Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Clown Prince of Crime returns
This DVD reminds me what an evil, twisted mass-murdering psychopath the Joker really is. Completely without a conscience and utterly unredeemable. Since Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, Part 1 (Region 2), we kept being shown glimpse of the Joker in a lunatic asylum. Finally the Joker hatches a plan for one last showdown between him and the Batman. This is dark, twisted...
Published 16 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly neutered
Hmmm... I guess this was alright. Unlike 'Year One', the DKR story has been oddly neutered in this adaptation. If you wanted the original comic but done as an animation, that is absolutely what you don't get. Somebody blinked. Someone compromised. Somebody made the decision to trim pretty much all of the sex-related social commentary and violence, along with a few other...
Published 3 months ago by I. Lowson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Clown Prince of Crime returns, 15 Mar 2013
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD reminds me what an evil, twisted mass-murdering psychopath the Joker really is. Completely without a conscience and utterly unredeemable. Since Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, Part 1 (Region 2), we kept being shown glimpse of the Joker in a lunatic asylum. Finally the Joker hatches a plan for one last showdown between him and the Batman. This is dark, twisted and BRUTAL!!!! This one thing I do not understand is the fact that after all this time Batman has obviously gotten older and lost a step of two; whereas the Joker seems to have gained a step like he has just come into his prime. He is physically a match for Batman. The closet version of this Joker is in Batman: Under The Red Hood [DVD].

The other villain of the movie is Superman. Yes Superman. I think in the era when the comic was written Superman stood for "Truth, Justice and the American way". This is taken to the nth level as Superman has become an attack dog for the President. Who sums it up perfectly "We have God on our side; or the next best thing ;-)". Not being a Superman fan I always love when he is put back in his place and nobody does it better then Batman. Basically the president feels Batman working outside the system his upsetting the establishment so he tells Superman to "fix it".

Great movie just wish it was not so extortionally expansive. I am tempted to take a star away for the crazy price tag. Also my DVD came with the synopsis on the back in German. Not really a huge problem. I would recommend any to buy this DVD, but when the price drops a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman begins again. Part two., 5 Jun 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns - Part 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
An animated Batman movie that is an adaptation of the graphic novel Batman Dark Knight Returns TP. A work that was one of a few that helped redefine the comic genre back in the 1980's and was one of the first 'graphic novels'.

You should be able to get into this if you've not read said graphic novel. But this adaptation is a two parter, and this dvd is just the second half. It follows right on from Batman: The Dark Knight Returns Part 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free], and doesn't do much to bring new viewers up to speed. So start with that rather than this.

Parents do note this is a very violent movie and well worthy of the fifteen certificate. But as they said when the graphic novel first came out: 'DC Comics aren't just for Kids.'

The story sees the forces of authority putting ever greater pressure on Batman to end his war on crime and submit to justice. As he fights to keep Gotham safe in the face of increasingly strong opposition, he has other problems. The Joker's back. The world is edging ever closer to nuclear war. Plus an old friend is now a government lap dog. And he has orders to bring him down.

This is basically a four act story, and there are great set pieces in each. Michael Emerson [Ben from 'Lost'] voices the Joker and turns in a brilliant performance, full of understated crazy menace. Mark Valley [Christopher Chance in the tv show 'Human Target'] also makes a great impression as Bruce's old friend. A sadder and wiser take on said character than we're used to.

As an adaptation it's pretty faithful, managing to get a lot of material from the second half of the graphic novel into the seventy three minute running time. The pace is superb as well, keeping you really hooked throughout.

Certain political elements from the 1980's do show up, and as a result do feel rather dated. But that's only a minor complaint.

A superb adaptation of a classic work in it's field, these two dvds are well worth a watch.

This dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, French, German, Castilian Spanish.

Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, French, German.

The only extras are two trailers/previews for other dc comics animated movies. One for part one of the Dark Knight returns. And one for the new Superman movie 'Superman unbound'. Both run roughly nine minutes each. As usual these don't show footage from the films, but use images from the comics and interviews with cast and crew and some soundbites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Conclusion Of A Brilliant Animated Movie, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns - Part 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Dvd Info.
Running time 73 minutes approx, Region 2, Rated PG-13 US, 15 UK.

Trivia.
1)In the final fight between Superman & Batman in the Alley keep a eye out for a portrait of Christopher Reeve which is seen briefly in one of the rooms.
2)This has been re-edited together as one full length feature dvd/Blu ray by Warner Bros recently.
3)Although his name is never mentioned it's quite easy to hear that the President of the United State's is based upon former President Ronald Regan.

Review.
The Batman has returned to the street's of Gotham City after a 10 year absence but times have changed as the police authorities want Batman arrested an old foe wants a reunion & the FBI want Superman to put a end to Batmans reign of justice in Gotham City.

Timelord Thoughts.
What intrigues me about Batman is the character's light & shade as what is it that stops him crossing that line, Personally I think it's Alfred who keeps Batman grounded as without Alfreds morals & principles instilled into Bruce Wayne Batman could've quite easily become like the Joker.

With this concluding part of The Dark Knight Returns it's focus is on the Batman/Joker relationship as without Batman to face off against the Joker has become more or less catatonic with a lifeless soul & little spirit but then strangely when word gets to him Batman has returned to Gotham City he suddenly spring's back to life as these two characters see the other as a nemesis & strangely need one another to bring out the best in each other with the Joker ups the stakes with his hideous schemes while Batman using all his cunning & resources to stop him.

The other villian of the piece here is Superman who's become the President of the United States lackey who is sent to Gotham City to put a end to Batman antics as the American Government finds Batmans methods unjustified & use Superman as a pawn to do there country's dirty work.

I won't spoil the ending for non viewer's but Frank Miller wrote a sequel to this graphic novel called The Dark Knight Strikes Again but was a inferior follow up to this novel so whether WB & DC decide to adapt that into a animated movie in the near future who knows.

Again Peter Weller & Michael Emerson both perform there voice roles of Bruce Wayne/Batman & The Joker superbly as each actor gives there character a personality Batman who won't kill due to his moral code of ethics while the other The Joker will kill at the drop of a hat.

This is a great conclusion to the Dark Knight Part 1 but be warned this isn't suitable viewing for younger viewer's as this animated movie is aimed at a more mature audience & I'd love Christopher Nolan to make this movie with Christian Bale in the near future as Nolan would do the source material justice.

But for mature Batman fan's this delivers in spades & is one of the best DC animated movies to be done justice to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman : The Dark Knight Returns Part 2, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Lpool kid (liverpool,england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Concluding Story of Batman The Dark Knight Returns is Terrific, with the Joker seemingly Catatonic until he hears that his nemesis has come back, leaving him no option but to return also.5 STARS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Class, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always arrived b4 estimated delivery so was very happy,keep up the good work amazon...As for the film class, as was the comic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this as a present for my boyfriend. He's a massive batman fan and very fussy about what sort of stuff he likes but we both loved this! I was originally skeptical as I've never really watched an animated film like this before but it really was brilliant. Well worth a watch.

And as always, brilliant service from amazon. Emails letting me know the status of my order and very quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top batman action, 9 Dec 2013
Quality action from the caped crusader, action packed adventure from start to finish, good special features also. A must see for any batman fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING STORY, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns - Part 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
AS A LIFE LONG BAT FAN I FOUND THE STORY BRILLIANT BY FRANK MILLER W B ANIMATION DID IT PROUD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars batfan, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
id say it's better than the 1st one 10 out of 10 if you like the 1st one you will love this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just great, 12 Nov 2013
this is a good Batman adaptation, continues well with the first part. Great conclusion well worth the purchase. Delivery was prompt no complaints here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: The Dark Knight Returns - Part 2 [DVD] [2013]
4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews