Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots for your money
A well-chosen, generous selection of great poems, competently formatted for a small cost. Maybe too few modern British poets though!
Published 6 months ago by N. Fraser

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable collection.
The collection is ok but rather lacking in 20th century British poets. There are quite a few American poets which I did not know.
Published 3 months ago by Denben


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots for your money, 10 Jan 2014
By 
N. Fraser "Kelvin Kid" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem Collection - 1000+ Greatest Poems of All Time (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
A well-chosen, generous selection of great poems, competently formatted for a small cost. Maybe too few modern British poets though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable collection., 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem Collection - 1000+ Greatest Poems of All Time (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
The collection is ok but rather lacking in 20th century British poets. There are quite a few American poets which I did not know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good on the pre-1900 classics; less so after that, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem Collection - 1000+ Greatest Poems of All Time (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I have a seven foot high bookshelf full of poetry at home but wanted something that I could dip into on my i-Pod when I had a few minutes to kill during the day. At 77p this seemed the obvious choice - especially as many of the better anthologies aren't available on Kindle. And at that price it's stunningly value.

Up to about 1900 it's pretty solid and there's not much missing that you'd expect to find. There are no excerpts from long poems from what I can see - other, for some reason, than Milton's Comus and Samson Agonistes. So Byron, for instance, is represented by a handful of lyrics without any of the brilliant comic verse of Don Juan. Longfellow gets just one entry and there's nothing from Shakespeare's plays, other than some of the songs. Despite the omission of Emily Dickenson, the Americans aren't ignored (as they are in many anthologies of English verse) and there are generous helpings of anonymous verse. This often means folk poetry, so you get gems like the Lyke Wake Dirge and Sir Patrick Spens alongside the more high-brow stuff. Inevitably, some of the emphases betray some very personal tastes. There is more Herrick than Donne, Herbert and Vaughan combined and only a single inclusion each from Thomas Traherne and John Clare.

It's as you get to more recent times that the anthology really begins to belie its title. There are sizeable helpings from some very obscure poets, while Yeats is represented by just three poems, Eliot by one and there's no Edward Thomas or Dylan Thomas at all. Being out of copyright doesn't seem to be a criterion (there's lots of Pound, for instance) though being dead does - so no Hill, Hughes or Heaney, all alive at time of publication.

In summary I'd say this is a great portable anthology of ninetheenth century and earlier poetry, and amazing value at the Kindle price, but not the best of anthologies to give someone to help them discover English poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the old ode more travelled, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem Collection - 1000+ Greatest Poems of All Time (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
OK but the balance between ancient and modern is not quite right. Maybe copyright problems have determined the balance. Still not bad value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY REVIEW, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem Collection - 1000+ Greatest Poems of All Time (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
IT IS A WONDERFUL COLLECTION..AND SO EASY TO PICK UP THE KINDLE AND OPEN IT UP ANYWHERE AND ENJOY..GREAT VALUE TOO...HERBERT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book and the ebook is very easy to read, put down and resume., 12 Mar 2014
By 
Roger Holt "knighsmart" (Stroud UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem Collection - 1000+ Greatest Poems of All Time (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
The text is clear, and the system is very good. It is useful to use the Dictionary and get the must obtuse words defined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem Collection - 1000+ Greatest Poems of All Time (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
a great read with the selection of poets to suit all moods and ages , would make a great gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1000 poems., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem Collection - 1000+ Greatest Poems of All Time (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent compilation of some poems I adore, some that I have read in the past and many that I've never heard of. Worth the money and so pleased to be able to read so many old favourites on my kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pick of the crop, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem Collection - 1000+ Greatest Poems of All Time (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
good selection of poets and subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable, lost in translation, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poem Collection - 1000+ Greatest Poems of All Time (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Just couldn't make sense of the extremely 'Ye olde English' language, it was like reading gobbledy gook, which of course ruined any pleasure I could've got.. I'm sure it would be better if there was at least some translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews