Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sequel which surpasses the original!
Despite the title, I can confirm that this book has nothing to do with the 80s rom-com starring Cher and Nicolas Cage but is in fact the follow up to High Moor, the excellent werewolf horror tale from British author Graeme Reynolds.

High Moor 2 starts off with a bit of preamble, brutally enhancing the backstory for some of the characters already familiar to...
Published 23 months ago by John Milton

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I may be a bit cynical, but....
Enjoyed the book, true it would have benefited from the author having used a few different adjectives to describe what the characters endured/did, but it still told a good story.
What I really don't like is the ending. The first book High Moor had a cliffhanger finale, and that did make me buy the sequel immediately. Obviously this worked so well for the author that...
Published 13 months ago by VMJ


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sequel which surpasses the original!, 30 Mar. 2013
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Moor 2: Moonstruck (Kindle Edition)
Despite the title, I can confirm that this book has nothing to do with the 80s rom-com starring Cher and Nicolas Cage but is in fact the follow up to High Moor, the excellent werewolf horror tale from British author Graeme Reynolds.

High Moor 2 starts off with a bit of preamble, brutally enhancing the backstory for some of the characters already familiar to those who have read High Moor. From there, Reynolds picks up almost exactly from where he left off at the end of the first novel, with his main protagonist John Simpson being brought to the attention of the police due to the bloody aftermath of the closing scenes of High Moor.
Reynolds sets a near relentless pace for this sequel and there is no doubt that this is action-horror at its finest. Silver bullets sprayed from automatic weapons, arson, prison breaks, dismemberment, decapitation, evisceration and regular wolf vs wolf fights throughout; and that shortlist nowhere near covers what the author has set out in this sequel.

However, to categorise High Moor 2 as brainless would be distinctly unfair and incorrect. Reynolds has spent time developing his characters and the events that motivate them admirably, leading to some interesting situations and power struggles which further expand the world that the author has created. The author uses descriptive prose, regional dialects and realistic locations to draw the reader in further.
That said, gorehounds will certainly not be left disappointed by High Moor 2. A scene from the original, which I'll refer to as the "treehouse scene" still sticks with me, despite having read the book around a year ago. Similarly, in this sequel, one scene in particular struck me as particularly shocking and I don't think the imagery conjured up by Reynolds will leave me for quite some time.

On a critical note, I feel that High Moor 2: Moonstruck could have benefitted from a little more in the way of preamble and re-introduction to the main characters. I've read quite a few books in the intervening year and I struggled a little to pick up on who the main players were initially. Additionally, as exceptional as the cover art is, I can't help but feel the lycanthrope on the left of the cover looks a little more like a lion than a wolf!

In my opinion, this is a sequel which has surpassed the achievements of its predecessor and admirably sets up the inevitable third title in the series. I don't think I can recommend this book highly enough but with the caveat that this tale is not for the faint of heart, or indeed those looking for Twilight-type lycanthropy! Moreover, the reader should familiarise themselves with High Moor first, rather than dive straight into Moonstruck.

If the reader of High Moor 2: Moonstruck is to take away a lesson from this book it ought to be this: Don't cross a redhead! Especially when she's Scottish and happens to be a werewolf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Howlingly Fantastic Read, 24 July 2013
In this era of horror where the tide of rotting zombies, and sparkly vampires is in danger of drowning the genre, it is always a joy when a author bucks the trend and producers a book that features one of horrors lesser used monsters.

Those of you who are long term readers of this blog, will know that I was blown away by the first volume of this series. High Moor was an adrenalin shot straight into the heart of of horror. An explosive thrill of a ride that brought a big grin to my face.
After a opening, setting the scene chapter, which serves to give some backstory to some of the main characters and firmly anchor the devastating emotional depth of the book. After the prologue, the story pretty much takes up right where High Moor left, and follows, and like the explosive prologue, the rest of Moonstruck will take you a one hell of a ride. This is the sort of horror that I was born to read. You know the sort of book that seems to create a barrier around the reader, that blocks out everything, creating a space where time has no meaning, only releasing the reader once this thrill of book is finished.

Where Graeme really excels in his writing is his ability to make this book transcend the parental lineage of novel. At first glance this novel of Werewolves battling Werewolves may sound like a big dumb novel, one devoid of any real substance. However Graeme has invested a lot in this book. From simple little things, like having some of his characters speak in a local dialect which serves to give the book a sense of place, to creating characters that aren't just one dimensional cardboard cuts outs. A special mention must go the character of Connie. In far to many horror books written by men, the female characters always feel like a hastily thrown together cypher, that one seem to be there to either get killed in the most brutal of ways, or as a love interest to the muscular hero. Despite being a vicious, psychotic murderous bombshell of a woman, she is written in such a way that you cannot help but empathise with her.

Have no doubt, this is a novel that is packed to gunnels with glorious over the top violence and gore. There are a number of scenes of almost beautiful violence that will stay with you long after you have turned the final page of the book. But this gore is balanced wonderful with an intelligent and emotionally packed narrative. That will tear out your heart, as the hearts of the characters are ripped out and devoured on the page.

Moonstruck builds on the excellent High Moor to deliver a masterclass in modern action horror. You will be howling at the moon with pure joy as this book reaches it's explosive conclusion.
- See more at: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gory and ferocious fun, 7 May 2013
By 
If you haven't read High Moor book one, this review may contain spoilers.

The last book ended with a showdown between our hero, John Simpson, and his long-time nemesis Malcolm. It took me a while to get back into the story, as it has been well over a year since I read the first one. I would have liked a few more reminders of events in the first one, as once or twice I struggled to even remember who characters where by their names alone or what their part was in the story. Much like in the first book, the story in Moonstruck flickers back and forth between several timelines, so as the story unfolds, the characters stories and motivations are filled in.

The opening chapter hits the ground running, full of action and thrills that really sets the tone for the rest of the book. The pace never really subsides as Reynolds' puts his characters through various emotional and physical mills. The action is explosive and relentless, the violence is gory and ferocious, yet it is far from mindless as it is underpinned by a superb and fascinating story.

The story centres around two types of werewolves, ones that have some control over their bestial side, and those that don't - the moonstruck. These are considered dangerous even by their own kind, as their crazed bloodlust only serves to endanger the rest of the werewolf community by potentially revealing their existence to the world. The werewolf community considers them vermin to be exterminated. John is moonstruck. He was infected by a moonstruck werewolf when he was a child. Over the years, he has learned to manage his condition, and taken the necessary precautions. In book one, he investigates a series of murders strikingly similar to those that were undertaken by the beast responsible for infecting him many years earlier, bringing John to the attention of the werewolf community.

The prose is interesting, as much like in book one, the author uses dialect specific to the north-east of England which is where a lot of the action takes place. I am unsure how this translates to a European or US audience, but for us Brits, it should pose no problem.

There are several characters that I found myself warming to. Strangely, I never really warmed that much to John in the last book, nor in this one. I realise he is the main protagonist, but much like Harry Potter, he is not half as interesting as the characters around him.

The female characters particularly stand out. I applaud Reynolds for writing his woman well. They are strong, fierce, protective and intelligent, and a few are notably more sinister than their male counterparts. While written for movies, this book passes the Bechdel test with flying colours.

This book is definitely for fans of the horror werewolf. If your preference is for shirtless native boys, or muscle-bound broody types with a hairstyle, then this is not for you. The werewolves in Reynolds' imagination are a welcome return to the horrific roots of the werewolf legend, a creature that is neither man nor beast, but something that lives in the terrible space between the two.

I thoroughly enjoyed this story, probably more so than the last one, and the stage has been set for the third book which I await eagerly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel in a fine series, 26 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Moor 2: Moonstruck (Kindle Edition)
HIGH MOOR 2 : MOONSTRUCK Graeme Reynolds Kindle Edition.

I have just read both the original novel, HIGH MOOR and this sequel over two consecutive days and still firmly believe that this developing saga is probably the best werewolf story to have appeared in recent years.

This sequel brings back and 'fleshes out' most of the key characters from part one and adds to the background and social order of the werewolf society as 'The Pack' attempts to repair the damage that threatens to expose them to the human world.

For me, the whole key to a good horror story is that the background has a sense of reality and the storyline is believeable. Mr Reynolds books fulfil those basic requirements and more. His basic premise that a small international community of werewolves exist unknown to mortals is formed in a manner that makes the reader believe that it is a viable fantasy. When a story is unrealistically proposing that large societies of supernatural non-humans, vampires/werewolves/demons etc. co-exsist openly with humans in the modern world then the idea becomes unbelievable and without some small ability to believe in the story the reader looses interest. Mr Reynolds has so far stayed within those boundaries and has produced a series of novels which are not just entertaining, but are well written, full of action and still remain just plausible.

Excellent series, looking forward to the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
By 
This review is from: High Moor 2: Moonstruck (Kindle Edition)
excellent book, highly readable - all the more so for its excellent use of hyphens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Graeme Reynolds takes us on a wild ride, 31 Dec. 2013
This review is from: High Moor 2: Moonstruck (Kindle Edition)
I'd very much enjoyed the first book in this series, `High Moor', and had been looking forward to this one, so I was pleased to be given an advance review copy by the author.

There has been more bloodshed in the town of High Moor--lots of it! The perpetrator, John Simpson, is in police custody. It's a cut and dried case, except for Simpson's claims to be a werewolf.

D.I. Fletcher and Constable Olivia Garner begin to uncover undeniable evidence that there may be more to Simpson's ravings than they thought. Unfortunately for them, a mysterious new group have arrived in town, bent on preventing the existence of werewolves from becoming common knowledge--at any costs!

As in the first volume, there are several agendas at work. One of the werewolves is more concerned with personal revenge than secrecy, which complicates matters somewhat.

Graeme Reynolds takes us on a wild ride in this middle volume of his trilogy. While there's a little less of the characterisation that I loved in the first book, he makes up for it with page-turning action. He employs a technique which I have never seen before, when he cuts back and forth between two major scenes of violence. It works a lot better than I would have expected.

If I have any criticism, it's that this book is very much the middle part of a trilogy. It certainly doesn't work quite as well as a standalone novel as did `High Moor', so I would certainly recommend reading them in order. It does end in a neat, satisfying place, though, and still left me looking forward to the final volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolfed it down, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Moor 2: Moonstruck (Kindle Edition)
Have been waiting for this and it didn't disappoint another 5 stars a lot darker than the last novel but the pace story and action never lets up another great novel Mr Reynolds I do hope you are busy working on the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 2 April 2013
Moonstruck is the highly anticipated sequel to High Moor, the debut novel from Graeme Reynolds. High Moor was an excellent read, and the second in the series doesn't disappoint. This book picks up right where High Moor left off, and the action starts almost immediately and continues at a fast pace the whole way through. I don't want to mention anything about the plot as that would give away some of the ending of the first novel, but I can say that even with the fast pace Reynolds brings in several new characters and takes the time to develop them fully. This helps him deliver an emotional impact that you don't often see from such action oriented novels, and speaks to his skills as a writer. Moonstruck is a fantastic horror novel with enough carnage to make the gore hounds happy and has scenes that are going to stay with me for a long time.

If you have read High Moor then you definitely need to pick up Moonstruck as it is one of the best books of the year. If you haven't read the first one, then by all means do so. This is not a series you want to miss out on. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Horror, 29 Mar. 2013
By 
Kat (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Moor 2: Moonstruck (Kindle Edition)
High Moor was one of the first books I read for my blog, way back at the end of 2011, and it's stuck with me since. I love a good horror story, and High Moor was also my introduction to the world of werewolves - and not the friendly kind that live in paranormal romances. Along with the delicious horror of the story, it was also the way that Mr. Reynolds bought the location alive that impressed me so much and so I was really excited to see how the story continued.

Beginning with a chilling prologue that perfectly sets the scene and the feel for the whole book, High Moor 2 - Moonstruck pulled me in right from the beginning. I didn't make any attempt to refresh myself with the plot or characters, and without need for a major recap, everything came flooding back as I read through the first few chapters.

There are a variety of characters, but the focus is around two main groups, and one individual, John Simpson. I was happy to see characters from the first book making a reappearance, along with some new, and intriguing characters that really bought an extra dimension to the story.

As with the first book, the location really comes through in the telling of the story - each setting is easily visualised without needing large passages of description, and writing action scenes are obviously Mr. Reynolds' forte as they are fast-paced yet easy to follow and the atmosphere is perfect - dark and creepy and exactly how I like my horror stories.

High Moor 2 is not for the faint of heart - with werewolves like these, there are several bloody fight scenes and a very dark atmosphere that makes this a true horror story. There is a lot more that I would love to say - I don't want to spoil it for anyone that may be interested in reading this series, but there are also other elements that added an extra dimension to the story and really have me curious as to where things will go in the next installment.

I love reading horror, particularly from UK-based authors, and Mr. Reynolds is now firmly one of my favourites, and I can't wait to see what he writes next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A More than worthy sequel!, 18 Jun. 2013
By 
I had the pleasure of reading the first High Moor which I stumbled upon quite by accident. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and waited with bated breath for the sequel. It is now here, and i'm pleased to say it does not disappoint!

Once again, the book is filled with vivid imagery, rich and detailed characters, and a wonderfully paced plot that keeps the pages turning long after you have promised yourself ' just one more chapter'

I finished the book in just a couple of days, which is testament to how addictive a read it was. This is a highly recommended read for anyone who is a fan of the horror genre. A well deserved 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Moor 2: Moonstruck
High Moor 2: Moonstruck by Graeme Reynolds
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews