Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The intro. albulm for those who don't yet know Primus.
If you don't yet know Primus, this is an excellent introductory album. It worked for me. Initially my first few listens to '...Seas of Cheese' left me unimpressed as it is not an immediately accessible CD. I have heard some people class this as heavy metal. Heavy, in parts, it is. Metal it is not. There is melody in many of the tracks & I've never heard a heavy metal...
Published on 28 Oct. 2000

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what it claims to be
This is a pretty good album but betrays Universal's continuing problems with accuracy and with blu-rays in particular. The PCM and TrueHD 5.1 mixes are 24/48 and the stereo mix is 24/96?! Odd as they claim 24/96 on the digipak. It sounds fine but when they go to the bother of pointing out the superiority of 24/96 over CD and claim the 5.1 mixes are 24/96, you do wonder...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. P. J. Riggs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The intro. albulm for those who don't yet know Primus., 28 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
If you don't yet know Primus, this is an excellent introductory album. It worked for me. Initially my first few listens to '...Seas of Cheese' left me unimpressed as it is not an immediately accessible CD. I have heard some people class this as heavy metal. Heavy, in parts, it is. Metal it is not. There is melody in many of the tracks & I've never heard a heavy metal song about fishing (Fish On).This track manages to catch Lespool's (Bass, Vocals) passion for his favourite pastime, fishing. The intro. to this track will place you on a boat on the open water. Later, the bass mimics the thrill of the catch & then the despair of losing the fight...& I don't even fish. Perhaps the most accessible tracks are Tommy The Cat, Jerry Was A Race Car Driver & American Life. Some of the other tracks, often quite short, are surreal. Indeed, this is the theme of all the Primus albums. Throughout the album, you will be utterly impressed by Lespool's bass playing genius. At times it seems that an ordinary mortal would need 3 hands & 6 fingers per hand to achieve some of the astonishing series of notes & cords. This in conjunction with being very tight with the drums while accompanied perfectly by guitar. There are occasional overtones of foreign musical influence spattered throughout the tracks also (French at the start of Sgt. Baker & Native American Indian in Those Damned Blue Collar Tweakers, etc.). There are also thought provoking lyrics & all this adds up to a great mix of very listenable, alternative music. They even sample from the British Comedy Program, The Young Ones. In the end, it is worth the effort & I still hear more each time I listen. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say baby do you wanna lay down with me!!, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite Primus Album. It feels strong from beginnning to end, with both pyscodelic freaky melodies and heavy groove hooks throughout.

Id recommend this album to anyone who is new to Primus, as it contains some familiar fan favourites ("tommy the cat", "jerry was a race car driver", "here come the bastards"). I would have happily bought this album purely for Tommy the cat... 'SAY BABY DO YOU WANNA LAY DOWN WITH ME, SAY BABY DO YOU WANNA LAY DOWN BY MY SIDE, SAY BABY DO YOU WANA LAY DOWN WITH ME, SAY BABY..... SAY BABY!!!'

A really solid primus album, and good value too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godlike bassist doing what a godlike bassist should do, 15 Mar. 2004
By 
Sam Roberts (Bletchingley, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
When i first heard Primus album i thought that Flea was the greatest bassist of all time. 30 seconds later my mind was changed. Being a bassist myself I dont understand how Les Claypool manages to play so well and fluently and be able to sing at the same time. Unlike most bands where you can bearly hear the bass here the bass is dominant with a frenzy of slap/pops, hammers, strums and other bass techniques used perfectly. Les's voice is great on this album although he bearly sings in tune his high pitched yells and strange voices create a fantastic effect that moulds into the music perfectly. Larry and Herb work very well with Les but their talents on this album are not nearly as great as Claypools yet produce a perfect sound to mould them toghther. Also Les and Larry play completely differnt parts as Les plays the main riffs and Larry makes backing sounds. The Politically inspired lyrics are also fantastic and they are able to take serious issues in American life and create a great song around them so that people will be informed about them. "Fish On" has the greatest bass intro that I have ever heard and this will take the listener to a boat on a lake. The best songs on this album are"American life" "Tommy cat" and "Is it luck?" Overall this a completly original and imaginative album from one of todays best bands and is a vital part to any bassists collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Come with us, we'll sail the seas of cheese, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
Tim "Tim" (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Sailing The Seas Of Cheese is where Primus found the perfect balance between songs and musicianship. The ubiquitous Jerry Was A Race Car Driver is here, along with a widescreen version of Tommy The Cat from Suck On This featuring a cameo from Tom Waits (as the voice of Tommy). Classics abound with the start-stop insanity of Sgt. Baker, the bass aerobics of Is It Luck?, the pounding Eleven and the righteous stomp of Here Come The Bastards. If i'm going to make any complaints, I will say i've always found the band and fan favourite Those Damned Blue-Collar Tweekers a bit overrated but it's still a good song and works well in the context of the album. This is my favourite Primus album and one of my favourite albums of the '90s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great songs stand and out from the rest of this album., 1 Jun. 2014
By 
Ed (Cirencester (near), UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Claypool and co. return with another brilliant bass-filled album. My only complaint is that there could be more songs up to the standard of ones such as Sgt. Baker, Tommy The Cat, and Jerry Was A Racecar Driver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No one sucks more than primus, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sailing The Seas Of Cheese (Audio CD)
OUCH! No one sucks more than primus! The remaster is great...clear, crisp and beacoup de volume!! (unlike the jimmy page Led Zep remasters which are grainy and as quiet as the originals).
Not going to do a track by track breakdown - if you don't know - listen to the snippets. Primus are marmite...you either love or you hate, there really is no middle ground with this beauty!
Not going to assess their musically style (cos i'd be here for another 15minutes) or that Les's playing makes flea sound like he's 15 years old and still staring through the guitarshop window (no offence to flea...he is a very talented man)....etc etc ....check it before you comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheese It!, 10 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A cheese platter which reeks of stinky genius and dribbles with mouldy joy. Not since Gong's Camembert Electrique has such fabulous fromagerie been committed to vinyl! Inhale and savour the flavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 5.1 remaster, 29 July 2013
By 
Jonah S. Thurgood "la_fouinard" (Leslie, Fife) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit I was astonished and delighted when I found out this album was being given a 5.1 Blu-ray release. As these are often saved for the most popular albums it's rare to see such an odd album get the treatment and I'm happy to say it's a delight.

The 5.1 Mix isn't too gimmicky and makes nice use of all the speakers, as befits a Primus album the bass is nicely rounded and heavy and you can really hear all the instruments with greater clarity even over the new stereo mix. Whilst primarily an audio disc there are some interesting strange visuals with a mix of old video, cartoons and claymation with visualizer effects laid over the top. I found it best not staring at them as combined with the music it made me feel slightly queasy.

If you've got a 5.1 speaker setup and you're a Primus fan this is well worth the money, especially since it might encourage more Primus albums to get this treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The album that got me into Primus fav tracks, ..., 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The album that got me into Primus fav tracks , Jerry was a race car driver ,Sgt baker ,is it luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
This was bought as a gift so don't really know how good/bad it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sailing The Seas Of Cheese
Sailing The Seas Of Cheese by Primus (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews