Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.79
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2014
Somewhat dated but still an excellent introduction to this Prime Minister. Jenkins had a rich style of presentation though at times he is inclined to go off in other directions, but a good solid biography
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
A riveting account of the last Liberal prime minister of Great Britain. Jenkins is expert in piecing together the multifarious strands of such a complex personality and leading the reader through the tortuous issues surrounding the questions on Irish home rule and management of the First World War. The background of self-interested politicians fighting each other for their pet projects and in pursuit of personal agendas is quite frightening at times. At one point Asquith notes almost in passing to one of his correspondents that eight resignations are contemplated! In the end his urbane style fails to prevent his fall from grace and we shall never know how WW1 might have ended had he, rather than Lloyd George, remained PM. At a time when it seems the last thing a politician contemplates is resignation - even if he or she has presided over numerous disasters - it is useful to look back to a time where resignations were used as a bargaining chip in pursuit of ones own ends. Not only is this book good for a student of history it also teaches much about twentieth century politics and human nature.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Well written as all Woy's books are. There is a sense of the author's sympathy for Asquith and how his premiership slid from perfection to internal bickering completely without his being to do anything about it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
This book covers off the tensions and cleavages within Edwardian politics that ultimately leads to the end of the Liberal party as a significant force in the UK. Jenkins is sympathetic to his subject without missing that at times he lets events force his hand rather than the other way around.
How Asquith lost control of the Government twice is interesting in itself and the issues of the Lords and Ireland ultimately defeated him.
Jenkins never really explains why Asquith was able or willing to correspond excessively with women whilst at Number 10 or what the nature of his relationship was with some of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
I've previously read Roy Jenkins' biographies on Gladstone & Churchill. I am now thoroughly enjoying his life of the Liberal Prime Minister Asquith. Jenkins writes with the requisite insider knowledge of Parliamentary matters and in a readable style even some 50 years after first publication. Asquith was one of Britain's longest serving Prime Ministers and is well worthy of a major biography. I will be looking out for more of Jenkins' political biographies after I finish this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
I was so disappointed in this. I am an addict of political biographies and assumed that this would be a useful addition to my collection. But I found it impossibly heavy going, with a rather pompous style and nothing to grab my attention. I gave up half-way through.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
Good book, but use of language I some words and descriptions would suggest a superior intellect than is required in a biograper
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Not read yey but I have read Roy Jenkins before and he is OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)