Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Since 'Is This It'
As a hardcore Strokes fan my opinion may be slightly biased, which I have considered before writing this review in order to make it worth reading. Despite this I cannot fault this album, and that is my honest opinion fan or no fan.

This album has variety which cannot be seen on any other Strokes album, whilst at the same time keeping within an alternative 80's...
Published 19 months ago by K_Jafnn1984

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comedown Machine - Is this is? probably not but that's OK
This album is more of one for the fans, the band proving to them that they still have their creative spark.

It wouldn't surprise me if this was just a taste of a new Strokes era that is emerging, one that isn't bond to sounding like that 2001 debut 'is this it'.

It's not a bad attempt... I wouldn't say any Strokes album is particularly bad, although...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. J. T. Shinerock


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, as you would expect, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Ok, I'm not going to traul through each track and describe it and having only owned the album for a day, an in-depth review would be difficult and time-consuming. I'm sure that some dictionary-munching Rolling Stone hack could do a better job than me anyway.
This is a very solid Strokes album which I have been really looking forward to after the brilliant 'Angles'.
Some of the people who have given this bad reviews clearly have not bought the album. They have just come into the review section to slag off The Strokes. Pity them. Some have said there are no stand-out tracks on the album. Weird - are they listening to the same record? Some are decrying the fact that it is not up to the standard of 'Is This It', but for me 'Angles' is their by far and away their finest hour. Different Strokes for different folks I guess. Does it compare to 'Angles'? Not quite but there is still enough variety of tempo and style here to warrant the three stars for I've given it for sure.
I am pretty much playing it on repeat and it's sounding better and better with each listen. Each of the tracks here seem to have an immediate catchiness which is always a good sign.
What I will say about the vinyl version of this release is this - For once, the band and the record company have recognised the reason why punters buy vinyl albums - because they want their music to sound as good as it can be. Normally there is a download code supplied with an LP, so that you can access the mp3 version to put on your i-Pod. MP3 might have been a handy format ten years ago but punters want their tunes in lossless quality, so the inclusion of the full CD in the album package is a nice surprise and a very welcome addition which deserves a mention.
The rest of the LP packaging is very nice too. Bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brave album, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
A new direction for the band that's been together for over a decade. The album should have been born in the eighties. Top songs are welcome to Japan and one way trigger. Oh and check out 80's countdown machine. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
A bit different in style to the other Stokes albums. It's less rock in style and a bit more electronic. Some excellent tracks though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Ok. Nothing Special., 30 Mar 2013
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
All I can say for Comedown Machine is that it is fine background listening music if you are busy writing a review on amazon on your mac book pro. Other than that nothing really stands out and makes you pay attention.

I guess if you want to look cool when you have friends over for a few drinks then its ok but it's not a patch on their work from 2001-2006. I gave Angles a wide birth, at least it is better than that eh?.

I guess the generation that fell in love with them way back when are all into different bands now. I feel the big recording gap between 2006 and 2011 did them no favours and the indie music scene moved on.

I suggest for their next outing they do something completely different.

3/5 not bad, not good, just ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best band, 29 Mar 2013
By 
J. Charles (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
Another incredible album from the World's best band.

It's a bit more mellow and mature than the last albums with more synths and on some songs Julian's singing is more falsetto/soul than rock but the tunes are just as good as on their previous albums with the usual great guitar riffs.Quite extraordinary how they keep coming up with such classic tunes. I can't stop listening to it and it gets better every time!
Do yourself a favour and buy it immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What has happened?, 22 April 2013
By 
Mr. M. G. Stevens "Everytimereferee" (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comedown Machine (MP3 Download)
Oh, This album is truly nasty.

A really insipid pile of rancid crud.

Truly awful. I'm listening to it now and it's killing me.

It's tone deaf soulless lounge pop.

An album sung by a man with his mouth stuffed with cotton wool and played on a kazoo and a child's xylophone.

'sounds like it was it was recorded in a dental surgery: whilst surgery is taking place. Actually your average dental receptionist has more charisma and is for likeable than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 Mar 2013
By 
MA Kinsella "M Kinsella" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
Not one knock out song. Boring tap tap drums, up and down guitar rifts boring...usual shouty singing. Boring dross. Nothing new or outstanding...disappointing from a band who produced This is it; a great album. Album cover is pathetic, a paper pull out of silhouette heads? whats the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Make an effort!!, 26 Mar 2013
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
Album has just arrived....damaged as its a cheap and nasty paper sleeve case! I open it and look at the album sleeve for any notes on the album and there are none.

I'm a huge fan of the strokes' music but please make an effort for the people who buy it!

In terms of the album content itself; I agree that there is not one stand out song. Compared to previous albums (which some feel is an unfair thing to do) its poor. As a stand alone album it plods along not really offending but its an album that can be playing in the car and all songs merge into one without you stopping to notice.

A real let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comedown Machine
Comedown Machine by The Strokes
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews