Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mother of all that is Gothic Metal!, 5 Jan 2005
This review is from: Phantom Agony (Audio CD)
This is by far a must have album - and if you are a huge follower of Gothic Metal then don't let this beauty pass you by! "The Phantom Agony" is ideal for fans of Nightwish and Therion - and features the alarmingly beautiful vocals of Simone Simons. She and the soaring and striking backing choirs are what makes this album, and the growling male vocals secondly are amazing. It exudes emotion and intensity, and I've never heard anything like it! The highlights being "Cry for the moon," - "Illusive Consensus," and "The Phantom Agony."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epica who??, 22 Dec 2004
By 
Yeah you've probably not heard of em, while the likes of Nightwish and Within Temptation have been taking the limelight. But Epica rock on a epic scale. Think Nightwish with the added extra of growly kristania style vocals thrown in for good measure and you might have an idea of how good they are. All the tracks are fantastic with 'Sensorium', 'Cry for the Moon' and 'The phantom agony' being particular favourites. Get this album and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING !!!!!!!!, 3 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Phantom Agony (Audio CD)
Yet another band i discovered this year.Epica is kind of like, Evanesence meets Gothic meets opera.I was totally blown away by Epica.Beautifully crafted music, with haunting vocals that will make the hairs on your neck stand on end.I recommend that you go out and buy this album. Brilliant & Amazing !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Debut, 29 Jan 2004
Epica are part of the genre which includes extremely the talented After Forever and Nightwish, and on the basis of this album, they can stand toe-to-toe with both in terms of creativity, musicianship and style.
There's not a lot to complain about on this album: the vocals are crisp, sharp and powerful - and the interlacing of them with the grunts and growls from the male vocalist is extremely well done, avoiding the tackiness that other bands manage attempting the same thing.
What else is there to say? The lyrics are great, the music is catchy, the guitars, keyboards and drums are all used extremely well and the only dissapointment is that there isn't more material avaliable by them. A definate contender for album of the year (2003) and definately my most favourite new 'discovery' in quite a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Phantom Agony - Expanded Edition, 13 July 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Phantom Agony - Expanded Edition comes with a second CD with just the orchestral backing to the tracks on it. Initially I wondered what the purpose of this was until I listened to it. I now struggle to decide which CD to play because the second disc is so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Landmark Album, 2 May 2014
By 
Peter Grant (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not only one of the finest symphonic metal albums ever made but also right up there in classically influenced rock music, all the way back to things like 'Close to the Edge' and 'Atom Heart Mother'. So not just for those who like metal but anyone who enjoys progressive rock and even opera fans. Simone Simons (who I think was still a teenager when it was recorded) has a highly distinctive mezzo voice (she's since moved more towards a higher range soprano) and sounds rather like an angelic choirboy. The themes on the record are also extremely thought-provoking continuing Mark Jansen's critique of religion and including the outstanding 'Feint' written following the murder of controversial Dutch politician Pim Fortuyn. Rock music at its absolute peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Phantom Agony (Expanded Edition) (MP3 Download)
Epic in all aspects!! If you like symphonic type metal this is a must own! Perfect vocals, big musical themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top album-Top band, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A stunning debut album by one of the top symphonic rock bands,excellent throughout,bonus disc is an orchestral version which is good but unlikely to be played much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Phantom Agony (Expanded Edition) (MP3 Download)
It was a bit of a shot in the dark buying this album as I had not heard of this band before. However, after reading positive reviews and also doing some research via YouTube I was instantly hooked. Bearing in mind that i am a chap of mature years, I must admit that i really like this genre of music but there is an awful lot of mediocre stuff within it but Epica are in a league of their own. The girl's beautiful soprano voice against a choral background, coupled with very tight drums and heavy overdriven guitar with often machinegun-like rhythms is a heady cocktail. I have to admit that I don't much care for the growly death metal vocals which sometimes occur but they don't happen enough to mar my overall pleasure in this band and I shall be looking at their other albums now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Epica, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Epica's music in my opinion is Symphonic/Metal/Rock at it's best. This album, as with all their albums is an absolute joy to listen to. This expanded version comes with a second cd which has orchestral versions of most of the tracks on cd 1. I'm quite a new fan of Epica, & I'm really pleased that they re-released this album. Excellent value for money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews