Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Indeed!
Malian singer/songwriter Rokia Traore has an immediately recognisable
voice. It demands instant attention with its rich, slightly raspy vibrato
and smokey tone. John Parish (long time collaborator with P J Harvey)
is a terrific choice of producer for her collection of nine new songs.
The stage he sets is uncluttered and transparent. Ms Traore's...
Published on 13 April 2013 by The Wolf

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed product
the album is musically fine but the disc does not rip properly using db poweramp, only showing track nos and not titles.it also does not show artwork
Published 24 months ago by m mcdermott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (MP3 Download)
The voice, the timing and the complex rythm's are just enthralling. The musicians who accompany her are also fantastic. I shall have to listen to some of her earlier works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous, 1 May 2013
By 
Tim Weber (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (MP3 Download)
A lovely album, more than met my expectations after first catching the singer perform on Later... with Jools Holland.

If you love modern West African music, this album should be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love her music and voice, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
I like the music, the warmth in Rokia's voice! I hope to see her in concert this summer in London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
I'm a big Rokia fan and was eager to get my hands on this album. It doesn't disappoint! Her voice is beautiful and the tracks quite varied, from haunting to powerful. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Rokia, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
Wonderful rhythm and lyrics, and at times a cry for her beautiful Africa that moves the soul to honour the just and search for meaning in what we do to one another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars real talent, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
Very good album, but see her live; she's an artist - Kouma is powerful - and great lyrics (english translation with CD))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chris K on Beautiful Africa, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
World Music at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Africa, 30 Nov. 2013
By 
L. F. Haywrd "ashfish47" (Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
Lovely music and an amazing voice. A great album to add to my eclectic collection. It has great rhythms and a real feel of African music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed product, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
the album is musically fine but the disc does not rip properly using db poweramp, only showing track nos and not titles.it also does not show artwork
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beautiful Africa
Beautiful Africa by Rokia Traoré
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews