Customer Reviews


4,182 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,477)
4 star:
 (495)
3 star:
 (107)
2 star:
 (45)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


224 of 237 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please read this book
This time last week I had not heard of the Hunger Games trilogy. I was happy and content in my oblivious state too but it all changed very quickly! My Facebook page went Crazy on Saturday with talk about the movie and how fantastic it was, how it was true to the books and generally there was a buzz in the virtual atmosphere! My curiousity was aroused and I googled "Hunger...
Published on 29 Mar 2012 by GH26

versus
84 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Battle Royale for the Twilight generation
I ignored this book for a long time on the basis that I felt it sounded too similar to Battle Royale. However I have finally got round to reading it, and am glad I did -whilst there are plenty of flaws, this is a fast paced, thrilling, adventure story, which provides surprises and visceral entertainment.

Katniss and Peeta are the teenage 'tributes' chosen from...
Published on 10 Sep 2011 by The Amazon J


‹ Previous | 1384 385 386419 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunger Games, 4 Feb 2013
This is an excellent book! It's one of the few books I've read in the past year that has had me desperately turning pages and reading into the early hours to eagerly find out what happens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing!, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought the book was a definite read, very cleverly written so that the end wasn't given away therefore making you want to read the next books desperately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was okay..., 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunger Games (Paperback)
I rather enjoyed it but can't see what the hype is about. Can see the appeal for those who enjoy dystopia-type books. I don't feel compelled to read the rest of the series but did enjoy this book rather a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book, as the author is very talented an kept you wanting more. So got the next ones to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best book ive read in ages! Even as a single mom I found time to finish it in a week! Brought me back to the book worm I used to be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read It, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book and a great read. Rue's story with Kattniss is one of the best relationships I have read in a good while. The story moves at a good pace and makes it difficult to put down between chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this on the strength of a friend's recommendation, havnt seen the film (yet). Was surprised by how well the story brought me in and found myself reading more, so now have the other two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunger Games- so good, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic story with parts too close to life today. Worth reading to bring perspective to what actually matters in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hunger Games, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was given this book to read for recently joined local book club, so knew very little about it. Thoroughly good read, loved the concept and have already ordered the other two books in the trilogy to find out what happens to Katniss, Peetah and Gale. There is a mixture of innocence, in the sense of Katniss's experience, or lack of, with boys. Contrasted with her maturity in dealing with having to be the main provider for her family and being a skilled hunter and all the practicalities that that entails. The simplicity with which everyone is forced to live in rural areas but clearly controlled in a very technically advanced way by the ruling powers. A book and theme that is capable of appealing to a very wide age range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hunger indeed, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these books. You can almost taste or smell or hear or feel the things she describes! A truely interactive read, a bit like watching avatar in 3d for the first time. I found this book just the right amount of good versus evil, where the dark were truly sinful and the light were loveable. I tried to read this before i watched the movie but couldnt get past the first chapter, now ive read them all multiple times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1384 385 386419 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunger Games by Collins, Suzanne on 01/03/2009 Unabridged edition
Used & New from: 22.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews