Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent kit, not so good documentation
Firstly, this is a great price for the amount of stuff you get with this kit - an Arduino, a proto shield, loads of components and a plastic box for it all (although mine was broken when I got it).

One star off because the documentation, while exhaustive, was apparently written in another language and has been poorly translated. The code examples are good, but...
Published 14 months ago by bunglenutter

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but slightly flawed
A well thought out package including lots of varied projects, a nice plastic box and good value for money.
It falls from 5 stars to 3 due to 2 of the pin banks on the clone Sainsmart Arduino R3 being misaligned. This meant that it and the Sainsmart Ethernet shield (bought at the same time), which also had the same issue, refused to join together. I almost returned...
Published 11 months ago by C Harland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent kit, not so good documentation, 9 May 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SainSmart UNO R3 Starter Kit With 19 Basic Arduino Tutorial Projects (Download Available in the description) for Beginners (1602 LCD & Prototype Shield & hc-sc04 included) (Electronics)
Firstly, this is a great price for the amount of stuff you get with this kit - an Arduino, a proto shield, loads of components and a plastic box for it all (although mine was broken when I got it).

One star off because the documentation, while exhaustive, was apparently written in another language and has been poorly translated. The code examples are good, but the comments in them are all in Chinese.

If you don't mind that, there's plenty to be had here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap fun for an inquisitive teenager (of any age), 30 Oct 2013
By 
Never the Twain (Suffolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SainSmart UNO R3 Starter Kit With 19 Basic Arduino Tutorial Projects (Download Available in the description) for Beginners (1602 LCD & Prototype Shield & hc-sc04 included) (Electronics)
The Arduino concept is great.

If any parts in the kit break (and the design is 'open', so quality is hard to determine until you use the parts) then replacements are easily available. Search for "l298n arduino" using google and you will see what I mean. This is a kit you can extend as required.

Before buying have a look on YouTube. A lot of people post videos of their Arduino projects. Finally, this (and other) kits are available at vastly different proces from a lot of different places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a beginner, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SainSmart UNO R3 Starter Kit With 19 Basic Arduino Tutorial Projects (Download Available in the description) for Beginners (1602 LCD & Prototype Shield & hc-sc04 included) (Electronics)
I bought that as an introduction to myself into the world of Arduino. It has an array of components which I'm sure I shall find use for, but in less than 10 minutes I had already assembled a small light display.

The reason I rate this 4/5 stars is because after receiving the product I checked on their website to find the tutorial documentation which was advertised on the Amazon page and it seems that it no longer exists. However there are plenty of other free beginner tutorials on the internet which I was able to learn from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter kit, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SainSmart UNO R3 Starter Kit With 19 Basic Arduino Tutorial Projects (Download Available in the description) for Beginners (1602 LCD & Prototype Shield & hc-sc04 included) (Electronics)
Bought this kit plus a Pi kit (different supplier) for my sons 14th birthday - we are having so much fun with the Arduino, we haven't opened the Pi!

If you're looking for a way into "maker" electronics, I'd strongly recommend the arduino as your entry point; this kit provides pretty much everything you need. It's easy to draw parallels from the projects to the things your see around you every day - we made a 'burglar alarm' and traffic lights on day 1 - great learning for a future 'tech' career.

Our kit seemed to come with 3 sets of the same resistor, which I think is a mis-pack, but as these are readily available either here or from other reputable retailers (online or store), and that using a slightly different resistor value doesn't cause a problem with the early projects, I don't see this as an issue.

The only additional thing I bought was a digital multi-meter to 'test' the circuit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money!, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SainSmart UNO R3 Starter Kit With 19 Basic Arduino Tutorial Projects (Download Available in the description) for Beginners (1602 LCD & Prototype Shield & hc-sc04 included) (Electronics)
If you're just starting out with the Arduino or even just want to experiment to see if it will do the job you want this could very well be the set for you.

The parts are, as you would imagine not the top of line versions, but they all work well and are certainly good enough, given the price it represents excellent VFM.

The manuals from download link or Sainsmart's website are well written and quite a progressive, they take the novice from 'hello world' through to quite complex programs. I would recommend a text book such as the Dummies book to go with it.

Oh, yes... one other thing. The Sainsmart Uno has pins for direct connection to RC servo connectors, so if you are considering and RC project this Arduino save an awful lot of knitting with cables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No instructions to get you started..., 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SainSmart UNO R3 Starter Kit With 19 Basic Arduino Tutorial Projects (Download Available in the description) for Beginners (1602 LCD & Prototype Shield & hc-sc04 included) (Electronics)
The description says "Starter kit with 19 basic tutorial projects for beginners".

I bought this for my 14 year old son, expecting to be able to get started out of the box.

But there are no instructions in the box at all.

You need to go to [...]

and then click on tutorial which enables to you to download this - http://www.sainsmart.com/zen/documents/20-013/SainSmart%20UNO%20Starter%20Kits%20Tutorials.zip

Which I found after a bit of googling.

You will also need to download the arduino software from here - [...]

Which will then enable you to actually get started...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Kit, 28 Jun 2013
By 
M. Ball (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SainSmart UNO R3 Starter Kit With 19 Basic Arduino Tutorial Projects (Download Available in the description) for Beginners (1602 LCD & Prototype Shield & hc-sc04 included) (Electronics)
The kit arrived promptly. I have not had chance to use it anger but did check it was working and it was all fine. I just need to decide on a project for my Son and I to get our teeth into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but slightly flawed, 1 Sep 2013
By 
C Harland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SainSmart UNO R3 Starter Kit With 19 Basic Arduino Tutorial Projects (Download Available in the description) for Beginners (1602 LCD & Prototype Shield & hc-sc04 included) (Electronics)
A well thought out package including lots of varied projects, a nice plastic box and good value for money.
It falls from 5 stars to 3 due to 2 of the pin banks on the clone Sainsmart Arduino R3 being misaligned. This meant that it and the Sainsmart Ethernet shield (bought at the same time), which also had the same issue, refused to join together. I almost returned the lot but persevered and although the pins are out of shape it all now works.
Better manufacture and quality control would have made this a gold star product.
Online documentation, once I found it, was detailed and helpful, although the English isn't always perfect it's understandable. A link to the documentation in the box would have been a great help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is great, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SainSmart UNO R3 Starter Kit With 19 Basic Arduino Tutorial Projects (Download Available in the description) for Beginners (1602 LCD & Prototype Shield & hc-sc04 included) (Electronics)
The item arrived on time
It has a lot of transducers sensore to play with..
and you can learn from the examples...
For a guy just beginning to play with arduino it is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for beginners, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SainSmart UNO R3 Starter Kit With 19 Basic Arduino Tutorial Projects (Download Available in the description) for Beginners (1602 LCD & Prototype Shield & hc-sc04 included) (Electronics)
The product arrived in time, and according to what it was supposed to be.

I haven't used it a lot, but it is very good to learn all the basics from arduino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews