Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mean machine
As Depeche More are ageing, their focus is shifting, opening up new avenues soundwise. More raw and visceral than ever before, "Delta machine" maintains the classic DM element while also boasting a more mature overall sound, with strikingly minimal, warmer electronic elements, evoking moody techno more than the bouncy synth-pop most would expect from them. The...
Published 12 months ago by Scarlet Jupiter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Errr....no digital download link?
This isn't a review as such, but a complaint that I simply cannot resolve. My neatly packaged and shrink wrapped copy arrived last Monday. Excellent - until I opened it, and it contains no download code or weblink address to obtain said download. Am I just missing something somewhere, or have I obtained a 'dud' copy? I have approached the official DM forum, who haven't...
Published on 3 April 2013 by Mr. G. J. Arnold


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to their best, 5 April 2013
This review is from: Delta Machine (MP3 Download)
a fantastic auditory experience through a very dark, interesting, inspiring and catchy album. i cannot recommend this album highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delta Machine (MP3 Download)
As other reviewers have said this does require a few listens but the investment is well worth it. After the somewhat turgid SOTU this is a brilliant return to form. The whole thing is so well constructed with a great mix of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delta Machine (MP3 Download)
back to doing what dm do best. making absolutely great music. don't get the plaudits that they should puts new music to shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Question of Time, 31 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Delta Machine (MP3 Download)
I have listened to the album for a week before posting a review as it took several listens to really get to enjoy the previous release Sounds of the Universe (SOTU).

By way of background I have been a fan since hearing See You on the radio back in 1982 and have bought all the albums as they were released since.

Whereas there are a number of tracks that I like on SOTU that album does not come accross as a coherent whole. Delta Machine does. The prime example being the single Heaven. On its own it is, to be frank, disappointing and even boring to listen to, but it is lifted by where it is on the album and fits in perfectly there. It was, however, a poor choice of single if they were looking to generate interest in the album.

The album starts with some deep electronic pulses and simple slow electronic beats which introduce Welcome To My World as unmistakably Depeche Mode. The track builds into a decent opener. Next up is Angel, where Dave almost goes gospel. This track would fit quite well on Violator in style. Heaven, as discussed above, is the third track.

There is then a bit of a dip in the album with Secret to the End and My Secret Universe, which whilst pleasant enough are not memorable. From here on in to the end of the album, however, the quality goes up a notch (with one exception).

Slow is fairly atmospheric, with a simple blues riff, and meanders along nicely with Dave at his sleaszy best. This is followed by Broken, a pleasant mid-paced ditty with a nice chorus, which could be from Black Celebration era. The Child Inside is the obligatory Martin Gore slow number, which is fine, although not a patch on Home.

Some reviews have likened Soft Touch / Raw Nerve to A Question of Time. To my ears it sounds like a cover band trying to cover that track poorly. For me it just grates and is the one missed step on the album.

To make up for this the final four tracks of the album are strong and reward repeated listening. Should Be Higher is builds up nicely to a good chorus. Alone is a particular favourite, atmosperic and ethereal, and the chorus of Soothe My Soul comes straight from The Glitter Band's school of glam rock (in a good way).

Goodbye goes back to a simple blues riff, but with many more elecronic layers than Slow. It builds to a hard hitting chorus of 'Goodbye', which does bring an fair of finality to the album.

Overall, I am enjoying this album. It fits together well and there is a fresh feel to the electronic sounds in the mix - its like they started to enjoy playing with them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delta Machine (MP3 Download)
Boys definitely back with a bang and well worth waiting on. Some dark tracks, some quite funky tracks but all really good. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Time to call it a day, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delta Machine (MP3 Download)
I've been a big Depeche Mode fan since the 80's, I skived a week off school to follow the Black Celebration tour, but sadly everything seems to have gone downhill since them. Maybe using guitars a real drums doesn't help. Nothing has inspired since SOFAD and the odd track off Ultra, but I heard good things about this latest release. Track after track totally uninspiring. Sorry guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I tried, I really did., 8 Sept. 2014
By 
Andre (TURRIFF, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Delta Machine (Audio CD)
Rather than give this album a good kicking that I felt it deserved on release I thought I'd give it time to see if I warmed to it, and I just can't. After the dirty sounding analogue synthy sounds of Playing the Angel and Sounds of the Universe, both FANTASTIC albums, we seem to be back to Exciter stripped down not very electronic at all type stuff .... and it's really dull :(.

I've tried really hard to like this and played it many, many times - it just does nothing for me, I can't think of a single stand out track.

I still love Depeche, I'll just need to spend my time with the back catalogue instead. Hopefully there's a few albums left in the old girl yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delta Machine (Audio CD)
Top Album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delta Machine (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGE.....and about time, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delta Machine (MP3 Download)
This is what only DM can do and they do it best... Along time coming but say no more... SUPERB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Delta Machine
Delta Machine by Depeche Mode
Buy MP3 Album£6.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews