Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good
Well written readable book about the major East West spy activities of the fifties, education and interesting to me as someone who just lived through the end of the cold war.
Published 15 months ago by Patrick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Book
This is a book about a bizarre Cold War Allied spy project. The writing is nicely paced and tells a good story. Unfortunately it reads a bit too much like a propaganda report for my personal tastes. But it is interesting.
Published 2 months ago by Mr. John Gayton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies Beneath Berlin (Kindle Edition)
Well written readable book about the major East West spy activities of the fifties, education and interesting to me as someone who just lived through the end of the cold war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant descriptions of all aspects of the tunnel., 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies Beneath Berlin (Kindle Edition)
Full information on the history leading up to the tunnel and the effects caused after its disclosure. All in all an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spies beneath Berlin, 28 Aug 2003
By 
M. E.C. (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spies Beneath Berlin (Hardcover)
I don't normally read history books but I found this easy to read because it took me into a John le Carre world of intrigue. It conjures up a vivid picture of spying during the cold war, and how surprisingly basic it often was in that pre electronic age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bad Old Days, 5 Jun 2013
By 
John Wilson (Buckinghamshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies Beneath Berlin (Kindle Edition)
I have recently "discovered" David Stafford and very much like his writing. This is a surprisingly compelling story of one of the little known consequences of the espionage battle of the Cold War. It owes much to the fact that previously secret information of that fraught post-war era is coming to light from both sides. For anyone interested in that period this is a must-read book. Worth adding that I would have missed it in printed form but only found it because of my Kindle. (No, please don't thank me for the plug Amazon guys!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies Beneath Berlin (Kindle Edition)
An interesting read of a story seldom heard about and appears to have been thoroughly researched, recommended reading of a different but very relevant time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life before the Mobile Phone, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies Beneath Berlin (Kindle Edition)
Having been on a cultural visit to Berlin last year I became interested in the history after 1945. It's really a good insight to what was going on before the Berlin Wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read about a part of the cold war you southward about, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies Beneath Berlin (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed reading this book about the tunnels and the mind set of the people in both sides that were involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies Beneath Berlin (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read, although it majors on the berlin tunnel it gives a great account of it predessesors and post tunnel operation too. A true page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Cold War insight, 14 July 2014
By 
B. M. Kearney "celticman" (Dumfries, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies Beneath Berlin (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. Although it was written by an academic, it was very readable and provided a very good insight into this part of the Cold War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spies Beneath Berlin (Kindle Edition)
Dire, I really can't remember the last time I didn't finish a book but I have given up on this one. I struggled to half way amidst a story that lacked focus and any semblance of movement. I really just can't do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spies Beneath Berlin
Spies Beneath Berlin by David Stafford
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews