Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first DAB radio
Really impressed with this little baby - bought it to replace an old portable FM radio in bathroom. Easy to set up and runs fine on rechargeable batteries as can't use mains in bathroom. Sound is crystal clear but a bit lacking in base, which is understandable considering the size of the speaker. Hence 4 stars rather than 5.
We live in a very remote area and tv and...
Published 8 months ago by LRnut

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What you'd expect for 40
It's OK, but It's certainly not as good as the slightly bigger radio I've been using for a decade or so (that wasn't digital). I Can't use this radio near the Printer or scanner in the Office - as they cause interference that stops the signal, so I now use it in a warehouse area where the sound quality isn't so critical (as It can be turned up loud!). A real irritation is...
Published 5 months ago by Shutter


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first DAB radio, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really impressed with this little baby - bought it to replace an old portable FM radio in bathroom. Easy to set up and runs fine on rechargeable batteries as can't use mains in bathroom. Sound is crystal clear but a bit lacking in base, which is understandable considering the size of the speaker. Hence 4 stars rather than 5.
We live in a very remote area and tv and radio signals are always poor but had no problem finding the digital DAB signal and tuned itself in to at least 10 stations - which for here is good.
A remarkable bit of kit for its size and price - looks good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


171 of 179 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really nice quality Sony that takes AA batteries., 23 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS (Llandudno N Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I already own three DAB radios,so i already know just how crisp and clear the sound can be in a strong signal area.
The only problem with many of the higher BIG NAMED brands is that none of them accept standard AA batteries,they all sell their own specially made battery pack which have their limitations.

Just about every high end DAB radio relies on a specially made battery pack,that is available as a separate purchase.
Once that battery pack loses its efficiency and refuses to accept a recharge of the battery's,your radio will become useless if no external mains supply is available, remember this DAB radio is designed to be fully portable at all times.

This was the number one reason for my purchase of this rather attractive radio,it runs on AA battery's which are universally available just about everywhere,making this radio totally portable at all times.

More importantly this attractive Sony DAB radio already has the capabilities of receiving the DAB+ signal.

DAB+ is the possible future of digital radio broadcasting,its an enhanced and greatly improved signal over the already magnificent DAB broadcast.

It has yet to be decided upon if DAB+ will take over from current digital signal,but if it does this Sony radio is ready and waiting with its fully capable DAB+ capabilities.

The first thing you will notice about this Sony radio,is the nice weighty feel to it when you pick it up.
Unlike certain other radios in this price bracket, this Sony has a real quality feel to it, the plastic body feels upmarket,not flimsy. WELL IT IS A SONY AFTER ALL, and this radio feels built to last.

I've seen inside a Pure Sonus DAB radio,and the electronics are very basic,unlike the older analogue radios.

A digital radio relies greatly on its digital processor or silicon chip,and actually there are few wires inside a DAB radio,which makes the extra weight of this Sony model reassuring.

Sony could have cut the odd corner and used cheaper materials in the construction of this radio,but it feels solid and very robust,you immediately feel you are handling a quality radio due to the increased weight.

There is a lot of plastic in its construction,but combined with the very attractive all metal grill protecting the speaker,the radio looks and feels very well put together, it looks like a 45 model and not an overpriced plastic affair with that name of quality SONY on its front.

Another aspect that I personally love about it, is its crisp treble sound.
My Pure Sonus has a much deeper base sound, and because there are no bass or treble controls you are stuck with that sound, even though its crystal clear.

Some like a strong bass to their music,others will not, for me the sound is gorgeous,just the way I like it, you can hear all the dialogue spoken during the news and music has a vibrant sound,not drowned out with a strong base.

All the controls are sensibly laid out,with that all important on off button located top right where your fingers naturally fall.

This radio obviously comes with its mains adapter, but the icing on the cake for me is having a very upmarket fully portable take anywhere radio that accepts standard AA batteries.

Another nice addition is that the display lights up into a very bright orangey yellow for easy identification of radio station and then dims itself automatically within 30 sec so that the light does not become obtrusive during night time listening,press any of the search buttons once again and the illuminations turn themselves on again for a further 30sec, A NICE TOUCH to an already classy radio.

The batteries may not last that long,possibly 7-9 hrs of continuous use on DAB , but a set of 4 quality Duracell AA batteries only cost 1.49 at my local Homebargains, and if the radio remains unused the batteries do not lose their charge, the battery's remain strong ready for use, making the choice of standard quality AA batteries ever so sensible over a costly battery pack.

The asking price is not cheap and yet not that expensive compared to other big named fully portable high quality DAB radios.

Unlike certain others,you feel that if looked after this high quality Sony radio will last many years, and give trouble free service, and more importantly its DAB+ capable so will not become outdated if DAB+ takes over in the future.

It's only then will you realise you are paying for that Sony name, a name that represents build quality and reliability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red is the colour..., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XDRS40 DAB/DAB+/FM Ultra Compact Digital Radio - Red (Electronics)
As one of those insomniacs who listens to the radio through the night in the dark I hope Sony read this review and act on it. This is without doubt the best looking radio I have seen since the days of the vintage transistor. As I like anything retro this radio in red looks much better than the black or white version. It picks up dab and fm stations with ease and sound quality is adequate. Ten out of ten, Sony. However what it lacks, in my opinion, are preset buttons, a back stand and illuminated control buttons. Three or four preset buttons on the top of the radio with each one accessing 2 stations would be useful. It's a bit of a pain having to press three different buttons just to change station - especially in the dark. And buttons that either lit up or the symbols on the buttons shone with luminous paint would be very useful. Finally a back stand would be great as then you would not need to hold the radio when changing stations. To go from preset 8 to preset 1 involves pressing 3 buttons - one of them 7 times. Even though I have been buying radios for over 50 years not one has yet met my full criteria!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent small Radio, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thia is a very good small DAB radio, it is clear at low volume level which is what I wanted so I could listen at night without disturbing neighbours.
A more expensive radio by a popular brittish manufacturer that I used previously was very indistinct at low volumes.
So highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Sony, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like to be able to listen to the radio anywhere in the house so by some standards having three Sony DAB radios may be over the top. This one was bought because it has 20 DAB/FM preselects where as the others only have 6. The older ones have a better sound quality but as it was bought for use with mostly speech stations this is not too much of a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality again from Sony, 2 April 2013
By 
Steven Freeman "Steevo" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought one of these on the day of release in the uk as this model is new as of March 2013
I have a collection of Sony radios going back to the early 1960s and this model continues the Sony heritage of elegant popular design that goes with any setting...kitchen/bathroom/bedroom/desk/garden etc.
It has a power adaptor supplied as batteries never last longer than approx 6 hours,or 20 minutes if you attempt to put in zinc chloride ones; top quality batteries (AA) may give you 10 hours on DAB but thats pushing it ,so if you are only going to use this model on batteries only:they never last in any DAB radio.
Having said that this model has an amber screen with black lettering/station i.d./scrolling text/time and 10 presets on DAB and 10 on FM and has a 0-100 signal strength {100 being the best reception)level indication,and sleep timer. The speaker grille is metal and the radio is the size of an average paperback book.
The sound is very clear and you can crank the sound up high for the size of the unit. Mono.Big sound for relatively small unit. this model is also available in white or red (which gives it a retro look)
Reassuringly solid in feel.

Very happy with it in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sony dab, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
considering the cost this is real value for money. digital radio where and when you want it.nice clear tone too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price, 9 Aug 2013
By 
P. Reading "viewer" (Suffolk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have over the years had several DAB radios some good and some not so good. The best sound usually is from a Pure radio but they do not always drag in all the available stations and to go portable with them requires a very expensive battery kit which adds a lot to the price.
This little gem from Sony is truly excellent for the price. It pulls in ALL the available stations for my area and although not having mind blowing volume it is clear and with a good tone. It is very portable requiring only four AA batteries which these days are cheap and very easy to buy and install not like other DAB portables which often require several hours to re-charge internal batteries.
Considering it's price you would have to go a long way to get a better value for money DAB + FM radio.
I have noticed that one or two other reviewers are very critical of this radio but in my opinion they are mistaken,since for the asking price it will not be beaten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XDRS40 DAB/DAB+/FM Ultra Compact Digital Radio - Red (Electronics)
Quick and easy to set up
Great compact size makes it very portable especially as you have the option to use batteries or plug into mains socket
Good sound quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice size Radio, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony XDRS40 DAB/DAB+/FM Ultra Compact Digital Radio - Red (Electronics)
Great little radio, lots of stations, nice colour and small enough to put anywhere. I bought it to plug a speaker into it for under my pillow at night, ideal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews