Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring Me The Horizon - Sempiternal
Sempiternal is the fourth full-length studio album from the controversial, genre-defying British band Bring Me The Horizon. It was released in 2013 on RCA and was produced by Terry Date. The album sees Jordan Fish joining the band full-time as Keyboardist and former guitarist Jona Weinhofen leaving the band.

The first two things you may notice about the record...
Published 20 months ago by Gentlegiantprog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars BMTH
Love the music, got no problem there.
When the disc arrived, the central spikes that hold the disc in place were broken. Thankfully the CD was not scratched.
Published 13 months ago by Katherine


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring Me The Horizon - Sempiternal, 1 April 2013
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
Sempiternal is the fourth full-length studio album from the controversial, genre-defying British band Bring Me The Horizon. It was released in 2013 on RCA and was produced by Terry Date. The album sees Jordan Fish joining the band full-time as Keyboardist and former guitarist Jona Weinhofen leaving the band.

The first two things you may notice about the record if you've heard the band before are firstly that it's a lot less heavy and a lot more experimental. Secondly, Olly's clean vocals have got a lot better. At the start of the album, it seems like he's improved a bit, but by the end you can hear a gigantic improvement.

A lot more time on the album is spent on clean vocals and soft melodies too. There is also a lot of places designed for crowds to sing a long to and a focusing on the electronic side that appeared a bit on Suicide Season and a lot on There Is A Hell.

This album opens right up into those atmospheric, electronic filled melodic moments. Its reminiscent of the style of tracks like `Don't Go' and `Blessed With A Curse,' where the music has a lot of space, keys and absolutely all the death growls and blast beats from the early days have been removed. From then on there's a lot of tracks like `Sleepwalking,' `And The Snakes Start To Sing' and `Seen It All Before' that fit into that style, but taking it in a range of different tempos and directions. Most will bring a bit of heaviness in at times, but nothing as extreme as anything on the band's first two albums.

`The House Of Wolves' brings back a bit of the British Hardcore scene influence, but that's melded with the melodic, electronic style too. There's a great breakdown, and some fast sections. `Shadow Mosses' blends a little bit of the past back in to the sound too, but with a lot of their new direction. `Crooked Young' is fairly heavy and bombastic, but has been hugely injected with the additional electronic elements. The album isn't a repetition of their previous albums, but it definitely is a logical evolution.

The album is very dense sounding in terms of production style and how many little touches go on at once. Even when in essence all that's happening is something as simple as a drumbeat continuing over feedback after the rest of the music dropped out, the sound is absolutely massive. So when all five musicians are going, and there's keys, strings sections and guitar leads sneaking in and out, while the producer manipulates the sound like an instrument in itself at times, the record is very interesting.

Highlights include `Go To Hell For Heaven's Sake' which has a very catchy feel and some of the best drumming on the record, `Anti-vist' which is one of the album's heaviest moments and the immense album closer `Hospital For Souls' which is incredibly cinematic and evocative.

At the end of the day it's a difficult album to recommend since the band have so many detractors anyway and its quite a departure so even their own fans might dislike it. Not everyone will like this album. Some people will always hate the band because of their reputation and personalities. Some previous fans will hate the new direction that's so far away from their early work. Some people will just not enjoy it.

I personally couldn't be happier with the record however. I think it's a masterpiece. The songs are enjoyable, the melodies are great and all the extra studio touches are interesting. It's a very original sounding and emotionally powerful record with a lot to offer and one that really captures my imagination.

If you do chose to listen to it, go into it with an open mind and take it for what it is. It might not be to your tastes admittedly, but at least give it a fair chance because you may just discover your new favourite album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop playing it!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sempiternal [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Their best yet. We were quite sceptical based on their previous albums, but this is heavy, accessible, melodic, memorable, essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent product & outstanding service, 14 May 2013
By 
E. E. Tatianidis (Athens Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
I have choosen the above mentioned rating due to the fact that the product & the service was as advertised/promised.
I will recommend this product to all of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant album!, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
one of the best albums of this year, simply brilliant, bring me the horizon at their best! oli sounds great, as does the rest of the band!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really great album, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
I never really thought much of bring me the horizons old music but the album is great, even if it can be slightly awkward having Sykes screaming swear words out as loud as he can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Sempiternal!, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sempiternal [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
WOW! there is not a single track that isn't great. one of the best albums of 2013. a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album I have bought, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
I absolutely loved bmth before this album but this just reminds me how awesome they are.
It shows a whole new side of them, infusing catchy electronic chorus's with hardcore lyrics work well together.
love love love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sempiternal (Audio CD)
It's an amazing album, and shows that BMTH have come far, as this is far better than earlier albums such as Suicide Season, although they were good, this one is by far their best, and tops most albums which have been released so far this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 19 April 2013
bought this based on the two singles Sleepwalking and Sister and Shadow Moses. Not disappointed at all-more of the same great music with quite a bit of variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First BMTH album I've bought, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BMTH have really upped their game in my opinion. I liked some of their past work but as soon as I heard the lead single 'Shadow Moses' I was blown away! When I heard the follow up 'Sleepwalking' I really liked that too so decided to buy the album and I am not disappointed! I like how different Oli sounds on some tracks - really aggressive on some (Antivist) but softer on others (When The Snakes Start To Sing). All the tracks or worthy of being released as singles especially 'Can You Feel My Heart', 'Go To Hell For Heavens Sake' & 'Antivist'. Recommended for fans of metal and for fans of bands such as Trivium & Bullet For My Valentine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sempiternal [Explicit]
Sempiternal [Explicit] by Bring Me The Horizon
Buy MP3 Album£6.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews