Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little stomper
A fascinating album.A fusion of African beats and rhythms with Bombinos electric guitar and haunting vocals.I would guess that the band is sensational as a live act .The album has a live feel about it ,it's sensitively produced so as maintain the immediacy and rawness of a live show .Think of Crazy Horse on camels rather than Dire Straits in the sand.Bombino is...
Published 13 months ago by G Hall

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing.
If you'd liked Bombino's first album Agadez which I did, a lot, then you'll like this one. Just not at much. The band is tight, Bombino's guitar playing is as good as ever, but... Basically the songs aren't as strong as on Agadez and there are none of the extended guitar workouts which I enjoyed so much with the few solos being relatively brief. Call it the difficult...
Published 12 months ago by Ian Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little stomper, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nomad (Audio CD)
A fascinating album.A fusion of African beats and rhythms with Bombinos electric guitar and haunting vocals.I would guess that the band is sensational as a live act .The album has a live feel about it ,it's sensitively produced so as maintain the immediacy and rawness of a live show .Think of Crazy Horse on camels rather than Dire Straits in the sand.Bombino is apparently inspired by Marc Knoppfler but there are riffs redolent of Bob Marley too .The tracks are fairly short but the whole album stomps through confidently and comes to a satisfying finish. its the soundtrack for a summer barbecue or a for a long drive ,Take a risk and get it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars intense sunshine, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nomad (Audio CD)
The music was full of the openess of the sahara and brought back memories of a holiday of a lifetime. Although it is a westernised version of desert music it still holds the hypnotic rythem and joy of bright skies by day, stars at night. Thanks to Dan Auerbach for bringing this into the mainstream but the demands of short pop tracks miss out on the time neeeded to develop true folk style of the region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic desert blues, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nomad (Audio CD)
If you like Tinariwen, you'll love this. Haunting tunes, desert rhythm and pure rock guitar riffs. This is at the non acoustic end of the desert blues, but is authentic and exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing., 10 July 2013
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nomad (Audio CD)
If you'd liked Bombino's first album Agadez which I did, a lot, then you'll like this one. Just not at much. The band is tight, Bombino's guitar playing is as good as ever, but... Basically the songs aren't as strong as on Agadez and there are none of the extended guitar workouts which I enjoyed so much with the few solos being relatively brief. Call it the difficult second album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, Raucous,Primitive, Distorted, Enjoyable., 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nomad [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Lets face it there is a lot of "cultural relativism" at work here, by which I mean, we do tend to suspend our critical faculties when listening to "world music". Whereas if you went into your local pub and saw a garage band playing simplistic jams like this, you'd get bored after about 10 minutes. That's not to take anything away from Mr. Bombino though, because his raw talent is there for all to see.

I purchased this as an MP3 album and - in common with "Agadez" - the sound quality isn't brilliant, especially on the "Live" tracks. The "Live" feel seems to come from a lot of distortion not only in the guitars but also in the vocals and even in the keyboards. But for all I know, maybe that's the effect the producer was aiming for. Given that much of the album was recorded in Nashville ( of all places) perhaps they were trying to give the music a rootsy, "african" vibe.

Having decidedly mixed feelings about the Americana instrument known as a 'pedal Steel Guitar" I was initially disturbed to hear it being used- presumably by an Nashville session player- on several of these tracks. However this works surprisingly well; the steel player is inventive and talented, and the instrument "fits in" a whole lot better than you might suppose. As the whole album revolves around only one or two pretty basic "grooves", (and Bombino's vocal range isn't great) , the pedal steel helps prevent the individual tracks from sounding repetitive.

The standout track "Tamiditine" has a distinctly Grateful Dead vibe and is strangely reminiscent of Jerry Garcia's 1972 "Sugaree" , which also makes me wonder if Bombino's influences are all as ethnic as we might at first suppose. But then nowadays, no musician lives in a vacuum.

This is a really worthwhile album, we should enjoy it for what it is- and not worry about what it isn't. The sheer joy in Bombino's playing is unmistakable. This is truly beautiful music. And if there IS a massive jam session going on in heaven somewhere, I bet this is exactly what it sounds like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album., 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nomad (Audio CD)
Nothing much to say except a great album and a great live act. Well worth the purchase and well worth seeing live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desert blues at its finest, 10 April 2013
This review is from: Nomad (Audio CD)
This is a beautiful album that really submerges you into Northern Africa, Dan Auerbach has done a great job recording it and you can certainly feel his southern vibes rattling through the guitars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews