Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars304
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 14 December 2012
The subtitle says it all really. Bordering if not actually attaining obsession, David Walsh, with others duly credited, has made it his goal over the past decade and more to expose Lance Armstrong and other cyclists as the dopers they have subsequently turned out to be. With the recent revelations now out in the open it would be easy for Walsh to adopt an "I told you so" attitude which to be fair I don't think he does in this book. Sure there is a great sense of vindication throughout but the story is told in a refreshingly candid way, personal foibles are reported there are lots of conversations described, good humour abounds, even amongst the frustration and anger, and all in all it is a very engaging read. It's not all about the bike either (sorry couldn't resist) It would appear that Irish swimmer Michele Smith amongst others being exposed as a drugs cheat played a large part in driving Walsh to expose other dopers and he has had a mixed reception amongst the cycling community in Ireland because of his work. There are numerous auto-biographical details as well, from personal tragedies to how his investigations affected his family and friends. This aspect does add a good dose of reality away from the peleton and makes the book more personal rather than an outright piece of journalism. One caveat I have to report is that I haven't actually read "From Lance to Landis" so can't say if there is a lot of repetition or not, there are some bits of journalism which are familiar to me though but it is not a straight regurgitation of these. Even so this is a fine piece of work, an incredible story excellently told.
22 comments|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
If you read one book about the Tour de France , this has to be The one. This is a book is less about doping in sport but more about one mans unwavering belief and 13 year crusade to out one of the greatest cheats and unsavoury human beings one could encounter.
Walsh and all those who came forward and gave evidence suffered so much at the hands of Armstrong and the establishment that their lives were irrevocably damaged by Armstrongs "Cancer of the Spirit". Armstrong with the aid of UCI controlled the narrative to such an extent that he could have got away with it if he had not come back to fuel his ego again in 2009-2010.
Walsh has an entertaining style which is very clear and punchy in the early part of the book but wavers slightly due his undoubted mental fatigue at the denouement as the various threads of testimony and evidence criss cross to finally snare Armstrong.
Walsh epitomizes the idiom "Stand up and be counted" and his spirit should be an example to us all in a world where so much is taken at face value and we are to lazy to scratch beneath the surface
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Having been reading cycling books for some years, I have already read David Walsh's book "From Lance to Landis" and it was this that really made me doubt that Lance had ridden clean.
With the recent revelations and Tyler Hamilton's book - which I consider to be a GREAT read - I was expecting the new book by David Walsh to be something bigger and better than I had read by him before
Unfortunately having just re-read his other book recently I was almost questioning as to whether I had accidentally picked it up again instead of "7 Deadly Sins". It goes over almost all of the points in the other book in about the same sort of length and then when I was getting near the end of the book wondering what the difference was, I found out. There are a few brief notes about recent disclosures, work by the USADA and that's about it.
If you haven't read "From Lance to Landis" save your money and buy this one
It IS well written, it gives a GREAT insight into the people who were affected by Lance throughout his career and I think that anyone interested in that era of cycling will love it
The only reason I marked it down was that so much of it was a rehash - admittedly with a few bits added - of his previous book I felt a bit cheated.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Perhaps more than any other journalist David Walsh pursued the investigation to uncover evidence that Lance Armstrong was cheating by taking illegal performance-enhancing drugs.
Before his cancer treatment Armstrong had competed in the Tour de France four times, finishing 36th once and withdrawing the other three times. When he came back from his treatment to lead it in 1999 – in the first of an unparalleled seven successive wins of the Tour - supposedly drug-free Walsh regarded this as “all about as logical as the Tour being led by a lobster on a bike. A lobster complete with helmet and a moving backstory about a last-minute escape from a pot of boiling water.”
Such a view wasn’t entirely popular, especially as it was directed as a man whose story was an inspiration to millions. One letter writer to Walsh’s newspaper wrote that “Sometimes people get a cancer of the spirit. And maybe that says a lot about them.” The writer was half-right. There was a cancer of the spirit but not in the spirits of those who queried the integrity of the sport and of many of its stars but a cancer in the spirit of those who cheated and – to my mind – more so in the ranks of the officials and administrators who facilitated them. (When Armstrong failed a test in ’99 he was allowed to present a back-dated doctor’s cert to allow the pretence that he wasn’t taking a banned substance but rather had been using an approved ointment).
In journalistic style Walsh recounts “the case for the prosecution” as it were and the story of those brave people who stuck their heads above the parapet to tell the truth.
Some reviews have criticized Walsh for obsessing with Armstrong rather than tackling the wider topic of doping in cycling. I think this is unfair. One person or a small group of people can only do so much and if you can expose the one cyclist whose name was known to the average non-cycling fan this is far more effective in highlighting the problem than exposing a larger number of people whose names mean nothing to the average person in the street.
Another criticism is that the latter part of the book has a different feel to what went before and may have been rushed to cash in on the story. I think there is some truth in this criticism but, if anyone was entitled to cash in, whom more so than David Walsh?
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
I have avoided reading David Walsh's book until now with the misguided and faint hope that maybe, just maybe, LA was clean and the fairy tale was true.

Nope. Fabulous journalism. DW is one amongst a few, and a credit to his profession.

His family ought to be incredibly proud of him. Thank you for not giving up.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Having been to see the movie, I thought I would also buy the book. Really glad I did because it is a great read. Because of obvious time constraints, the movie only dealt superficially with the issue but David Walsh's book goes into the gory details of Armstrong's cheating and lying. He was on the case for many years and, despite huge setbacks - like being ostracized by fellow journalists and his paper being successfully sued by Armstrong - Walsh's belief that Armstrong had been taking performance-enhancing drugs was ultimately vindicated. The book is great piece of journalism and a definite buy for avid cycling fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
A great story which just seemed to have been not very well written. Do people not proof read these days? Also a little bit disorganised for the non cycling reader jumping backwards and forwards all the time. All in all though a mesmerising book and couldn't put it down.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
For anyone interested in corruption at the highest and most sophisticated level in sport, particularly from the late 1980s to 2012, this is a book worth reading. The author and journalist, David Walsh, in his pursuit of Lance Armstrong for more than a decade, details his own frustrations in trying to prove that Lance Armstrong, seven times winner of professional cycling's most prestigious event, the Tour de France, had cheated throughout, by using performance-enhancing drugs. Whilst many other journalists were caught up with the romance of the sport, and especially with the apparent "heroism" of a former professional rider (Armstrong) who had come back to professional cycling after overcoming testicular cancer, to win no fewer than seven Tours de France, Walsh found such a comeback incredulous, and rightly so. With the help of key eyewitnesses some of whom Armstrong had bullied, and with the confessions of other professional cyclists who, with Armstrong had been steeped in a culture of doping within the sport, the evidence against Armstrong became overwhelming. He was stripped of his seven Tour de France victory titles. He finally confessed to his lies and deceit in a televised interview with Oprah Winfrey. Even in that interview he declined to admit that he had lied before key witnesses in a hospital ward that he had been taking performance-enhancing drugs.
If there was one thing that put this reviewer off the book, it was the more than occasional use of expletives, which I felt was unnecessary. Walsh exposes Armstrong as foul-mouthed, and the author himself is not averse to using expletive language. No doubt some would argue this is all part of "telling it as it was." That may be so, but asterisk marks would be quite sufficient and less offensive to readers who regard not only doping as sin but also swearing. In addition, following Welsh's line of thought was not always easy, and I found myself having to re-read in parts. The book could have been written in a clearer style. This aside, The Program: Seven Deadly Sins - My Pursuit of Lance Armstrong does make interesting reading and the overall message of the book is clear. The book would have special appeal to sports people in general, and especially to those involved in or interested in professional cycling. To any aspiring young person interested in sport the book reveals a very dark side to it, which is true not just of professional cycling, but many other sports too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
Until reading this book, I thought that the Author, David Walsh had played a bigger part in bringing down the reputation of Lance Armstrong, due to the articles published in the Sunday Times. It is now clear from Mr Walsh's book that Lance Armstrong's actual downfall was instigated by the Federal Investigations carried out in the U.S.A plus the damning evidence provided at a late stage by Armstrong's fellow teammate, Floyd Landis.
Mr Walsh descibes how disconsolate he was after thinking that all his years of hard work in investigating Professional Cycling's drug culture were coming to nothing and that in particular , Lance Armstrong was being "let off the hook". However, because of the ongoing investigations, that was not the case and as we all know the disgraced Lance Armstrong did receive his punishment.
The unanswered question contained in this book is "what is being done about the criminal activities of the Cycling Team Doctors, Managers and Coaches etc? To me, these people are the criminal instigators of the doping culture, trying to gain unfair and financial advantage.
In this book, I found the description of how the use of drugs, particularly the performance drug E.P.O, worked on the human
body and how it made experienced cycle race watchers somewhat suspicious, due to the ever increasing speed and the better
hill climbing ability of the riders . But five year on, we are seeing exactly the same high level of perfomance by professional bike-riders . So what's changed?
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Walsh fand einen attraktiven metaphorischen Titel (Seven deadly Sins), benutzte ansonsten die Armstrong Story als "Steinbruch", um vor allem über sich selbst und die kreative Gestaltung seines journalistischen Alltags zu schreiben. Enthüllendes fand ich nicht und empfand das Buch mit jeder weiteren gelesenen Seite allenfalls als Kunst der eitlen journalistischen Selbstbespiegelung. Das englischsprachige Publikum wird jetzt vielleicht einwenden, ich hätte das alles nicht so recht verstanden. Das mag wohl so sein. Eine Reihe von anderen Armstrong-Biographien - auch in Englisch - sind dafür bei mir "angekommen". Eines möchte ich noch hinzufügen: Ein anderer Kommentator schrieb, erst bei der Lektüre eines anderen Buches von David Walsh ('From Lance to Landis') seien bei ihm Zweifel aufgetaucht '...that really made me doubt, that Lance had ridden clean...' Der Kommentator fügte noch an, daß er einige Bücher über dieses Thema gelesen habe. Deshalb, das kann doch eigentlich nicht wahr sein. Seit der ersten Tour (1901 or 1900) sind die branchenweiten Dopingpraktiken bekannt und der erste Dopingtote (ein Engländer) fiel bereits 1885 vom Rad. Und seit jeher müssen die Tour-Sieger die diskriminierende Metapher von der "rollenden Apotheke" mit sich herumtragen. Und das Publikum weiß genau so lange, daß das gesamte Peloton sich auf ähnliche Weise pharmazeutisch aufrüstet wie die Sieger - und das nicht erst seit Lance und Jan. Walsh schrieb einen Bestseller, der auf dem Prinzip "Verteufelung" (von Armstrong) beruht. My opinion: Armstrong did, what all the other cyclists did. Since a Century. And for that reason he is as honest as anyone was. The rest is hypocrisis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)