Fleet Foxes, Low Anthem, Arcade Fire, and you're somewhere in the right place. But there's also echoes of Everley Brothers-style country rock, and a respect for a musical ethic that may be considered by some as 'old-fashioned' but which roots this set in a popular musical tradition that goes back 50 years or so. Perhaps this comes out as memorable tunes - each song has a hook line, they are easy to sing along to after a couple of listens and get stuck in your head. This band also clearly have a sense of place - the lyrics constantly refer to lakesides and wide open spaces. There's space in the music too, and all the songs have something open about them, a celebration. I've already recommended this album to friends who share a love and knowledge of modern music. This album doesn't break any boundaries or set music off in any new direction. Mainstream it may be, but it makes a solid contribution to a genre and style of music which is already popular, and Lord Huron can quickly claim a place alongside established performers such as Fleet Foxes. Looking forward to seeing them live.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
Excellent debut album. Set a high bar for 2nd album which is nothing like as good as this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
Please see review of the band on Time to Run. Would reccomend this cd if you like The Band of Horses,and the Fleetfoxes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
I loved this from the 1st play. This band should be played more widely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Great cd from this artist, good price with very quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Every now and again there is a moment when the earth moves and you discover something wonderful. Finding the Lord Huron album was one of those moments. The album is wonderful and I know will go down on my all time favourite lists. I just love watching the band play live on YouTube. Just great
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
great album listened to the album on you tube first then bought the vinyl there is not a bad track on this album
diverse music to suit all tastes reminds me of cross between the eagles crowded house paul simons gracelands with a little of enya thrown in with country superb group
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)