Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative!
This is a very in depth introduction book. Not a book you can easily dip into and learn quickly from, more of a sit down and read book. The other books in the series are a little more useful than this one, I found.
Published on 20 Jun. 2011 by Bert

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but "introduction" is VERY misleading...
While this is a good and very detailed textbook with very recent research and lots of tables and graphs to back up all information given there are many problems that this book has when compared with other nutritional books:

1) No Colour, which although is not a big disadvantage, most books at this high-end price bracket will have colour and it makes certain...
Published on 4 Jun. 2009 by Stephen Foody


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but "introduction" is VERY misleading..., 4 Jun. 2009
By 
Stephen Foody - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While this is a good and very detailed textbook with very recent research and lots of tables and graphs to back up all information given there are many problems that this book has when compared with other nutritional books:

1) No Colour, which although is not a big disadvantage, most books at this high-end price bracket will have colour and it makes certain diagrams harder to view.

2) This book is quite advanced, if you are new to nutrition or just going into 1st year degree nutrition I would not recommend this, it is very advanced, and really it should say "Introduction to POSTGRADUATE nutrition" not only is it very details, but the facts are not presented in such a entertaining way like some better textbooks are and reads more like a journal.

To conclude, although it is very factual and has a ton of info in it, but just really isent good for a introduction to the subject, but much better for 2nd and 3 year B.sci, as well as postgrad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative!, 20 Jun. 2011
By 
Bert (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
This is a very in depth introduction book. Not a book you can easily dip into and learn quickly from, more of a sit down and read book. The other books in the series are a little more useful than this one, I found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my studies and It was immensely useful and it explains everything in great detail-easy to read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars hard core, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is definitely a book who is heavily into studying the subject in a scientific and mathematical level as I study nutritional healing and it is like it is written in a foreign language to me. I'm sure it's great if u are able to understand it though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Nutrition book, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book for those students of Nutrition.
It goes to details however in an easy english, so everybody should be able to understand the technical aspect of this science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's very technical....., 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my course. Very technical and not an easy read. I wish these things were a bit more lively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but too much info, 4 Oct. 2011
I purchased this for my 1st year in dietetics, however I just found this book not very useful and sold it again. It is too much information for the first year, and too basic to use in future years. It might fit in in other courses, but I found that it was too heavy a text to really utilise in my first year along with all of my other subjects, I preferred Crash Course and Molecular basis for quicker learning and revising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews