Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not the coolest vampire, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Vampire Value Meal (Books 1-4 in the series) (Kindle Edition)
it was a really fun read with a larger than life character , an unlikely hero , but very real .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and different, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Vampire Value Meal (Books 1-4 in the series) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading the Fat Vampire which I initially did not expect to. The main hero Reginald is neither an alpha male nor is he gorgeous. He is flawed, and a binge eater and even though he is very smart, he is not that confident which makes him likeable and kept me reader rooting for him. The other characters are equally intriguing, Maurice, Clare, Nikky, Timen Karl even Claude. I cannot wait for the show down between Timen and Reginald in the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fat Vampire, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Vampire Value Meal (Books 1-4 in the series) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliantly funny and witty stories, even if they are about vampires. Read the whole series and thoroughly enjoyed it. Apart from a few spelling mistakes, the books were most enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, 3 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. J. E. Bowden (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Vampire Value Meal (Books 1-4 in the series) (Kindle Edition)
There are lots of Vampire books out there and I think that these are slightly above average but seem rather short. Not sure if I will read any more as its hard to see where the story is going and what there is new and interesting to say. If you see them on Kindle at a low price give them a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far too thin -- needs beefing up a little bit., 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Vampire Value Meal (Books 1-4 in the series) (Kindle Edition)
So, you're looking for a book, right? And you're thinking that some Urban Fantasy might be good, and you decide to look for vampire fiction, cause that's all the rage at the minute, yeah? Then you stumble across this Value Meal about a fat vampire...

At first, you're worried, "A fat vampire? I've never heard of such a thing!" Then slowly, you realise that you're right... you've never heard of a fat vampire before. (Or, if you have, pretend that you haven't).

You begin to read, and as you read you're sucked into the world of Reginald Baskin, a (no spoilers) vampire who's eternally stuck at a comfortable 350 pounds -- he's American, what can you expect? Wait, no, that's not fair. They'll learn to use the metric system, eventually.

I loved the first four books of this series, and I'll be picking up the next two in short order, and no doubt carry on with the rest (there will be more, won't there, Mr. Truant?) The writing is evocative, action packed, interesting and down right twisty. I highly recommend the books for lovers of the genre and newcomers; with subversive tropes and characters reeking of verisimilitude, what could go wrong?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fat Vampire Value Meal, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Miss King (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Vampire Value Meal (Books 1-4 in the series) (Kindle Edition)
Reginald becomes a vampire, a fat vampire, in a vampire nation of fit and strong vampires.
Book 1 in this series is available for free (at least it was when i downloaded it and it was still free when i wrote this review.) so give it a go. I then found it was cheaper to buy the next 3 books in this value meal rather than separately.
I enjoyed books 1,2 and 3 a lot and would give them each 5 stars. Book 4 was still good but had a bit to much politics in it for me so 4 stars.
This is a really different vampire book with lots of humor, i will be reading the rest of the series, and checking out other books by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fat is all that, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Fat Vampire Value Meal (Books 1-4 in the series) (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful wonderful wonderful book, loved it so much i bought the whole series. Id recommended this if you like vampires and action as this has plenty of both!

The author has taken a difficult genre in that its been done to death and still he does something completely different with it, Truant, youre a genius!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Vampire Value Meal (Books 1-4 in the series) (Kindle Edition)
In the world of kindle horror and supernatural, it is quite easy to lump all vampires in one category- the brooding, evil and yet attractive male or female that fights his or hers inner demons with the love for a human counterpart.
Fat Vampire goes beyond the vampire theme and creates memorable characters within an interesting plot. I have read all 6 books and I have not been disappointed, if you are looking for the next Twilight then look elsewhere but if your are looking for a horror or science fiction novel with some philosophy and humour then Fat Vampire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fat Vampire Value Meal (books 1-4), 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Vampire Value Meal (Books 1-4 in the series) (Kindle Edition)
Good series, overall. It is very different from the usual vampire story as it explores the hierarchy of vampires and how they could look in the future. It has a lot of twists and turns, some of the characters are complicated, devious and very manipulative, and there are some unexpected surprises chucked in the story when you least expect it. I will definitely read more in this series as I want to know what happens with Reginald and his crew and who wins the election and if the angels interfere again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series!, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: Fat Vampire Value Meal (Books 1-4 in the series) (Kindle Edition)
Mr Truant has grouped his Fat Vampire into one long read, which is fantastic!

Its filled with gore, splatter horror, humour and some politics (but only the Angel/Human/Vampire kind!)

Book 1: An unfortunate accident ensures that Reginald stays the 350lb slob, that he was as a human, for eternity as a vampire!

His mentor maybe old but not really much help, especially as he looks like a 19yr old skinny Goth kid and having befriended his first intended meal, little Claire now helps him feed with defrosted steaks!

The ending to book 1 was explosive, well timed and brilliant!

Book 2: The humour has not diminished in the 2nd book.

Lots of ongoing surprises and themes as the Angels now get in on the act and try to "kill off" the Vampire race.

The ongoing love/sex affair of Reginald and Nikki's relationship is an amusing side line when you consider today's vanity issues!

It turns out that Reginald is a Vampire genius, which makes for some more humour moments, but brings in some plot twists and turns too

Johnny B. Truant clearly had great fun writing this... and again, left on a cliff hanger!!

Book 3: Reginald is still fat and feasting on Chinese, Tacos & Pizzas and anything else he can get delivered. Nikki has turned into a blood and sex crazed fiend!

An insight into the two Century old Maurice and his home, wife, hobbies; just what do you do with infinity?

Quite alot of moving and shaking/legal and politics in this episode, so concentrate!

Reginald getting stuck in a manhole cover is a brilliant mental visual!

Big changes to the council and Reginald develops his new skill!!

Book 4: How can you go wrong with this series.... well add a little too much politics maybe?

A bit more serious in this instalment, but then the story does demand it, and Mr Truant certainly rises to the occasion with his writing skills.

Along with the normal humour, tales of gut busting chow downs and sexy interludes (although I would love to see more of these!) we reach a new level in the story....

again left on a brilliant cliff hanger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews