Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror shuffles in a terrifying new direction
To keep this a short and succinct as possible.

Wow!

This book had me on the edge of my seat and checking to make sure we had plenty of cans in the cupboard and the doors and windows were locked at the end of each nightly session!

The author has clearly spent a lot of time trying to expand on the accepted norm for post-apocolyptic...
Published on 27 Feb. 2012 by C

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A sturdy zombie end of days thing - not much new though :(
Well presented on Kindle and well proofed.

Had thought the story could have gone some interesting directions but it seemed to implode a bit :(

It's well enough written and won't upset any zombie genre lover, but it missed the silver bullet it loaded into the chamber. Think the author will be well worth looking out for, he has the knack and style...
Published on 2 Nov. 2012 by Account Closed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror shuffles in a terrifying new direction, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
C - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tankbread (Kindle Edition)
To keep this a short and succinct as possible.

Wow!

This book had me on the edge of my seat and checking to make sure we had plenty of cans in the cupboard and the doors and windows were locked at the end of each nightly session!

The author has clearly spent a lot of time trying to expand on the accepted norm for post-apocolyptic tales.

The scenes are sharp and uncomfortable at times, stretching the readers moral boundaries. i cant think of the last time a book made me physically wince and this book did it regularly.

If you buy one zombie novel this month, I cannot recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Zombie Horror, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tankbread (Kindle Edition)
‘Tankbread’ is the story of one man’s journey through a zombie apocalypse, as he finds out the truth about the food made to sustain the zombie population.

I knew I had to read this after I read the author’s excellent short story in the ‘At Hell’s Gates’ anthology. This book, like that short story, had a very original twist and was told in a highly engaging way. The tankbread character Else was brilliantly written; I was amused by her, sympathised with her and thoroughly enjoyed following her journey. The main character was also great, but for me Else totally stole the show, not long after she was introduced.

While entertaining, this is also a pretty dark and gruesome read. The tension was high virtually the whole way through, making it an edge of seat, nail-biter of a read. I was surprised by how it ended and will be reading the next book in the series very soon to see what comes next.

Overall this is an excellent take on the typical zombie apocalypse novel, well written, original and engaging. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent post apocalyptic zombie fiction, 15 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tankbread (Kindle Edition)
A well written piece with characters you get to care for and an excellent storyline.

It paints a good (if scary) picture of a world where we are no longer at the top of the food chain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tankbread, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
southcoastreviewer (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tankbread (Kindle Edition)
Think Mad Max meets Resident Evil meets a little bit of Die Hard. That's what I got from Tankbread; and quite a bit more.

In Tankbread, Mannering introduces us to an Australia that is trying to survive after the ravages of a zombie epidemic. I'm not one for giving away plots in my reviews, and so I won't. But the stage is well set; it is hard to find an original setting and plot staging in the plethora of zombie novels around these days. Mannering has done this.

The Courier, our protagonist, is both the hero and anti-hero of our tale. He is physically and mentally capable and strong and has the metaphorical "balls of steel" (his fighting efforts were what reminded me of Die Hard); but he has a selfish streak which has been one of his most obvious and efficient tools for survival. When he comes across Else, he begins to question everything he has so far seen as he travels across the wastes of Australia to find a cure to the zombie menace.

Else reminded me very much of LeeLoo from the Fifth Element; frail, naïve and childlike but with an unnerving capability to learn and grow. Courier was also very much like Korben Dallas; he was just trying to survive. In Else, he sees that humanity might have a reason to live.

Mannering has crafted a great story with huge depth and page-turning action. His undead are credible as is the source of the zombie menace; there were some hints of Resident Evil towards the end but I shan't spoil it for you. You'll just have to read and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a balls to the wall, brains on the ceiling, tongue through cheek action comedy, 18 May 2013
By 
N. Robinson "sarcasticus" (earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tankbread (Paperback)
Tankbread by Paul Mannering
Mannering's debut novel brings a vision of the apocalypse set in the wastes of what was once Australia. Sheep run wild and woolly, remaining townships board themselves away from zombie hoards and a lone, unnamed courier wanders the brutal landscape, surviving on a day to day basis.

Tankbread are brain dead clones, mass produced by scientists holed up in the Sydney Opera House and fed en masse to the zombie scourge in an attempt to appease their voracious appetites in a bitter peace treaty. Our nameless hero finds himself tasked with transporting one such Tankbread across country in effort to find a cure for the virus that has decimated the world, before her fatal best before date ends. What follows is a witty, action packed adventure that draws upon classics such as Soylent Green, I Am Legend and with more than a hint of The Fifth Element as our hero begins to train the child like clone he comes to name Else in ways of self-defence and survival. His prickly wit and wry John McClane-esque one-liners soon rub off on her and for me this was the ultimate joy of the entire story. Else's learning curve is tragic and comical, her childlike curiosity in a dangerous world is a rose amongst gnashing teeth. I found myself rooting for her throughout despite her numbered days, begging please don't let Else die, please don't let Else die . . .

Along the way our hero and his not vulnerable for long sidekick, face off against endless swarms of hungry zombies and meet a variety of strange characters that add a greater depth to the story including honourable knights, flying nuns, feral children and flesh hungry pigs. From cover to cover, Tankbread is a balls to the wall, brains on the ceiling, tongue through cheek action comedy that even manages to twang a few heartstrings along the way. Zombie fans need to jump on this now and give this novel the recognition it deserves.
5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 20 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Tankbread (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down, and I don't usually like zombie anything, but the idea intrigued me and the book delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tankbread (Kindle Edition)
Huge fan of the ZomPoc genre and picked up Tankbread as a freebie for Kindle. Loved that it wasn't based around a group of survivors during the breakout and initial days thereafter but set a decade afterwards. Characters, main and supporting, are well written and descriptions are colourful in places. Reminds me of Mad Max meets World War Z. Highly recommended and off to see about the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tankbread (Kindle Edition)
YES GOOD STORY LIKED IT MORE PLEASE MUST GET THE 2ND BOOK SOUNDS JUST AS GOOD AS THE FIRST THANKS MR MANNERING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent zombie book, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tankbread (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book as I love zombie stories and movies. A good twisted take on the zombie genre, a good page turner and most enjoyable read. Will be looking for more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True ZA brutality at its finest., 19 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Tankbread (Kindle Edition)
Astonishingly brilliant book. I actually listened to the audiobook narrated by Rupert Degas. Quite simply the best story i've ever heard. The audiobook has so much depth and the narrator really throws himself in with all the characters and the emotions. I urge any ZA to get the audiobook because it will blow you away. The whole tale is so raw, and utterly brutal, but masterfully written. The dialogue between characters seems so natural, and unforced, or unrealistic. It feels so Mad Max because of Rupert's amazing narration.
Anyone who comments that they've seen this all before should point me in the direction of Sir Tristan Of Penrose's other zombie encounters.
I also read criticism of the brutality in the book. What do these people think would happen in a ZA? Hoards of tickling zombies?
Book 2 here i come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tankbread
Tankbread by Paul Mannering
£4.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews