Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joy Indeed !
It's just over two years since BSP's last album hit the airwaves.
'Valhalla Dancehall' (Jan 2011) was a very strong collection and
'Machineries Of Joy' continues to find this splendid Brighton-based
ensemble in fine fettle and firing on all six cylinders. There is real passion
and energy in this material and these ten new numbers jump out of the...
Published 20 months ago by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
arrived on time and as described, I just misunderstood description
Published 3 months ago by Andrew McColl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another stunning BSP album, 18 Jun 2013
By 
R. Abrook (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machineries of Joy (Audio CD)
A real grower. As a BSP fan I know that each track will take a few listens to adjust to and this album grew on me after a couple of weeks. A handful of standout tracks and well worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars madcap mentalists, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machineries of Joy (Audio CD)
another stonking album from one of the best live/album groups around today,long may there eccentricities continue and thrive.just buy and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars machineries of joy by BSP., 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machineries of Joy (MP3 Download)
British Sea Power back to their very best. If you liked British Sea Power in the past or new to this band then this is album to rekindle your heart or to start liking this unique band at their very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always a great band, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machineries of Joy (Audio CD)
Never really made a wrong move in my eyes, and this carries on their recorded legacy.
Always get their music, it is always good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic- well balanced and rewards repeat listens!, 7 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Machineries of Joy (Audio CD)
Another tremendous album by the boys and girl from Brighton/Cumbria. This is a more consistent effort than the past, slightly shorter and concise but beefed up sound. Highlights are many- the album is well thought through and I love K Hole, Loving Animals, Radio Goddard especially. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machineries of Joy (Audio CD)
arrived on time and as described, I just misunderstood description
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not their best, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machineries of Joy (Audio CD)
As others have said, not the best BSP album.In fact to be honest I'm struggling to like most of it.It may grow on me but my initial listen to it left me feeling abit flat.It just hasn't got the strong melodies of previous albums.I will persevere and repost if my first impressions change for the better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machineries of Joy (Audio CD)
As always there is some really good stuff on a BSP album. For me the standouts are the opening title track, monsters of Sunderland and when a warm wind blows through the grass. Loving animals shows their willingness to experiment and express themselves but while K hole has an abundance of energy it doesn't seem to go anywhere. I wanted to love all of this album but I can only some most of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent album, 13 April 2013
By 
Alastair Bateman "Al B" (Chichester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machineries of Joy (MP3 Download)
Continuing excellence from BSP. Catchier melodies than the last album with the usual varied and interesting riffs and sounds. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a return to form, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Machineries of Joy (Audio CD)
I know Valhalla Dancefloor was a good record...but I just couldn't't love it.Some of the reckless joy of BSP seemed to be missing.....but it's back now. On first listen "Machineries of joy"...the single...didn't grab me....but it just needed some listens then I got the joyous layered instrumentation and the lyrics. "Khole" is classic fun BSP loud silly but fun. As their 5th CD you'd have thought it would be laboured or forced but it's fun and fresh. "Monsters of Sunderland" is full on. its got a great big sound and cracking lyrics..."Radio Goddard" is also a fabulous. The overall sound is fuller and all the better for it...above all they've got excitement and freshness which is impressive after all this time. A wonderful quirky full big lyrical treat....kicks any new acts into touch....please buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Machineries of Joy
Machineries of Joy by British Sea Power
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews