Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most moving yet little known acts of mercy
The 'Kindertransport' was an initiative of the British Government in late 1938 to allow the temporary migration of Jewish children at risk in the German occupied countries (Germany, Austria, Czechoslovakia)to Britain, where they would be housed by British families. The government at the time, decided only children would be allowed, as they would not place a burden on the...
Published on 9 Nov 2008 by Roderick Keech

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no good
would not work on our dvd player or that of our friends We think made for the american market not for Europe
Published 17 months ago by Mrs. J. C. Morgan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most moving yet little known acts of mercy, 9 Nov 2008
By 
Roderick Keech (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The 'Kindertransport' was an initiative of the British Government in late 1938 to allow the temporary migration of Jewish children at risk in the German occupied countries (Germany, Austria, Czechoslovakia)to Britain, where they would be housed by British families. The government at the time, decided only children would be allowed, as they would not place a burden on the economy by taking jobs of British adults. This was at a time when no country was willing to take in Jews, despite being aware of the pogroms since Hitler's ascension to power and the horrific events on Kristallnacht in November of '38. Kristallnacht was the catalyst for the government's debate and acceptance of the scheme to allow limited entry to Britain. The Germans agreed, making sure that if one adult escort failed to return to Germany, the transports would be stopped. The transports began and only stopped when war was declared in September of '39, by which time almost 10,000 children had arrived safely in Britain.

Their's was not always a warm welcome. They were billeted in holiday camps and 'adoptive families' came and 'shopped' for a child they liked the look of. Many children remained in these camps for some time, either because they were too old, or not appealing enough to the carers. A small proportion were even abused - taken by families that used them as unpaid domestics. All of them missed their parents and were constantly worried about their welfare.

This incredibly moving documentary is told in the first person by children who migrated, their adoptive carers, and in narration by Dame Judi Dench. It is a tale of unutterable sadness and grief, yet one that must be told and heard. It is also a tale of how only one country made any real attempt to save Jewish children who were already being persecuted and would certainly face a worse future in Europe.

Not being a parent, I cannot even begin to imagine what it must have been like to consign your child to migration to 'safe' England, when your own fate was far from secure. Most parents believed they would never see their children again, and in the vast majority of cases this fear was realised.

This documentary is of such importance that it forms a compulsory part of the school curriculum in Germany today. Watch it, but be prepared to be greatly moved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into the Arms of Stragers, 21 Sep 2013
By 
D. H. White (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A VERY interesting and emotional DVD that really helped me understand the world that my Aunt left in Vienna when my grandparents adopted a little Jewish child in 1938. Really made us think so hard about her experiences and those of her fellow Jewish children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, 26 May 2009
By 
L. Topp "toppuk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very interesting dvd, very atmospheric and moving. The only thing I would say is that the speaking on it is hard to hear due the music, but it's a good dvd and I will read the book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for teaching kinder transport, 19 May 2014
By 
J. Mcquaid (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good if you are teaching GCSE literature, particularly good for the SMSc elements of the curriculum. Very good dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Into the Arms of Strangers, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. H. Speck (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD means a lot to me as I only very recently learned that my aunt came over from Germany via Kindertransport in May 1939. Factual and thoughtful documentary film - needs a lot of tissues as it's a tear jerker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Into the arms of strangers, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I work with a group of older people and this linked to their experiences of WW2. We had to show it over 2 sessions as it is quite long.
I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So moving, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an extraordinary film. I have watched it dozens of times as I use it in my drama lessons and it is the most moving documentary about family love that I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 6 July 2009
By 
P. Waller "Pip" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A DVD that makes you realise just what would have happened to these children had they not been allowed to leave.

Should be part of the school cirriculum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film to watch, 11 Sep 2010
By 
Very good film which gave a good insight into what went on in those bad times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no good, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
would not work on our dvd player or that of our friends We think made for the american market not for Europe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews