Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to visit Africa now!
This book makes me want to get back to Africa! I like the way the author moves from country to country and so I was never bored with long winded chapters about the same place.
I enjoyed reading about his experiences - like searching for Kilimanjaro Lager in Dar es Salaam, and fending off touts in Cairo. I also loved his description of the mad taxi drivers in Cairo. I...
Published 15 months ago by Alex

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Bitter and resentful"
This is a tale of a couple's encounter with "bumsters" and "shysters".

At one point Angel reflects, "How horrible are we?", and it was a welcome sign of having learned from their experiences, but a few pages later Jason is talking about "dirty-looking Zanzibastards" and it is clear there has been no real introspection. Not a page goes by where the author...
Published 10 months ago by Farrow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to visit Africa now!, 30 Mar 2013
This review is from: Flashpacking through Africa: Travels through 17 African Nations (Kindle Edition)
This book makes me want to get back to Africa! I like the way the author moves from country to country and so I was never bored with long winded chapters about the same place.
I enjoyed reading about his experiences - like searching for Kilimanjaro Lager in Dar es Salaam, and fending off touts in Cairo. I also loved his description of the mad taxi drivers in Cairo. I know he speaks the truth because I've recently returned from there!
My only criticism is that he should have visited more countries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read about this Amazing Continent!, 29 Mar 2013
This review is from: Flashpacking through Africa: Travels through 17 African Nations (Kindle Edition)
Flashpacking Through Africa is a personal narrative about the author's (and his wife's) travels through Africa. Like the title suggests, he doesn't rough it, but stays in nice hotels. But this book doesn't dwell on that aspect of his travels, it is more about what he gets up to, the things he sees, and the people he meets.
It's written in an easy style with a fair bit of humor thrown in for good measure. And I like the fact that he gets to some unusual places in the book, such as Swaziland, Uganda and the Comoros. But the chapter about Rwanda was my favorite overall. In it, he describes his visit to a genocide museum. It was a deeply upsetting chapter to read.
Overall, I really enjoyed this book and am keeping an eye out for anything else by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Bitter and resentful", 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpacking through Africa: Travels through 17 African Nations (Kindle Edition)
This is a tale of a couple's encounter with "bumsters" and "shysters".

At one point Angel reflects, "How horrible are we?", and it was a welcome sign of having learned from their experiences, but a few pages later Jason is talking about "dirty-looking Zanzibastards" and it is clear there has been no real introspection. Not a page goes by where the author doesn't complain or criticise some aspect of his experiences, though it's true he appears to have a better attitude in the second part of the book when he returns to Africa alone, presumably having reconciled himself to the fact that interaction with local people is an unavoidable, though still unpleasant burden.

"Bitter and resentful", the author describes himself during one encounter. At least that's accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars different slant on travel, 3 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpacking through Africa: Travels through 17 African Nations (Kindle Edition)
This book is not the usual type of travel book I enjoy reading. Just for a change the book is about a couple who travel through Africa but instead of the usual back packing, lets rough it attitude and experiences , they decide to stay in really nice, almost top of the range hotels. Its a lovely book to read although some of the history of some countries in Africa leaves a lot to be desired, it is non the less a very good account of their travels. Amusing in parts, very though provoking in others. I have googled the author and I was in luck as his other book is available about travel in the Balkans and it was free at the time of writing this review.Im sure I will enjoy that one as much as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor grammar lets down excellent travelogue, 2 May 2013
This review is from: Flashpacking through Africa: Travels through 17 African Nations (Kindle Edition)
Jason Smart is an excellent writer and I thoroughly enjoyed exploring Africa with him. Unfortunately, however, the book is spoiled by appalling grammatical errors that should have been corrected by the proofreader. It may well not be Jason's fault, but that of the person transcribing his tapes - or just poor typing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but too short, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpacking through Africa: Travels through 17 African Nations (Kindle Edition)
I like the style and content of Jason smart's books, but occasionally wish that instead of writing shortish accounts of each place that he would go into more depth and further explorations of the countries he visits. However, it was a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable romp through Africa., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpacking through Africa: Travels through 17 African Nations (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable read if a bit disjointed at times.Some escapades left unanswered questions and there is no clear basis given as to how and why certain countries were chosen.Never the less an interesting jaunt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Flashpacking through Africa, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Flashpacking through Africa: Travels through 17 African Nations (Kindle Edition)
Disappointing; the author has obviously wanted to cover as many countries as possible and presumes to express opinions after just a few hours in each country. Africa needs and deserves the courtesy of more than a superficial critique by a taxi driven tourist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jason Smart's adventures, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Ferial Rogers (Woodbridge, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpacking through Africa: Travels through 17 African Nations (Kindle Edition)
This is a rattling good read. I enjoy this series of travel adventures and look forward to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A poor read., 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpacking through Africa: Travels through 17 African Nations (Kindle Edition)
Having worked, lived and travelled around East and Southern Africa I was really looking forward to this book but it's a bit of a sham. The author flies in to the country, stays in up market western hotel, does some touristy bits mainly with the aid of a taxi and guide and a few days later jets off again to another country thinking be has gained a useful insight that he needs to share. He also thinks that's being intrepid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews