Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An edition to be treasured -- exquisite!
A large, hardback edition of this classic story, Cooper Evans' "Peter Pan" includes the most exquisite, original illustrations, in marvellous Deco/nouveau styles. These illustrations are a selection of contemporary ones, from the original stage production flyers, to the early, classic editions of the story itself in 1911.
The book itself is a treasurable edition,...
Published on 14 April 2003 by tobe

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware - this book is not as it seems !!!
I did not realise that this book is a special edition when I ordered it . It is printed sideways, but not back to front which makes it very difficult to read . Because of the cover I assumed it was normal . !!!!!
Published 15 months ago by w e harrison


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An edition to be treasured -- exquisite!, 14 April 2003
By 
tobe (Slough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A large, hardback edition of this classic story, Cooper Evans' "Peter Pan" includes the most exquisite, original illustrations, in marvellous Deco/nouveau styles. These illustrations are a selection of contemporary ones, from the original stage production flyers, to the early, classic editions of the story itself in 1911.
The book itself is a treasurable edition, itself well-produced and glossy.
In addition, the text faithfully reproduces the author's first-edition grammar, story and spellings, and splits it into the original chapters.
This books is perfect for someone who wants to give this wonderful title as a gift, to recapture the magic and avoid Disney-style illustrations. It's not a book for toddlers, however, as the story is too complex & wordy, and the book too pretty for jam fingers. Children from around 5 or 6 years of age will appreciate it, right through to adults.
One thing that this republishing of original text highlights is just how witty and sharp the writing is, and what sophisticated stories we used to share with our children.
(If you do buy it, have a look at the fabulous, glamorous, Diva-esque depiction of Tinkerbell on page 32!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escapism at it's BEST!!, 8 Jan 2004
By A Customer
J.M.Barrie creates a vivid world, that is appealing to anyone with a love of adventure. His playful use of language and charming wit transport you to the most fantastical fantasy world ever; Neverland, complete with Indians, mermaids and pirates. Contrasting with the real world of the Darlings, bound with the issues of society and reputation, and a belief that all children must grow up. Fans of the new peter pan movie will be further pleased with eight wonderful colour pages of photographs.
This enchanting book is sure to captivate any reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what i wanted... and even more ., 10 Oct 2000
By A Customer
I always new that there are many versions to "PETER PAN " I also new that a lot of this This versions are not exactly as the original story by JM BARRIE some of them are short, some of them are pop out books , some of them are for little kids , (some of them are Disney ) exe... I also new that some of them contains wonderful illustrations inside...and some are not .
When I attended to the amazon.co.uk I was asking for PETER PAN In the original version of JM BARRIE with magical illustrations inside . I had got exactly what I wanted...and even more ..
In this book you will find the version of peter pan as it was published in 1911. You can see here the original story of the boy who never grew up with very exiting descriptions and full of imagination by JM BARRIE .
And this story is full of illustrations that where taken from a lot of early editions of PETER PAN . from the beginning of the 20 century and they are not gust magical . They are full of life . it looks like they are going to move every minute and come real. And they are all deferent . you can see there illustrations of MABEL LUCIE ATWEL ,ALICE WOODWARD , FD BADFORD and some of the illustrations were made by unknown artist .
This book is very special to me and it is a grate pleasure reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last the full story - again!, 28 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Pan (Hardcover)
For those who have never read J. M. Barrie's long, quirky & involved story of a boy who can fly, loses his shadow & talks with fairies & the girl who befriends him & learns to fly too. It's all there & I was surprised at how long it is. It could take a month of daily reading to your children to finish it!
This complete & unabridged original tale of Neverland(no, it was not ever Never Never Land!) is rich in Victorian/Edwardian England's sense of humor & propriety; of starched strangers getting to know each other across social barriers; of precious parents torn with guilt & passionate dogs bereft of duty. Of cocky young boys & mean-spirited pirates; of exotic redskins & luring mermaids & that dreadful ticking crocodile! Certainly not for the politically correct!
It is also rich in an entirely new way for Raquel Jaramillo has set Barrie's story to photographs in an immediate, fantastically textured, dreamy & magical way. This illustrator has refreshed the images to this oft-abbreviated story & revived its delightful & scary philosophies.
Psychology & political correctness aside, Raquel Jaramillo has done well with this master storyteller's greatest tale. Adults & children alike will be able to identify with the whole cast & once again become immersed in the magic.
"Second to the right & then straight on until morning..." how many nights did I slip into sleep, murmuring that phrase & dreaming I was on my way to Neverland where the Lost Boys made their homes(after all, girls were much too clever ever to fall out of their prams & get lost!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware - this book is not as it seems !!!, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Pan (Paperback)
I did not realise that this book is a special edition when I ordered it . It is printed sideways, but not back to front which makes it very difficult to read . Because of the cover I assumed it was normal . !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALL CHILDREN, EXCEPT ONE, GROW UP!, 25 Jan 2005
The story of Peter Pan, the boy who would not grow up, has been vivid in people's minds for many years. In fact, when JM Barrie wrote the story as a stageplay in 1904, I doubt he could have known or even dreamed of the success his character would eventually achieve.
Musicals, musicals, dramatisations (animated as well as real ones) have been made but still the world can't get enough of Peter Pan. Is it because he can fly? Because he stays a little boy forever? It's a tempting thought, yes, but this book shows very well the good as well as the bad sides of eternal youth.
It's true that this is no happy, merry little fairy tale. Of course, bad things happen and villains do have to be sinister and scary! Otherwise children would just laugh at them and that can't be the point. So, Peter Pan may be a little dark at times but, honestly, I think the Grimm Brothers' fairy tales are much scarier and more cruel than this simple story.
The reasons this book is for everyone is that, as a child, you mostly see the adventure and the fight of good against evil, whereas as an adult, you can see the pitiable creature that is Peter Pan. If it's only to think "Well, being grown-up isn't that bad" - read this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A literary masterpiece everybody should read at least once, 1 Feb 1999
By A Customer
A beautifully written book from start to finish. A very charming story that, although is fundamentally a children's book, has something to offer to all age groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most engaging text and the most beautiful illustrations., 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
First of all I would want to move the reading age to much further than 12 years old. This text can be read by a sophisticated adult as well as the child and even then there is a chance that the full meaning might not be grasped. What really puzzles one is the enormous talent of a single person ( J.M. Barrie) to bring to life a fairy tale proper, especially when one is aware that most of other popular fairy tales took long journeys of transformation and crossing of the borders in order to become the universal tales. Who is Peter Pan, the eternal boy, 'the youth, the joy'; p u e r aeternus without the s e n e x at his side? Hook is rejoicing that Peter has not got a slightiest idea who he is but is also desparate because that means a "good form" something that Hook can never achieve precisely because he is constantly aware that the "good form" is what he wants. It is worthy mentioning, we're not dealing here with a personality of a single boy but a psychological phenomenon which can be found in both sexes and all ages.
Thus, Mrs. Darling thought she saw Peter Pan in faces of women who do not have children, and sometimes even on the faces of those who did...not to speak of constantly seeing him when she was 'tidying up her children's minds' etc. In short, 'he was very like Mrs. Darling's kiss'... Story worthy discovering and re-discovering from the literary as well as psychological perspective, no doubt.
The illustrations of Scott Gustafson make the book even more precious posession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't read the description properly, 7 May 2014
By 
Charlie (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Pan (Paperback)
I didn't read that this book was a bed book (all printed landscape so can be read laying down). The front and back cover are very flimsy. My friend still liked it as a present though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful - This is not the book reviewed by other people!!!, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Pan (Paperback)
Peter Pan itself is of course wonderful. But this particular edition is the worst layout I have ever seen. I can't read it, but it will be more money wasted on postage to send it back.

The book is flimsy, the story is written SIDEWAYS on the page. Yes that's right! Example if you open the first page, page 1 is on the right, page 2 is on the left, and you have to turn the book sideways to read it. Never seen anything like it in my life!

Don't buy it. Its cheap, but it will be a waste of a few quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Pan
Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie
Only search this product's reviews