Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embrace of the Spider, 1 Aug 2005
By 
avl06 (The Village) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Any one who has heard the same group's "All'Improvisso" (a BBC Radio 3 CD Review record of the year '04) should check this CD out. It doesn't have the same element of jazz cross-over, but does share the same spirit of improvisation and sense of sheer enjoyment in the music. I'm not sure what sort of music it is exactly - traditional, folk, - not classical in the sticter senses of the word. All the tunes here are based on traditional dances that were used to cure those apparently afflicted by Tarantula bites in Italy - as much a symbolic complaint as a medical one, as the fascinating booklet explains. Lavishly (and slightly eccentrically) packaged in the finest Alpha traditions, this should appeal to fans of some of Jordi Savall's more "off the beaten track" recordings, purchasers of the Pluhar CD mentioned above, and anyone who appreciates a rattling good tune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early music therapy - foot tapping stuff once again from this talented group, 18 Dec 2011
By 
ANH (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the Middle Ages, there was thought to be a disease called "Tarantismo", which was supposed to be caused by the bite of a tarantula. The only way of dealing with this was by music therapy (no, I am not kidding) and through the dance known as the Tarantella. Intrigued? Well, I was - and this album doesn't disappoint. It is a collection of tarantellas, about half of which were written in the 17th century, the rest of them being more modern - largely because the dance was so infectious. Played by this astonishing group, the music really comes to life and the recording quality is beyond reproach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, magical, 15 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. Susan Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This CD was purchased after buying two other L'Arpeggiata CD's after hearing a piece on Radio 3, I didn't need to see a review before purchasing this; I knew it would be good. The music is magical and the story of La Tarantella is intriguing. I looked on their website for concert venues and realised it was likely to be a trip to Holland, Spain etc to see them; but then noticed they are at the Wigmore Hall next year - so the magic will continue by being able to see and hear them live.

Sue Davies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a surprise!, 27 Jun 2011
By 
Came across L'Arpeggiata quite by chance and am very glad I did so. The other two reviews say all there is about this fantastic CD but just to add... it's great and just goes to show that good music stands the test of time - especially if played by such outstanding musicians!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pluhar & Arpeggiata: La Tarantella, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fascinating and highly enjoyable collection from Arpeggiata, clearly stamped with their style and type of content I have come to appreciate so much. A sheer delight for me & I can recommend this disc very highly to anyone keen on investigating the traditional/ classical/ medieval world of music this formation covers so brilliantly. A joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and uplifting, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The rythm in some of these Italian baroque pieces is so good that you just feel like dancing and the old-Italian words have a charm of their own.
The CD booklet is a very interesting read too, with explananations on the music, traditional instruments used and the middle-age belief that you could be cured from tarentula spider bites with music!!
(PS: I first heard the music when watching a French film called "Tous les soleils" (also excellent) and just had to find the CD - Not disappointed I did!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marvelous music, incredible interpretation, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot stop listening this cd. Those people who did it are very talented, very gifted. Their songs bring joy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tantalising Tarantella!, 27 Feb 2013
Beautiful eclectic collection of folk / jazz / classical music. Haunting vocals and exciting instrumentals throughout. Some tracks (especially Luna Lunedda) insist you get up and dance, others that you listen to the soulful voices. Lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews