Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Raspberry Pi book yet
This is the third manual for the Raspberry Pi that I have bought and is by far the best. It is bigger, 412 pages, packed with all the details a novice needs to get started but goes on much farther than the others in providing detailed hardware and software projects to a high level. It is also very competitively priced.

The writing is very clear and easy to...
Published 12 months ago by tonygo

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Use of book
Have only glanced through this book at the moment but did not find it as clear as the book I bought for kids
Published 1 month ago by Marilyn Humphreys


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Raspberry Pi book yet, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third manual for the Raspberry Pi that I have bought and is by far the best. It is bigger, 412 pages, packed with all the details a novice needs to get started but goes on much farther than the others in providing detailed hardware and software projects to a high level. It is also very competitively priced.

The writing is very clear and easy to follow with plenty of details, tables, tips, illustrations and screen shots. It explains how to keep your RPi computer up to date, download and install a wide range of free software for tasks such as word-processing, spreadsheets, photo editing, building a website and playing video/audio. The sections on programming include introductions to Linux, Scratch, Python and Pygame. The associated website provides access to allow the downloading of the programs for many of the projects.

Where this book really scores with me is the last third, written by 'Grumpy' Mile Cook, well known in Arduino and RPi forums for his hardware projects stretching back to the early days of the BBC micro. Mike has lost none of his enthusiasm for building electronic add-ons for the computer to control. The projects are very well explained, with easy to follow instructions on obtaining parts and building the hardware. The necessary software to complete the project is fully explained in easy to understand instructions. He also explains how to add analogue to digital converters and how to use them. This section includes instructions on installing SMBus for I2C, which would have been very useful to me a couple of months ago.

The trouble shooting section and excellent index allows the user to quickly find answers to problems.

Of my three RPi manuals this is the easiest to use, covers the most topics and is the cheapest. If you need a Pi manual - get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pi time yum yum yum, 10 Oct 2013
This review is from: Raspberry Pi For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
Having had my Raspberry Pi since Christmas 2012 but never having opened the box it was probably time I worked out how to use it. So with the help of this book I unpacked the tiny computer and hooked everything up. I am a very technical person and I have an ancient background in computers from the 1990s but have not looked at lines of code, outside websites, for many many years since. So with that in mind I set about reading the book first.

It is the 'standard' dummies format with Tips, reminders and warnings to highlight those daft errors that can take ages to track down if you're not looking for the simple things like the difference between ( and {.

Never having wrestled with linux for more than a few characters the books easy style, although sometimes a bit too dummy for me, did explain plenty of the ways in which to program the Pi and seeing this I ditched the cautious 'read the book first' and whipped out the Pi and connected it up. In the time it took to read 3 chapter I was up and running :o)

Now I was quite happy to bounce around the chapters, not really worrying about photo editing I skipped straight to the the networked media section (Ch9). Again in the time it took to read a few pages I was watching movies from my home server.

Honestly I've skipped through the Scratch programming section as that is a whole other world I don't really want to dive into yet. But I've started looking at the later 'projects' chapters with profound interest and will be diving into those soon.

Overall a very well written book, that eases you through your Raspberry Pi life with confidence and allows you to explore the possibilities of this tiny computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to the Pi, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The "Dummies" formula may seem a bit tired and overly American these days, but these two Brits have produced probably the best introduction to the amazing Raspberry Pi to date.
Starting with the reasonable assumption that we have all come from a Windows or MacOS background and can find our way around the Internet and email, McManus and Cook lead us by the hand through the strange world of Linux (what, no C:/ drive?) and onwards to the sunny uplands of simple programming (keep breathing deeply), and even into the rarefied atmosphere of soldering things together to make Stuff that Works!
Don't be alarmed. These guys take the learning curve very gently, even suggesting bits you can miss out if its not of interest. Keeping to the original philosophy of the Pi, readers are encouraged to mess around with the software with only the most basic of cautions (careful how you use the rm [remove] command!) and their enthusiasm for this great little machine leaps off the page. There are sections on building a web page, playing music, making your own arcade games and even a section on using a soldering iron if you want to get really hands-on (and why not!)
The only downside to the book is a fairly limited section on Troubleshooting, but there is a huge amount of help and advice online (assuming you can get online . . . )
Books about the Pi are everywhere, some are good, some are very specialised and some are awful. This is the one to get if you are staring at that little green board thinking "OK, so what do I do with this?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very comprehensive and easy to follow. Covers all the necessary aspects for use both comprehensively and very clearly. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My core reference guide for the Raspberry Pi, 10 Jun 2013
I am still diving in and our of this all encompassing guide switching constantly between the application, coding and hardware sections.
There is a lot of information in this 'dummies' guide that is NOT for dummies yet is for people who want to get the most from their Raspberry Pi quickly. It is for beginners to those of us who know yet want to learn [even] more.

What it [could be/is] great for would be for discovering the full breadth of electronics (Soldering to Circuits), operating systems (Linux) and programming (Scratch and Python). Through all three being able to understand all the parts of modern electronics and programming.

The writing I found to be clear and easy to follow. Liked the level of detail with tips, illustrations and screen shots keeping up with my scanning.

The sections on programming included clear introductions to Linux, Scratch and Python.
The programs for many of the projects are available to download from the referenced website.

The portion written by Mile Cook (Arduino + RPi forums) provided me with renewed enthusiasm for building some electronic "add-ons" for the Pi to control stuff about the house. Still reading and trying out new projects and so far they have been well explained, with easy to follow instructions.
Good touch on finding/buying parts and building the hardware.

The trouble shooting section and excellent index allows the user to quickly find answers to problems.

Of my two RPi manuals and Google/Rpi forum this is my first port of call and the easiest to use.
As others have said "If you need a Pi manual - get this one".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this to go with my Raspberry PI, and it has become an invaluable asset whenever I am stuck the dummies book is out with an answer fantastic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
There's something for everyone in here. It covers everything from getting your Pi out of the box and plugging it in to building your own hardware to interface with the outside world. It's well written so you should have no issue just working through it cover to cover. Experienced users should be able to skip to the sections that interest them. Highly recommended for anyone that's just bought their first Pi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a dummy I find this book very usefull, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book for beginners and those of us who think they know.
Well organized into areas of use and easy to find your way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As you would expect from dummies, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Basic start up to projects and ideas for future, includes software and basic electronics build an good beginners guide to raspberry pi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful guide for the Raspberry Pi!, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second "for Dummies" book I have purchased in the last two years and both contained a surprising amount of information which would be useful for both beginners and more experienced users.

"Raspberry Pi for Dummies" is divided into six parts covering a variety of topics including initial set-up of the Pi, installing an Operating System, using Linux, Programming with both Scratch and Python, coverage of circuits and interfacing the Pi to hardware.
I specifically purchased my Raspberry Pi to set it up as a Media Centre/Server and this book contents a very detailed chapter on doing this.

Much of the content of the book could most probably be found somewhere on the Internet but it is nice to have it all in one place. I would certainly recommend this book to the beginner and it even turned out to be a very useful resource for someone like me who has been working with computers for a number of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa64fad2c)

This product

Raspberry Pi For Dummies
5.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews