Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny
I think I know what you're thinking. I'd think it too. You probably think I am some hyper fan that is punting the album due to the presence of a strong bias in favour of the band. I won't deny that I am a fan and that I have listened to all of their albums and even Jesse's Times of Grace album. We all have subjective predilections and dispositions but like good Supreme...
Published 13 months ago by KennyG

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Killswitch re-Engage and Disarm with a somewhat hit & miss return
Killswitch Engage have always been at the top of the modern Metalcore explosion, releasing a series of intelligent sounding albums with a gradual decline in quality of the years, somewhat stagnating with the self titled release in 2009.

Now they are back, back with the original vocalist and a punchier heavier direction, but is this what was anticipated by the...
Published 15 months ago by S. Betteridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 12 April 2013
By 
Mr. Aiden A. McNair "Mcnair94" (Failsworth, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A solid album, one of there best to date listen out for:in due time, you don't bleed for me and time will not remain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars oh, 10 April 2013
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
When jesse returned i was happy, i didnt hate howard, the guy was brilliant but to be fair the past two albums from kse werent packed with quality, something had to change, howard left, jesse returned, smiles, tears , emotions sprawled left, right and centre.
This album was released about 14 months or so after jesse returned , whether thats too soon for an album time will tell but for now i can say this isnt the kick i was hoping for. Most of the album is solid, there is some good bite and jesse sounds fine. The band havent dragged their train off the track in any way and thats fine with me ,its just that this isnt world class for me.
I will say right now that the last three songs on the proper 12 track are weak enough, all sounding very similar in style and tone and dragging in their flow. The special edition which i have has 2 bonus tracks which are quality and had they been on the album proper and two of the three weak tracks removed then maybe that would have ticked another box for me.
This , as i say is strong in parts, kse by the numbers at a time perhaps when they needed to smash the numbers into new sums, as for the times of grace theories, i wouldnt rule out 1 or 2 of these tracks being lifted from those sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to their Best, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As Daylight Dies and Killswitch Engage (2009), were too mainstream for my tastes, and when Adam D and Jesse formed Times of Grace, I felt that album was the album KsE should have produced. Now with the return of Jesse, KsE are rejuvanated and return to the style of Alive or Just Breathing.
Admittedly this album still isn't as good as AoJB, but it's a step in the right direction. The two live songs at the end of the CD, Numbered Days and My Curse, are so full of energy that you can't help but love them, even if, like me, you're not a fan of live songs usually.
Their best album since End of Heartache I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something New, Something Borrowed..., 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't understand why reviews always contain a complete history of the band. Most metal fans know all this already and it's pointless trying to regurgitate the same waffle over and over again.

This album definitely measures up to previous efforts and surpasses them in many ways. The song structures are varied (despite what some reviewers say) and there are both great riffs and solos aplenty on the guitar front. There are certainly elements that have been transposed from Times of Grace as one would expect but everything has been given the KSE stamp. As a guitarist, I can say that this album is fun to play as well as listen to - but obviously the guitar work will be somewhat familiar because these guys have been chugging out albums for over a decade. Where this album comes into it's own is the sheer quality of the production. Jesse's vocals (and lyrics) are exceptional and bring back many elements that have been lacking from the last few albums but it is the production and mixing that really sets this album apart. Just compare any track to something from 'Heartache' or 'Daylight' and you'll see how much more polished and engaging everything sounds. I'm not saying that Jesse's vocals are any better or worse than Howard's, I think they both sound great, they are different vocalists that each produce a different sound. This band needed a new sound to re-invigorate them and it surely has. I'm glad Adam is singing again too!

My only black mark against this album is how similar the chorus riff from 'All We Have' is to that of 'Still Beats Your Name'. There is no need to blatantly reuse the same hook in this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been a fan of Killswitch Engage for many years since the Alive or Just Breathing album, anyverymuch enjoying the Howard era, I bought this album not truly knowing what to expect. Undoubtedly for me, this is one of the best albums I have listened to for years! EVERY song is really good in its own right but the middle set of songs on the album is where this album shines the most. So glad I bought this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill!, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent return from the killswitch boys and jesse! like pretty much every song on the album! and have got to say, they've done well bringin the heaviness back! pure metalcore! must buy for old and new killswitch fans! EXCELLENT! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing they've done since End Of Heartache, 2 April 2013
You know what to expect from these guys by now. It's brutal, it's melodic and it's so much better than their last couple of efforts. I'm not getting into this Howard Vs Jesse nonsense, both are great vocalists. All I will say is that the songwriting here is much improved when compared to the last couple of Killswitch efforts and along with Soilwork's The Living Infinite this is definitely going to be one of my favourite albums of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As great as it is flawed, Times of Grace 2.0, 2 April 2013
By 
B. white "UNDEAD WOLF 8D - Gamertag" (Uk - London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I love both Jess leach & Howard Jones, both are talented yet different vocalists. It's silly to hope this new Killswitch Engage album would be like one they made over 10 years ago, but having heard Times of Grace with 3 of 5 KsE members, you'd know this album could be good.

As it turns out, a lot of the album sounds the same, same structures, it also sounds quite similar to Times of Grace, maybe this was inevitable, but I don't just mean because of the singer Jesse Leach.

The main problem is most of the songs sound too generic, the choruses on most songs are a prime example of this. The vocals at some points sound a little off, and some solo's sound like they're there for the sake of being solo's, not with much feeling etc.

The lyrics too suffer at times.. "I will be with you, from night until the morning" or something akin to that. It's not all doom and gloom though because songs like The Hell In Me, Turning Point, Tribute To The Fallen, and especially the two bonus songs Slave To The Machine and Blood Stains are good songs that have great riffs, and choruses. The album is 60/40 in terms of goodness.

But it is Jesse Leaches first album with them in 10+ years, and their first album in that time with a member change, this type of thing has happened with many other albums until things really get rolling again.

Overall: An album that's both great and flawed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disarm The Descent
Disarm The Descent by Killswitch Engage
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews