Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern production that works!
This is a review about the recent Met production broadcast live in 2013 which is reflected in this blu-ray release... I dislike most modern productions and thought this would be hammy and not true to the original concept. How wrong I was. Despite, or because of the updating to Las Vegas during the "rat-pack" years, the claustrophobia and horror of the story comes...
Published 18 months ago by M.G. of the Rhineland

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Filmed opera
Filming opera isn't easy. This version was recommended on radio 3 but I was not impressed by the sound recording despite featuring world class singers. It is a sumptuous but rather old production. There was quite a lot of background noise.
Published 13 months ago by MSE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern production that works!, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rigoletto: Metropolitan Opera (Mariotti) [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This is a review about the recent Met production broadcast live in 2013 which is reflected in this blu-ray release... I dislike most modern productions and thought this would be hammy and not true to the original concept. How wrong I was. Despite, or because of the updating to Las Vegas during the "rat-pack" years, the claustrophobia and horror of the story comes through even more forcibly than usual, well acted and beautifully sung by the amazing Damrau as Gilda and Lucic who makes Rigoletto totaly believable. Beczala as the Duke is up there too but perhaps not in quite such splendid voice as the others. Very good nevertheless. It's conducted with some flair by Mariotti and can be thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant DVD with magnificent performances from the cast - a DVD you can watch over & over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rigoletto, 11 Feb 2011
The whole production is magic.This is what you would experience if
you wre actually there on the night and in the MET.The singers are
top rate and a cast you would not be able to find the equivelent of.I bought this production because of the Baritone Cornel macneil
he had a glorious voice in the sixties and is still excellent in this comlete opera.
As i am from the older generation i appreciate
the singers from the thirties to the seventies.We do not all enjoy the same singers as we have our favourites.This opera production pleased me and i hope it please many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rigoletto in Vegas!, 11 Jun 2013
By 
John Chandler (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rigoletto: Metropolitan Opera (Mariotti) [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I recall a very enjoyable production of Rigoletto many years ago transferred to a Mafioso mob in New York. Here the scene is the Frank Sinatra mob in Las Vegas of the 60s. Generally I do not like modern updates as they rarely work, more often than not the consequence of an excess directorial ego or a low budget but here it works a treat. This positively sparkles. The setting fits the story like a glove. The singing is very good throughout, especially in the minor roles. The Polish tenor Piotr Beczala has done this before in Zurich and here he is even better. Rigoletto is no longer the pathetic figure so often portrayed and has lost his hump but it does not seem to matter and Zeljko Lucic is excellent. Gilds is always hard to cast and although Diana Damrau sings beautifully she is now almost too mature to hold this role visually on a Blu-ray.
The English subtitles have been jazzed up to the English of the 60s and that works perfectly. The costumes are very colourful and Monterone is depicted to great effect as an Arab Sheikh! This is a very successful production. As usual I find the MET Blu-ray discs on the dark side with lower perceived resolution than others. I cannot understand it this time as the displayed bit rate is high but the images are just not as sharp as say Opus Arte.
Despite these few reservations I thoroughly enjoyed this disc. Rigoletto is my favourite Verdi opera and this release does it justice. At the current price it is a steal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Filmed opera, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Filming opera isn't easy. This version was recommended on radio 3 but I was not impressed by the sound recording despite featuring world class singers. It is a sumptuous but rather old production. There was quite a lot of background noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Typical Met fare of the 70s and 80s, 1 Mar 2007
By 
This performance is typical fare from the Met from the past 30 years - big names in semi-naturalistic settings in a fairly routine production.

The singing is good - but not great - from all the cast; Cornell MacNeil may play Rigoletto with conviction, but it comes across as pantomimic, a comic book portrayal with little subtlety or shading of character. His voice is belted out at a constant forte, which becomes rather wearing, particularly when he occasionally sings off the note. Domingo's youthful Duke is superficial but copes well with the set pieces. Cotrubas' rather mature Gilda is charming but lacks the youthful sparkle the role really needs to be convincing. All the supporting roles are adequately taken, most notably Isola Jones as Maddalena.

The scenery is rather chunky, but at least it reduces the huge arena of the Met stage to an intimate space; the costumes very opulent but a little too shiny and pristine to convince - all very fancy but too self-consciously "stagey" - contrast this with David McVicar's Covent Garden staging which is more earthy and gritty, or the Jonathan Miller ENO Mafia version which adds bite to the story - maybe not as authentic but much more engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 11 Mar 2010
By 
SuperOboeplayer (Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Excellent - all main singers do a good job, MacNeil particularly. Domingo hated the role but looks and sounds the part. Cotrubas is a fetching, girly Gilda who acts well. The top of her voice lacks the warmth of say, Anna Moffo in Caro Nome. Maddalena could have had a stronger dramatic and vocal presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern version, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rigoletto: Metropolitan Opera (Mariotti) [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I don't always like the change to modern time, but this i one of the successful exceptions. My best recommandations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern and exciting production., 24 Jan 2014
This review is from: Rigoletto: Metropolitan Opera (Mariotti) [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I love this opera and I enjoyed very much the Las Vegas setting. I like different version of the opera.This one is like Hoolywood movie. The singing and acting is exellent.Piotr Beczala proves once more at he is one of the word's most vocally exciting tenor and very good actor. He has a big beatiful voice and he is good-looking. Zeljko Lucic is heartbreaking Rigoletto. Diana Damrau is a brilliant soprano and I love Stefan Kocan marvellous voice. All singers are the best you kan get today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rigoletto: Metropolitan Opera (Mariotti) [Blu-ray] [2013]
£21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews