Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars65
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 30 August 2013
I ordered this with some apprehension. Although I have seen the new line up live and heard some of the songs on You Tube etc, I was very much in the camp of is this really BC? I should have known better and kept the faith. This is an amazing collection of songs that Bruce, Mike & the guys really capture and bottle the essence of Big Country's music and principles.

It is a fitting tribute not just to Stuart Adamson, but to everything that was & is Big Country.

This should be hailed as a modern classic and actually is a great introduction to the back catalogue for the younger generation.
It's just a shame that BC will never get the recognition that they deserve.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 11 April 2013
New Big Country...
Back at their best with raw new material 1st
in 14 years & WILL NOT Disappoint!!
Brilliant :-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 22 April 2013
Having been a fan since the early 80's I was really pleased to hear a few years back that the band were going to be touring again with Mike Peters as their front man. I saw Peters perform an accoustic gig last Novemeber. The man really has got talent. I managed to have a quick chat with him after the show and told him that I was pleased to learn of him joining up with BC (he had just finished a tour with them)and explained that I had bought a ticket to see BC in Bristol but had not been able to get to gig. He was was so at ease and said that he was again collaborating with BC and that they were putting the finishing touches to a new album and intending to tour in 2013. His passion for BC was clearly evidnet. He added that the album would be something special- and was he right!!
I've been hooked since the first play. From the instantly recognisable guitars and drums In A Broken Promise Land to the lyrical reference to a past BC classic in Angels And Promises, this is truly Big Country. It has the distinct sound and feel of a classic BC album. I appreciate some peoples concerns about the band going on without Admamson. I really do. I aggree that he cannot be replaced. However, with Peters holding the microphone previous BC classics can be given a respectful new life that enables younger audiences to learn of the classic past. I think its right that they;ve written and recorded a new album. Not only is it fair to the band members and to Mike, but it would have been criminal to have kept these twelve tracks hidden from any music lover. It really is that good. I dont understand why any fan wouldnt like this album. Fans should never forget the past, but for the sake of preserving the music, we should always move forward. And this album moves forward in true BC style!
Ive seen a lot of bands over the years. Im off to see BC in Cardiff tomorrow and can honestly say, having heard this album, I cant remember being so excited about a gig. Though Im now in my 40's listening to this album takes me back to exactly how I felt when I first heard and fell in love with BC. Thanks guys for that feeling.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 10 April 2013
Big Country at their best. This album has all the usual ingredients that create their fantastic sound, duelling guitars, rhythmic marching drums, classic riffs, instantly sing along lyrics. Mike Peters is the only man who can step into Stuart's shoes and he does it so well at times vocally you can't tell them apart. This is a beautifully constructed optimistic album. Songs of hope,loss and redemption. The same themes the same dreams creating that beautiful highland imagery that all classic Big Country songs have the power to create. I was so impressed with this album I cried with happiness. These guys are survivors, the most underated rock band ever, but does that deter them no it doesn't. Stand out tracks for me are "Hurts" trust me you'll identify immediately and by the time the chorus kicks in for the second time you will be singing along, and thinking about your own pain. "Another Country" rousing rock at it's finest again you'll be singing along before the track ends. "Last Ship Sails" wow if you loved the Skids, you'll love this, crank it up and reminisce. Familiar riffs and even that classic lyric from "Chance" are embedded in this highly enthusiastic album of power rock. If this is the Journey I can't wait for the Destination. Thank you so much Big Country for this album, it's up there with The Crossing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 16 May 2013
Really like Track 4 (Hurt) which has Alarm roots. Track 12 Hail and Farewell is my favorite and keeps tradition of great final tracks on prior CDs like Porrohman, Just a Shadow, Buffalo Skinners, etc.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 9 April 2013
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 10 April 2013
A lot has been written about the circumstances, but let's start with the music - this album is brilliant. Its brilliant because it would've been so easy to record and release 12 tracks of celtic rock stompers but this album is so much more than that. It does have some "classic" Big Country tracks (thank goodness!) but it also has some amazing new shapes, sounds and rhythms. This is why its a brave album - it tries to do so much - silence the critics, keep the fans happy, pay respect to the past, look the future...

After the tragic loss of Stuart Adamson, as well as Tony Butler's resignation last year, it was hard for many to see how the band could be re-built. But looking at who Big Country are now I would challenge anyone to think of a better line-up. They needed a new bassist and got Derek Forbes (ex-Simple Minds and 'Scotlands Best Bassist'), they needed a new singer and got Mike Peters (of The Alarm and Adamson's long-time friend) and they needed another guitarist and got Jamie Watson (son of founder member Bruce - who better to work instinctively alongside him?).

With such a super-group line-up you don't need me to tell you that the drums are awesome, the bass lines are jumping out of the speakers and the two guitars weave about with the precision of experience and the exuberance of youth. "The past is a foreign country" shouts Peters' opening line and it is with this nod backwards that the band takes a great leap forwards, proof that you can still travel fast even if you are carrying luggage.

Its worth mentioning the packaging - not since The Crossing have I opened a music release (it was an LP back then) that felt more like a story book. The design of the booklet is great, it draws you into landscapes of hopes and hurricanes, of ships and angels. In the middle there is a wide shot of Big Country 2.0 on stage in front of a hometown audience and, as always, half of the lights are on the crowd who, after all, have travelled every step (and sung every word) with them.

Having bigged-up the complexity of the album, my two favourite tracks are the stompers! "The Return" should immediately be used on every Visit Scotland advert and shows the band tight and focussed and "Last Ship Sails" is a punky post-Skids explosion of a song that will have Green Day weeping out of jealousy.

My favourite touch? The sheer GENIUS of including some bagpipes! Big Country have laboured for years under the mis-labelled 'bagpipe sound' when they were actually playing some fabulous guitar lines. Including the pipes on here, after some pretty heavy guitars, is like saying to the haters - "NOW do you understand - the crunchy loud things with strings and amps were electric guitars all along, THIS is a bagpipe, stupid!"

33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 12 September 2013
what a return ,this album is more than I expected,this album rocks outfrom start to finish.
standout tracks are in a broken promised land the journey after the floods ect ect...
there aint really a weak track on it ,although I do like the original another country more than the new album version.
cant wait for more !!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 12 May 2013
One of those Cd's you can play all the way through,again and again
No Skipping tracks
No bad tracks
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 5 September 2013
this is another great release by big country !!! well worth the 14 years wait since their last studio album
theres not many albums released these days where you can listen to the full album from start to end but this is definitly one of those cds you dont want to turn off!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.