Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A history lesson (but first-timers don't start here)
Want to know how old stoney face came to be a judge? Or what the world was like before Mega City One? Or how the Cursed Earth was created? Or how the judges came to be the supreme power? Then this is the book for you.

Dredd is sent to the Cursed Earth with a bunch of other judges to deliver a ransom for what is reported to be the real first Chief Judge's body...
Published 15 months ago by 13thDuke

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a review for the kindle formatting not the content.
What I like about the kindle is that you can use it vertically or horizontally. Unfortunately you cannot do this with this purchase. In the introduction at the start it says just double tap to see any section. This is hit and miss. As mentioned in the 3 star review the text is really small. I have just wasted my money purchasing this. Now I have to get a magnifying...
Published 14 months ago by A. M. C. 2014


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A history lesson (but first-timers don't start here), 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Want to know how old stoney face came to be a judge? Or what the world was like before Mega City One? Or how the Cursed Earth was created? Or how the judges came to be the supreme power? Then this is the book for you.

Dredd is sent to the Cursed Earth with a bunch of other judges to deliver a ransom for what is reported to be the real first Chief Judge's body (the one in the Halls of Justice is a fake). On their way to meet pay the ransom, Dredd tells the story of how the judges came about and why, and some of his own history too.

I found the book to be very interesting, using flashbacks interwoven with a pretty good story. The Wagner / Ezquerra partnership (ably supported by Wilson) is first-rate, and is as consistent as always.

I wouldn't recommend people new to Dredd, or those who have just seen the movie, to start here. Go for some of the older stories first, particularly those in Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files, Vol. 2 and Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 5 which will give you a good grounding in Dredd's world and help you appreciate this book better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANtastic!!!, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to agree with the other reviewer who said that if you're new to world of Judge Dredd, this is probably not a good place to start. And if you are a fan of the character (which i am) then chances are you've read this so my review is redundant. There are those who will say that there are inconsistencies and continuity holes with past stories. Granted, but these are relatively minor, even microscopic compared with the legions of American super hero writers who take shameful liberties with character histories, for ease of storytelling. All i'll say is that this book is excellent. John Wagner proves he's got the touch after 30 years of writing the character both Ezquerra's and Walker's art are excellent. A cracking read and highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most excellent story/history behind the judges, 22 Dec 2010
By 
P. barton (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant colour artwork here and a great storyline, if like me ( as a kid) you enjoyed dredd in 2000ad and did`nt much worry about the story behind him ,this will fill in alot of the story behind the history of how the judges came to be and the events after a worthy addition to my dredd collection 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thirty years in the making and worth every moment, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd Origins (Kindle Edition)
John Wagner finally gets around to detailing the story I thought we'd never see, the rise of the Judge system and the gradual metamorphosis of the USA into three Mega Cities in the Cursed Earth.

Of course, none of this was a secret. The basic back story was in place within the first couple of years, so is a thirty year wait really worth it?

The answer is a resounding yes.

Whilst many Dredd epics have built a sense of scale through huge geographical spans, this one manages to get a sense of grandure by tracing the course of a whole society across 130 years.

Without contradicting anything that has gone before, Wagner manages to weave a story with unexpected twists and payoffs. And best of all, although there are plenty of loose ends tied off, and nods to many previous stories, this is no continuity porn: this would be the perfect book to give someone who wanted to know what Dredd was all about.

And it's not all about the writing-- the art is top notch. In the prologue Kev Walker channels Mike Mignola to give the appropriate sense of mystery and shadowy foreboding, whilst the main story features the best Ezquerra art I think I have seen. In particular the attention to detail in the evolution of the judge uniform tells a story in itself.

The story manages to reveal significant moments without destroying their mystique. In particular it manages to deepen Dredd's character without trying to humanise him or go for cheap emotional shortcuts. This is still a man who will execute a severely wounded opponent begging for mercy without a second thought.

Not just one of the best Dredd stories, but one of the best comics I have read all year. Recommended unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 27 Jun 2007
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you thought the body of Fargo, the first Chief Judge, was lying in a vault in the Grand Hall Of Justice, then you fell for a cover-up cooked up by a handful of senior Judges. Which is why when a gang of mutants sneak in from the Cursed Earth to deliver tissue belonging to Fargo & a ransom note for one billion creds, Dredd is less surprised than most.

Sent to retrieve the body with a hand-picked team & a transporter full of money, Dredd fills his comrades in on how Justice Dept. was REALLY created and how Fargo, the man he was cloned from, REALLY compared to the legend.

There isn't much more I can say without revealing too much of the plot, since there are more twists in this tale than at a Chubby Checker concert. There are plenty of surprises in store for long-term Dredd fans in a story which touches on earlier Dredd epics, including 'Oz' & 'The Cursed Earth'. However, 'Origins' stands on its own without the reader having to be clued up on earlier stories - in fact, I feel that the way it fleshes out the birth of Dredd's world makes it a good starting-point for new fans.

Kev Walker pens the introductory storyline, while Ezquerra draws the rest. Because there is a natural break in the story where one artist takes over from the other, it doesn't distract in the same way it does with other epic storylines where the artists seem to be chopped & changed at random. And it seems most fitting that Ezquerra is given the reigns for most of it - the classic Dredd artist for a classic Dredd epic, tucked inside a classic Bolland cover. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a review for the kindle formatting not the content., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd Origins (Kindle Edition)
What I like about the kindle is that you can use it vertically or horizontally. Unfortunately you cannot do this with this purchase. In the introduction at the start it says just double tap to see any section. This is hit and miss. As mentioned in the 3 star review the text is really small. I have just wasted my money purchasing this. Now I have to get a magnifying glass out to read the graphic novel. Way to go Kindle.
Also when I tried it on my kindle app for Windows 8 I was greeted with the really helpful message that this title is not available for windows 8. EVERYTHING else is available why not this? I mean I could actually read it on my 17 inch monitor. Kindle you suck at Graphic Novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The story is fabulous, but the Kindle conversion is poor., 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd Origins (Kindle Edition)
The Kindle app is the worst piect of software for comic books I have used. Why you can't sell it as a cbr or pdf (like the officual 2000AD site manages to do) is beyond me. Comixology's app works well, too - the Kindle one does not. Terrible on a tablet, does not work at all on a PC. Not going to mark this story down because of a rubbish attempt at making a comic reader app - that is hardly the fault of of the publisher, after all - but will not be buying any more kindle comics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dredd., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd Origins (Kindle Edition)
If you've ever wanted to dip your toe into Dredd's world, Origins is a pretty good place to start. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dredd, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: Judge Dredd Origins (Kindle Edition)
If you don't wear glasses to read, you may struggle to read this book unless you enlarge each panel on the page. The story is pure Dredd. Enjoyed revisiting the start of the Dredd legend. If you are Dredd fan 're read this book, if you are just starting with judge Dredd then this should be your first encounter with the great man of the law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd Origins (Kindle Edition)
Great story, really nice artwork, I haven't read much Dress but loved this, seems a nice story arc that even Dress novices like me can enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judge Dredd Origins
Judge Dredd Origins by John Wagner
10.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews