Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Deal
What an amazing bargain. Brilliant sound quality makes a massive difference, there is some noise but its not really noticeable. It has two modes Tele and Cardio. Tele is good for using it as a boom mic, just point it at the sound from about 1-2.5 feet away and it works great. I just plug it into my cannon 600d and it sounds fine. The only problem is that my cannon wants...
Published 18 months ago by Patrick W. Newman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not professional, but okay for consumer grade cameras / recorders
Quality is okay, but despite the XLR socket, this is not a balanced microphone. This can't be phantom powered (48v) - the main reason being that as it isn't balanced you'll get noise from the supply.

So okay if you use batteries and are directly connecting it to a camera, or some kind of consumer grade recorder.

This is identical to the HTDZ HT-81,...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. J. Covey-crump


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Deal, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Patrick W. Newman (Stevenage UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andoer Professional Shotgun Microphone Mic for Sony Camcorder
What an amazing bargain. Brilliant sound quality makes a massive difference, there is some noise but its not really noticeable. It has two modes Tele and Cardio. Tele is good for using it as a boom mic, just point it at the sound from about 1-2.5 feet away and it works great. I just plug it into my cannon 600d and it sounds fine. The only problem is that my cannon wants to record stereo but the mic records mono, so i only get sound on the left channel but this can be easily fixed by converting it to mono or using software to set the pan to 0 on both left and right channels.

This is a great product and a must have for all low budget film makers. Don't be put of by the price, for once quality has come with affordability.

PS. It requires one double A battery to work, just unscrew the back part of the mic near the xlr input.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING quality for the price., 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andoer Professional Shotgun Microphone Mic for Sony Camcorder
hey all, i purchased this item, the battery lasted way longer
than what it stated, i got around 30 hours(used a cheap battery from a
pack from a pound shop)

i also made a little video to show the sound quality of the mic purchased,
compared to a mic on camera which can be viewed here http://youtu.be/U5PLu6DDL6Y

reason i gave this 5 stars
good sturdy construction.
excellent sound quality for price.
it is perfect for the use, which is better sound in video.
also the box it comes in is good for protecting it.

when i purchased this i wasn't expecting it to be as good quality as it is.
just remember it isn't a rode shotgun or any other quality manufacturer.
also people do tend to say you get what you pay for, but in this case, it is
well worth the price and matches sound quality of a mic in the £80+ range imo*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, especially for the price !, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andoer Professional Shotgun Microphone Mic for Sony Camcorder
My initial impression is very good overall.
Goods received via UPS after 2 days, although estimated 4-8 days : order status is still 'Dispatching Soon' !
Maybe that is an allowance in case UK stock runs out and it has to come from Guangdong, China ?
Branded HTDZ - HT81.

It's very well packed - even the stand-mount was tucked into the foam sleeve to stop it collapsing if squashed - great attention to detail.

Only tiny quibble is that moving the 6mm plug in the socket caused crackling noises - cleaning the contact surface fixed that. The 6mm-3.5mm adapter didn't seem to need cleaning. YMMV.
I use a rubber ink eraser to clean and abrade contacts, but Brasso is good, or
Brand New Servisol Super 10 Professional DJ Fader and Switch Cleaner Spray or
Caig Deoxit Deoxit D5 Contact Cleaner Spray (142G) which is the professional product, costing as much as the mic !

I suspect the difference between 'Normal' and 'Tele' is not one of angle-of-sensitivity, but just gain.
No-one else seems to have noticed, but why would a polar change give 7dB gain, and especially why would 'TELE' be louder ?
If so, then the 'cardioid' and 'rocket' diagrams on the switch are misleading.
There were no obvious rear lobes.
The spec and instructions
- "Sensitivity: -45dB for short distance, -38dB for long distance"
- "TELE for short distance, NORMAL for long distance"
both seem to be the wrong way round. Semantics!
'TELE to make distant sounds seem close' makes more sense.
I thought I detected some distortion on 'TELE', but maybe that's just a symptom of overload - too much sound.
Safest to use 'NORMAL' if you don't need the gain (straining to hear a gnat) - output is pretty high.
It's hard to tell without access to expensive test gear in a laboratory environment.

It's also worth pointing out that only the front third of the tube is perforated, so it may not be as narrow-angle as some other microphones of a similar total length. If you are 'buying by the inch', be aware that there may be some empty tube, as well as connector-battery-electronics. On the positive side, you can mount it at the centre so that it is mechanically balanced fore-and-aft. This will also make it less likely to appear 'in shot' on camera (check while waving the camera up+down if you use image stabilisation ...) You may want to slide it back-and-forth to find the mounting-point that minimises pickup of fan, focus, zoom camera-noises.

Electrical noise seems low, even on 'TELE' - I'm comparing to a NTG2 SHORT SHOTGUN MICROPHONE into E-MU 0404 USB 2.

Frequency response seems OK : no obvious 'sweeping comb-filter' effects when panning centre to 90-degrees.

OK, 'Professional' may be misleading in terms of robustness and quality, but the machining of the screw-thread for the battery compartment is reassuringly smooth - it spins on under its own momentum !
Even professionals will have an occasional need for a 'disposable' microphone - rain, mud, risky/insecure location, installation. Buy 10 of them ? Great as a backup/contingency.

If you're not 'audiophile' hypercritical, it will certainly do the job. Even if you are, it may be worth a gamble.

NB There is a premium HT-81A version with wider frequency response 100Hz-16KHz (as opposed to 80Hz - 20KHz), but at >twice the price. Often the low bass is unwanted footsteps and traffic noise (that's why many mics have a HPF bass-cut switch), and if you're over 30 years old you're unlikely to hear >16kHz. Many consumers will not have loudspeakers that handle the extremes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely High Quality, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andoer Professional Shotgun Microphone Mic for Sony Camcorder
Having seen various YouTube reviews I thought I'd give this a go - for less than £20 it seemed worth the risk.

It's amazing! I work as a professional voice-over using a very high end mic and pre-amp / processor the Timetop mic comes very close to sounding like my professional setup!

This was purchased for studio based video work. I am fed up with the hassle of a lav mic and though, if this worked, it would be a real time saver.

I bought a stereo adapter plug to replace the mono one supplied and I run this into a zoom H1 which then runs into the computer as a USB mic. The input level on the zoom is at 37 and the mic level at .20 in Windows. It's as clean as a whistle and easily a match for my old lav mic setup.

The mic is well constructed, the accessories are a bit cheap and nasty but they do the job. Working with this between 1 and 2 feet from my mouth when recording it sounds perfect.

I've also tried phantom powering this directly from a mixer and whilst it works, it doesnt sound as good as it does when fed through the zoom which acts as a pre-amp.

Also sounds spot on when using the zoom as a recorder.

Well worth the money and not a mic to be dismissed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andoer Professional Shotgun Microphone Mic for Sony Camcorder
Nice price for the overall good quality of the product! I have mine packed on the bottom compartment of the manfrotto messenger bag! For those starting smi-pro projects is a must have!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do the job!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andoer Professional Shotgun Microphone Mic for Sony Camcorder
Very cheap = quality

Like because was cheap.
Dislike the converter 6mm to 3mm could be in cable.
No battery included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheapest HQ mic ever, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andoer Professional Shotgun Microphone Mic for Sony Camcorder
The TIMETOP mic is a really high quality microphone made from aluminium and has a very long xlr cable although it has so many good points it only records in one channel this can be fixed by buying an adaptor or doubling the mono track on both channels
really good mic i would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andoer Professional Shotgun Microphone Mic for Sony Camcorder
I had this product 4 days before the estimated delivery date and works well with an XLR to USB cable I purchased recently (for PC), although the microphone comes with a XLR to 1/4, plus it also comes with a 1/4 to 3.5mm adapter, for PCs. The holders fit perfectly - 1. on my microphone stand and 2. on my camera's hotshoe mount. Comfortable to hold and without cables, the microphone is extremely light. If you are looking for a microphone for an event (so a family Christmas party for example), this is the microphone for you. NB - If you want to record the microphone's audio on a camcorder, you should have a professional camcorder (worth about £800 +) as these cameras have microphone inputs (mainly XLR to XLR). Most standard camcorders (worth £49 - £500) don't usually have microphone inputs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the Price, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andoer Professional Shotgun Microphone Mic for Sony Camcorder
I don't know how well these compare to the top end mics. However with careful mixer settings when recording they sound brilliant.
I have had no complaints from my customers regarding sound quality and have used these on outside film sets as well as in the studio.
As with all microphones they will pick up ambient noise I remove this in post production. All of it in studio recordings and the majority of it when recording outside. You will need some ambient noise outside otherwise the recording sound to clean and false.
I would recommend these. The other thing is that if they get damaged, they are cheap enough to replace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not professional, but okay for consumer grade cameras / recorders, 10 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. J. Covey-crump (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andoer Professional Shotgun Microphone Mic for Sony Camcorder
Quality is okay, but despite the XLR socket, this is not a balanced microphone. This can't be phantom powered (48v) - the main reason being that as it isn't balanced you'll get noise from the supply.

So okay if you use batteries and are directly connecting it to a camera, or some kind of consumer grade recorder.

This is identical to the HTDZ HT-81, which is the cheaper version of HTDZ HT-81A. The latter has a marginally wider quoted frequency range, is 48v phantom power capable, and maybe (you'll need to confirm) a balanced input.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews