Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Since 'Is This It'
As a hardcore Strokes fan my opinion may be slightly biased, which I have considered before writing this review in order to make it worth reading. Despite this I cannot fault this album, and that is my honest opinion fan or no fan.

This album has variety which cannot be seen on any other Strokes album, whilst at the same time keeping within an alternative 80's...
Published 16 months ago by K_Jafnn1984

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Strokes - The machine coughs and splutters along
So it turns out The Strokes were actually an eighties pop band masquerading as the Velvet Underground. The unfortunately named `Comedown Machine' is for all intents and purposes a Julian Casablancas solo album which owes as much of a heavy debt to Midge Ure as it does John Cale. It essentially picks up where "Angles" left off which will delight some and send others into...
Published 16 months ago by Red on Black


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The Strokes turn to the eighties for inspiration, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
This is a great album which I thoroughly enjoy listening to but as its the Strokes you would still expect better. It's their weakest album in which they have expanded on the sound they dallied with on Angles. The songs are typically catchy, although one of them sounds scarily like Take On Me by A-ha, but none of them leave any lasting impression. Not really sure where they go from here but I'm sure it will be fun finding out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 9 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. D. Garvey (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
Not as good as some of their previous albums but still very good, definitely worth a listen first before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dependable eccentric refreshment, 26 Jun 2013
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
The strokes reliably deliver yet another album of quirky melancholy melodies and quenching chilled out vibes. Just try and listen to "One Way Trigger" without grinning and feeling a bit giddy.

Moving forward, the strokes experiment with quite a variety of vocals and new sounds whilst still managing to maintain that instantly recognisable style that any Strokes fan will be desperate to know has not been lost.

At the end of a bad day, just sit back, relax and enjoy the massaging strokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
The Strokes just get better and better! There's not a song on this album that I don't like. Look on YouTube for Fast Animals, b-side of Slow Animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comedown Machine (The Strokes, 2013), 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine [VINYL] (Vinyl)
It meets the standard of The Strokes, though the style has changed since the last album. Inspiration from the 70's and the 80's in a rock-flavour which was spotted already in the last two albums. A nice groovy piece of music to listen to,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Play very loud, 20 May 2013
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
The Strokes are an excellent band who have produced quality alternative rock masterpieces throughout their career, Comedown Machine continues with the 80's retro sound the band favour of late and it has produced some very cool tracks including One Way Trigger and Happy Ending. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the eclectic mix of sound, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Has 80s themed tunes but also plenty of classic Strokes sounds and has a crunchy compressed sound over the vocals etc which give all of the tracks warmth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So good, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
It's pretty different to previous stuff but definitely a grower, just make sure you give it the chance is definitely does deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars strokes do it again, 25 April 2013
By 
C. D. Mcdougall "Craig mc" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
typical strokes album usual 40 mins off tunes ripping straight into it kicking off with the superb Tap out, Welcome to japan, Partners in Crime and Happy ending being the heavy hitting songs for me on this album the rest are certainly not to be ignored, overall i think this is better than angles but may be not quite on a par with Is this it, hey its still early days tho it may well turn out to be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The final album? The Strokes come of age..., 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedown Machine (Audio CD)
The Strokes' final album for RCA is a mix of old school 80's electric pop and the usual Strokes cool riffs and as always they have moved forward into new areas. I really like this album. No, it's not 'Is This It' but if they just put out another album like that 12 years after it was first released, people would be quick to say they were predictable. 'All The Time' is the closest song to the classic Strokes sound.

I love all 5 albums and am a hugh Strokes fan, and really recommend this album.

Some are saying this is the Strokes final album, but who knows, only time will tell...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comedown Machine
Comedown Machine by The Strokes
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews