Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master's Masterpiece
Quite simply the best recording Rollins ever made, and that's saying a lot. I heard this as one of my forays into modern jazz back in the 60s and am as delighted and amazed now as then with his inventiveness and his ability to swing like blazes. St Thomas and Strode Road were available on EP in those days, and it's a pleasure to have the other pieces added...
Published on 3 Mar 2007 by A. Friswell

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A SEMI TONE FLAT
This version of the album is nearly a SEMI TONE flat to the original recording!! St. Thomas from the original album is played in C ... It is nearly in B on this!!!! It's not even a whole semi tone it's a fraction of one so it is out of tune when transcribed or doubled on an instrument... DO NOT BUY THIS VERSION .... There's a reason it is cheap
Published 5 months ago by David A.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saxophone Colossus for all occasions, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone Colossus (Audio CD)
I have found this excellent sounding CD to be perfect for different situations i.e. a great mood lifter for getting the day off to a good start, for playing over a romantic meal, or just plain chilling out too, as I have this morning looking from my bedroom watching the rain fall outside.

I have heard saxophone elements of "St Thomas" somewhere else but I'm not sure where - a film maybe? I am already familiar with Moritat (Mack The Knife) one of Frank Sinatra's most well known songs, and it's lovely to have a jazz instrumental version. "You Don't Know What Love Is" has been excellently covered in previous reviews and is a favourite track of mine from the album. "Strode Road" - another track with familiar sounding elements from where I do not know, and "Blue 7", make up the other sublime tracks on this exceptional cd.

As I started off stating, "Saxophone Colossus" is a great sounding album for so many occasions. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best modern jazz albums ever!, 23 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. Paul Arthur Cambridge (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saxophone Colossus (Audio CD)
If you only ever own ONE album by Sonny Rollins, this has to be it. Having said that, why have you only one album by the great man???.... More like 10 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone Colossus (Audio CD)
Brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sonny rollins, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone Colossus (Audio CD)
Great Jazz moments on Saxophone. I Would advice this preformer Sonny Rollins to everyboxy who are trilled by jazz music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saxophone Colossus, 28 Mar 2013
This review is from: Saxophone Colossus (MP3 Download)
swift delivery perfect condition and well and truly appreciated thank you so much quite brilliant yeh! played so many times now so enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A SEMI TONE FLAT, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone Colossus (Audio CD)
This version of the album is nearly a SEMI TONE flat to the original recording!! St. Thomas from the original album is played in C ... It is nearly in B on this!!!! It's not even a whole semi tone it's a fraction of one so it is out of tune when transcribed or doubled on an instrument... DO NOT BUY THIS VERSION .... There's a reason it is cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another nasty little Hallmark release..., 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone Colossus (Audio CD)
Yes of course the music is what counts BUT am I the only one irritated by these enticingly priced, deceptively packaged (to look like the original) re-issues that contain no liner notes whatsoever? You expect it with the '4-8 Original Albums Classics' compilations of various deceased legends which give a very good overview of the artist's work at a bargain basement price; but with an individual classic like this it really smacks of greed and a total lack of interest on the part of the issuer. So to hall with hellmark and their business model. Join the cause and boycott this shoddy affair! And yes of course it's the music that counts...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A COLOSSAL COLOSSUS, 22 April 2014
This review is from: Saxophone Colossus (Audio CD)
My first real experience of Sonny Rollins was The Bridge which I bought from a friend who used to buy and record albums on his colossal Ferrograph tape recorder built like a tank, then sell them half price 'as new'. To tell the truth I really bought it for Jim Hall whose playing I admired enormously. Unbelievably, that must have been almost half a century ago.

So how does Mr Rollins sound all these years later?

Better than ever! And this is arguably his best album which no serious would-be jazz aficionado should be without.

The main difference these days is availability. Back then music shops carried little in the way of good jazz records. You had to order them and wait days - sometimes weeks - to get your hands on 'em. Now you just go to Youtube and download 'em in minutes - for free! That always strikes me a slightly immoral - or just too easy - but then I'm old fashioned I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone Colossus (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxophone Colossus (MP3 Download)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saxophone Colossus
Saxophone Colossus by Sonny Rollins (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews