Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better
From the early nineties to the mid noughties, the original DC Animated Universe (or DCAU), brought us some truly outstanding work. I'm thinking here of shows like Batman: The Animated Series, Mask of The Phantasm, Justice League, and of course, Justice League Unlimited.

This offering isn't quite up to the standard of that earlier epoch at its absolute best. But...
Published 2 months ago by Theo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superman Unbound
Following Kara Zor-El's arrival on Earth, Supergirl is still new to the hero business. Superman doesn't much care for the contrast between his Boy Scout persona and his cousin's more violent methods. But when an enemy from Kara's past comes in the form of an alien cyborg who calls himself Brainiac, Obsessed with his quest to collect every piece of information in the...
Published 14 months ago by Mic


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
From the early nineties to the mid noughties, the original DC Animated Universe (or DCAU), brought us some truly outstanding work. I'm thinking here of shows like Batman: The Animated Series, Mask of The Phantasm, Justice League, and of course, Justice League Unlimited.

This offering isn't quite up to the standard of that earlier epoch at its absolute best. But it is at least as good as the original DCAU Superman: The Animated Series, and it's certainly a noticeable improvement on any of the feature length animated productions DC has been offering us lately. There's significantly more depth to the characters than we've seen in quite a while, even if at times the psychological aspects feel a little tacked on.

It hardly needs be said that the music, visuals, and general production values are superb. But then, that's something we've simply come to expect from Warner Bros/DC collaborations.

Another area though where more mature viewers may feel the film is a bit wanting is in the lack of moral depth. This is, ultimately, a story with a baddie who is purely and simply bad, and who needs to be smacked down hard. Superman: Unbound does not even attempt to approach the depth of more complex and nuanced works such as Justice League Unlimited or Mask of The Phantasm; or, on a more recent note, Young Justice.

Those are all superhero cartoons I would encourage even grown-ups with no preexisting interest in the genre to watch and consider. I believe they're good enough to convince any fundamentally open minded person that superhero cartoons can be, and sometimes are, intelligent and thoughtful works.

Superman: Unbound does not achieve that standard.

It is, on the other hand, a film I would unhesitatingly recommend to any fan who does already love the genre. It is also the best feature-length animated offering I've seen from DC in a quite while, and it is a lot of fun.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superman Unbound, 4 Jun 2013
Following Kara Zor-El's arrival on Earth, Supergirl is still new to the hero business. Superman doesn't much care for the contrast between his Boy Scout persona and his cousin's more violent methods. But when an enemy from Kara's past comes in the form of an alien cyborg who calls himself Brainiac, Obsessed with his quest to collect every piece of information in the universe and bringing nothing but death and destruction. The Kryptonians must fight to save the future of not only Earth, but countless planets across the universe. In one of both Superman and Supergirl's most personal battles.
Superman Unbound seems to be getting some poor reviews. And I don't entirely understand why. Most of these complaints are based on the fact that it's not as good as Superman: Brainiac, the comic it's based on.
As both a comic and movie fan, I understand the disappointment when an adaptation doesn't live up to it's reputation. However, the term "based on" in movies nowadays is used so loosely. If a film is different enough from the source material, view it as just another Superman/Brainiac story. I went into this film just expecting the next installment of Superman in the "DCU Original Animated Movie" chronology. And in that manner, it worked perfectly. Superman & Supergirl's relationship pretty much following on from Superman/Batman: Apocalypse. Clark & Lois getting serious after the events of Superman Doomsday. The animation was great on the whole (CG elements such as Brainiac's ship were a bit iffy) The voice acting was good, not as good as Tim Daly but then again, who will be?
Overall, much like Superman Doomsday, Unbound isn't an amazing adaptation. But it makes for a good stand alone film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice Animation, poor story, 12 Nov 2013
By 
M. Hevingham "Mark Hevingham" (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Unbound [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Based on who voiced this story, and liking many of the DC animated discs, I purchased this disc blind. The animation is very good but the story, simple plot and characterisation are poor. I have seen this once and would not wish to watch it more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people say, 7 Jun 2013
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this movie. The animation was ok for most parts, it flows well. All the characters look ok. I was a bit surprised to see the 15 age rating but I could understand that from the intro scene where Braniac is upgrading himself, and Lois flipping the double bird. The biggest let-down in the animation for me is Superman himself. I really did not like the way he was drawn he looks younger then Supergirl, and Stretched. No broad shoulders he looks like someone lost weight from training for to running a marathon. I had to take a whole star away from that, he looked more like Plastic man then Superman. The voices did not bother men, but some of the dialog did it was a little too teenage for me. I am not criticizing that too much because it could just me getting old. One thing that I did not like in certain scenes Superman is cut and bleeding seconds later he is healed up. At least in Apocalypse to keep some sort of realism his bruises and blood stayed on him for a couple of scenes.

This is a follow on from Superman/Batman Apocalypse [DVD]. Supergirl is still adjusting to life on Earth and being a superhero. Also she does not like that her "baby" cousin is telling he what to do. This is staged as the first meeting between Superman and Braniac. Supergirl has met him before when he captured the Kryptonian capital city of Kondar. Superman goes to space to meet the threat head on. The best he can do is slow Brainiac down. He returns to earth to get Supergirl's help but she is traumatised and deathly scared of Brainiac. She would rather run to another planet then face him. Superman tries to talk her into stepping up.

The movie has plenty of action not just between Superman and Supergirl vs. Braniac; but the people of Earth and Krypton fighting back as well. I like that fact that Brainiac is one of the villains that can match Superman physically. The first time he fight one of the drones Superman takes his usual pounding to see how much his opponent can take. Once he knows it is a robot he does not need to hold back. They could have done a lot better than the comic style freeze frames of Superman mashing dozens of drones at a time. I could take half a star away for that but it only happened once so I can live with it. If I looked at this like an action movie. I even like that fact that is has some continuity from Superman Doomsday, to Superman Batman: Public Enemies (Amazon.co.uk Exclusive) [DVD], and Apocalypse. I enjoyed it these ways. It is one of the better Superman animated movies I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good story - ok animation, 10 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Superman Unbound [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As a 'based on' film this is a good adaption. I would have preferred the animation to be more like the graphic novel, however that would be unrealistic to expect that level of detail.
The story is good and overall this movie is a nice addition to the DC animation library. It will be good when the makers of these movies start to produce an original story instead of using other source material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars super, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Unbound [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
if you or your kids like superman you will like this it plays like it carry's on from superman/batman apocalypse.
9 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the original animated movies written by DC comics and I must say it is quite entertaining. It follows the story of superman and supergirl as they fight to save earth from Brainiac. The animation is at a high quality and has a few twists to it as well. All in all a must buy for DC comic fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superman the movie ' ish, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superman Unbound [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
the dc animated movies really are a huge step above the marvel offerings as they treat the source material and the viewers with intelligence and respect. i really enjoyed this movie and the adult tones in it makes it feel like it really could fit into the live-action movies world. i watched this directly before Man of Steel. and loved them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superman unbound, 1 Sep 2013
By 
D. M. Blasco - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice to find out how the city of Candour and the other shrunken city came about, so would recommend this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good animation, 6 July 2013
One of the better DC attempts. Good storyline and animation, much better than Doomsday. Matt Bomer's vocal talents suit the character well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superman Unbound [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Superman Unbound [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by James Tucker (Blu-ray - 2013)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews