Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Indeed!
Malian singer/songwriter Rokia Traore has an immediately recognisable
voice. It demands instant attention with its rich, slightly raspy vibrato
and smokey tone. John Parish (long time collaborator with P J Harvey)
is a terrific choice of producer for her collection of nine new songs.
The stage he sets is uncluttered and transparent. Ms Traore's...
Published 15 months ago by The Wolf

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed product
the album is musically fine but the disc does not rip properly using db poweramp, only showing track nos and not titles.it also does not show artwork
Published 14 months ago by m mcdermott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Indeed!, 13 April 2013
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
Malian singer/songwriter Rokia Traore has an immediately recognisable
voice. It demands instant attention with its rich, slightly raspy vibrato
and smokey tone. John Parish (long time collaborator with P J Harvey)
is a terrific choice of producer for her collection of nine new songs.
The stage he sets is uncluttered and transparent. Ms Traore's authoritative
performances sit comfortably at the heart of these deliciously limpid
arrangements for jangly guitars, crisp percussion and tight backing vocals.

Things kick off wonderfully well with the slinky groove of 'Lalla', a
laid-back but upbeat confection full of silver, mercurial guitar lines
and the trembling words packed in tight together like sardines in a tin.
'Sikey', too, rattles along gamely on the back of some devilishly tricky beats
and sharply pointed harmonic punctuation marks. 'Ka Moun Ke' delivers
some of the project's prettiest and most affecting melodic ideas and the
stripped-down, almost minimalist, rhythmic structure of 'N'Teri' provides a
platform for Ms Traore's voice to burn with quiet intensity and beautifully
restrained passion. It is perhaps her finest moment in this engaging work.

Simplicity, economy and not a little magic combine to make 'Beautiful Africa'
one of the loveliest recordings we will be lucky enough to befriend this year.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I will follow her..., 16 May 2013
By 
Jarmo L (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
She is a great and brave talented artist. I think that the most impressive thing in her is her musical ability is to do some kind of crossover music through her African roots. The music is Malian with an distinct Western edge. Usually, these type of records are made the other way around being producer not artist based. Great work and development after the previous, also an excellent record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love her music and voice, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
I like the music, the warmth in Rokia's voice! I hope to see her in concert this summer in London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album (even better live!), 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
This is probably my favourite album of 2013. Rokia has created her own unique and highly sophisticated style, using the controlled power of her voice to pour emotion into her wonderfully poetic lyrics, complemented by the tight sound of her band. The accompanying booklet gives english translations of each song, revealing the high quality of the lyrics, although it's hardly necessary for 'Mélancolie' since her french is so clear. The opening couplet is exquisite: 'Mélancolie danse avec moi/À la belle cadence de mes rêves de joie.' Not that you need to understand her words to appreciate her enchanting voice and infectious energy. Based on the strength of this album, I went to see Rokia perform at the Royal Festival Hall in London. She was fantastic, putting in even more oomph than in the studio: everyone was exhorted to get up and dance as she took apart and reconstructed 'Tuit Tuit'. 'Kouma' and 'Beautiful Africa' were especially good live, although every track is a highlight. I reckon she has won a lot of new fans with this album, and deservedly so. Buy the album, and then, if you can, get tickets to see her live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars real talent, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
Very good album, but see her live; she's an artist - Kouma is powerful - and great lyrics (english translation with CD))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Rokia, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
Wonderful rhythm and lyrics, and at times a cry for her beautiful Africa that moves the soul to honour the just and search for meaning in what we do to one another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
A bit more up beat than her last 2 cd's (which are also about as good as music gets). It has hardly left my stereo in the last few weeks and it still sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Africa, 30 Nov 2013
By 
L. F. Haywrd "ashfish47" (Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
Lovely music and an amazing voice. A great album to add to my eclectic collection. It has great rhythms and a real feel of African music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
I heard Rokia Traore on BBC women's hour - this prompted me to buy this album, and it is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Album, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Very inspiring Album and a joy to listen to, well recorded and produced, well worth seeing live if you get the opportunity, introduced a few of my friends to Rokia Traoré, excellant Band and backing singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews