Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect sequel for Harriet!!
I LOVED this book!! I adored Harriet in the first book but she's even better now! I love how she didn't change who she was even as her career took off. I love how she isn't ashamed of who she is. I think Harriet Manners is a great role model for young girls and have recommended this series to my 12 year old niece. She's like Harriet, clumsy, smart, sweet, loving, insecure...
Published 14 days ago by Tishylou

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Model Misfit by Holly Smale
After reading Geek Girl earlier this year and thoroughly enjoying it, I was overjoyed to hear that Holy Smale was releasing a sequel. I had high hopes for Model Misfit and the early reviews that I read sounded promising. The thing is, after reading Model Misfit for myself, I didn't necessarily agree with what others said.

Sure, I still found Harriet a likable...
Published 9 months ago by Samantha McNulty


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Model Misfit by Holly Smale, 3 Nov 2013
By 
After reading Geek Girl earlier this year and thoroughly enjoying it, I was overjoyed to hear that Holy Smale was releasing a sequel. I had high hopes for Model Misfit and the early reviews that I read sounded promising. The thing is, after reading Model Misfit for myself, I didn't necessarily agree with what others said.

Sure, I still found Harriet a likable character; easy to relate to, smart and funny. As in Geek Girl, she's still uncomfortable in her own skin and she also still has a love/hate relationship with modelling. But she's matured. So when she's invited to Japan to spend the summer modelling, she jumps at the chance for an adventure.

In Japan, Smale introduces us once again to a whole cast of characters both old and new. Wilbur, Harriet's agent, is still as cute as ever with his pet names; Yuka, the designer, is still as cold and distant. Then there's the new characters; new models who befriend Harriet in Japan. These new characters add so much to Model Misfit as they slot in nicely among the cast of characters we already know.

My main problem with Model Misfit is that I just couldn't seem to connect to the story in the way I did when I first read Geek Girl. I didn't find Harriet's geekiness as refreshing as I did previously nor did I enjoy the modelling hiccoughs that happened throughout. For me, Model Misfit seemed forced in comparison to its predecessor which is a huge shame as I was eagerly anticipating its release.

Overall Model Misfit is a cute, contemporary read that is a reasonable sequel to Geek Girl, though personally I would have kept it as a standalone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect sequel for Harriet!!, 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: Model Misfit (Geek Girl, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I LOVED this book!! I adored Harriet in the first book but she's even better now! I love how she didn't change who she was even as her career took off. I love how she isn't ashamed of who she is. I think Harriet Manners is a great role model for young girls and have recommended this series to my 12 year old niece. She's like Harriet, clumsy, smart, sweet, loving, insecure but has a heart of gold. I want her to see that she is perfect, like Harriet is.

I adored Rin!! What a cutie!! Bunty is an amazing character too. And Wilbur, with an Bur, not an Iam... What can I say?? He is the funniest thing ever! Love him! He cracks me up!! And Yuka is still terrifying! Richard and Annabel are, as always, funny, warm and crazy. The kind of parents who embarrass the hell out of you, but that you wouldn't trade for anything in the world.

I loved the exotic setting of Tokyo. I don't think I've ever read a book set there and it was interesting to read about it. It sounds so alive and buzzing! Gorgeous and exciting and just a little bonkers (Kylie Monogue...)

The relationships at the heart of Geek Girl are what makes me love these books. Nat and Harriet as best friends are believable and real. Nick and Harriet are quite a typical young couple and I like that about them. Harriet and her parents, whilst they're totally bonkers, they're a "normal" kind of family dynamic that is relatable to a lot of people. That makes these books so easy to read and feel something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to expectations!, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Model Misfit (Geek Girl, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
five stars because that's how I would rate all holly smale's books because they are soooo good!! I liked it when she cos on her adventure and finds out what's been happening because it's really mysterious and I'm eager to read more and more!!! I highly recommend this to girls between the age of 10- the height of teenage girls! especially good if you like romance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy with my purchase. Delivered on time, in perfect condition. Exactly as advertised. One delighted daughter...who has already devoured it. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous sequel, 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: Model Misfit (Geek Girl, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Review: "Never underestimate the power of a well-placed apostrophe." This quote just sums up how much I loved this book. I spend my life telling children how to use apostrophes, rolling my eyes at misplaced apostrophes in shops and so the fact that this author understands the importance of a good apostrophe shows just how awesome she is! I was very excited about this sequel, I was literally holding my breath waiting for it to come out, and it was just as good as I expected. It was fabulous to catch up with Harriett again and you are thrown right into the action with her, back into her world of obscure facts, exams and a little bit of modelling thrown in!

Harriett is such a fab character and its great to be able to learn her life lessons along with her. This books really does show her growing up. Whilst she develops and has adventures in the first Geek Girl book, she goes out on her own, on her own to another country, on her own to model in another country and so her character really does have to mature and develop! Her friends are all there in this sequel too. Toby plays much more of a role in this book, and 'Lion Boy' much less of a role-I loved this! Nat is there too, and my favourite character of all-Wilbur! Wilbur and Harriett's dad really are just pure comedy genius-i defy anyone not to laugh at the things they come out with and the ways in which they challenge our poor misguided model.

The storyline of this novel is really quite different from Geek Girl, I was really pleased to discover this, Whilst Geek Girl was most definitely a winning formula, its nice that this novel has a bit more of a mystery about it, the added aspect of travelling to Tokyo, and also of course, has Harriett dealing with a broken heart! I loved the whole sabotaging storyline, and also loved the sub plot of everything that was going on at home with Harriett's family!

Overall this was just a great read. It had the comfort of revisiting familiar characters with the bonus new setting and new storyline. It delivered a strong message of doing the right thing, once again, which is wonderful, and also had that pure comedy which really did have me laughing out loud-something which is pretty hard to bring on! If you enjoyed Geek Girl then this is a must read for you. If you haven't read Geek Girl then this novel can definitely be enjoyed on its own, but I can bet anything that you will have to rush out and buy Geek Girl straight afterwards! A fabulous sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geek Girl 2 x, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Model Misfit (Geek Girl, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I am 11 and really enjoyed the book it was a lovely ending to the amazing book . Looking forward to read number 3 x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my 10 year old daughters rating. She absolutely loves these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book Lover, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Model Misfit (Geek Girl, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It was very funny and made me laugh out loud. Good for teen readers. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Model Misfit (Geek Girl, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
my daughter loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geekalisious!!! (Geek-a-lish-us), 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Model Misfit (Geek Girl, Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
In my opinion this geek girl book if my favourite so far, I have just downloaded the next geek girl and excited to read it! I have been glued to this book all week and when ever I have a spare sec I wip out my kindle and start reading! My regards and gratitude to the author, she rocks!!!
Fran xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Model Misfit (Geek Girl, Book 2)
3.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews