Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner
I love the prey books, although I have given this book 4 stars this is because I personally prefer more interaction with Lucas and his family, the book takes Lucas into the world of politics and for the Prey fans not as gritty as his usual prey books, for me this was not a fast page turner and I was able to leave it and take it up again later, his other prey books I have...
Published on 10 May 2013 by Marrianna Humphries

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nasty attitudes
A preoccupation with money is a common feature of American thrillers. It often seems that wealth is, of itself, admirable - a virtue. But this one focuses on wealth more than most. We are offered cars and houses as a substitute for character. It's tiresome.

However, what really made me dislike this book was its attitude towards victims of child sex abuse. While...
Published 2 months ago by Bronwen Salter-Murison


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
Thanks John another great book. Looking forward to the next Flowers book. Just got to love Lucas. The man is a legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another good read!, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
Just love Sandford's humour. An excellent story! Always disappointed when I finish his books knowing i need to wait a while for next installment. Roll on next 'Flowers' story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
S. Ivory "Jamaica girl" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
After reading the reviews I wondered if I was reading a different book. I do not really enjoy political books as politics leave me cold, but this one was Lucas at his best. Tasked to investigate a smear campaign, he was all alone, and then eventually had to bring in all his devoted fellow henchmen, even 'that f...n Flowers' who was not fishing for a change, although he wanted to!
You know who did it early on in the book and it is all about proving that they did it, if they did it, and how they did it, with some really good asides and wanderings into other things.
Lucas wanders, backtracks, ponders and does what he does best, investigates.
Really, really enjoyed this, even though there was not much family interaction, but that makes for a nice change . John Sandford at his best. Bring on the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Sandford just keeps getting better., 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
Another impossible to put down offering from John Sandford. A fascinating and ingenious plot, together with his usual first class characterization. The introduction of characters from previous books, not the Prey series, is a kind of "in" joke. One particularly enjoyable aspect of his writing is his ability to be "laugh out loud" funny. If this is your first experience of this author's work I will amazed if you don't want more. Read them all, not a lemon among them. My only complaint is that he doesn't write them fast enough.
Do you think I might be coming across here as a John Sandford fan?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always excellent, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
Just worried I won't get enough John Sandford books, I have read (nearly) everything he has written. The ones I haven't read don't appear to be in print or available. Just love his characters and there is always a good laugh to be found!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Davenport is back, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
The Prey series has always been better than the rest of Sandford's work - funnier, grittier, darker. And this is a very welcome return. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
Once again John Sandford comes up with a stunner. Davenport, Flowers and Kidd all in one book, definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lucas Davenport back, cooler & smarter than ever, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
Glad to see John Sandford back with his original hero. The story is fast moving; unpredictable; ingenious and with the usual excellent character descriptions.

Since Sandford's earlier works similar writers have appeared on the scene, specifically Lee Childs and Robert Crais, each with their own unique formulae, but Sandford is a good as always and should give them a run for their money in the charts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book for the Prey Series, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent story line in the Prey series. For me they can't come our quick enough. Already waiting for the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sandford Back On Song, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Book 23) (Kindle Edition)
The best Prey novel for a while - the themes were topical and the appalling nature of modern politicians was beautifully woven into the storyline. Can't wait for the next Virgil Flowers novel later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silken Prey (Lucas Davenport Book 23)
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews