Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent budget introduction to Mike Oldfield
Moonlight Shadow - The Collection is a decent, no frills, budget compiliation of Mike's Virgin career (1973 - 1990) and also includes a few tracks from his most recent albums recorded for Mercury (2005 - 2007).

If you've got Two Sides which was last years best of, compiled by Oldfield himself, then some of the excerpts from his longer works, such as Tubular...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another compilation!
Yet another Mike Oldfield compilation. The CD comes with a booklet, but it really is time that Universal employed someone who has passed a GCSE in English - I have yet to see one of their booklets free from basic spelling and grammatical errors. This one contains a strange mixture of UK and American English spellings, an overuse of commas and underuse of apostrophes...
Published 14 months ago by S. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent budget introduction to Mike Oldfield, 18 May 2013
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight Shadow: The Collection (Audio CD)
Moonlight Shadow - The Collection is a decent, no frills, budget compiliation of Mike's Virgin career (1973 - 1990) and also includes a few tracks from his most recent albums recorded for Mercury (2005 - 2007).

If you've got Two Sides which was last years best of, compiled by Oldfield himself, then some of the excerpts from his longer works, such as Tubular Bells and Amarok (Part 1), will be familiar as they're the same edits used on that release. Sadly, the excerpt from the end of side one of Ommadawn on this compilation only runs to 3:41, whilst the Two Sides excerpt lasts for 6:48. So the shorter Ommadawn fades out long before the climax, which means that you get the build up, but not the pay-off. It would have been better, in my opinion, to drop one of the other tracks, and have the full 6:48 excerpt.

Elsewhere, you have familiar tracks from other Oldfield compilations - such as In Dulce Jubilo, Guilty, Blue Peter and Moonlight Shadow. And although Moonlight Shadow gives its name to the album, it's the only example of Oldfield's songwriting here - a pity as it would have been nice to include a few others - such as Five Miles Out, To France or Heaven's Open, for example.

No complaints with the inclusion of the likes of First Excursion, Sheba and Mount Teidi which are some of his best short instrumentals. There are some other tracks omitted which would have been just as good, Taurus 3 from the album Crisis, for example, but with only a single CD to play with, there's obviously not room to include everything that deserves to be on there.

So whilst Moonlight Shadow is far from the full story, with more comprehensive compilations around, the fact that the CD is currently around 3.00 means this is an inexpensive way to get an overview of a good section of Oldfield's output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice compilation, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight Shadow: The Collection (Audio CD)
Well, it makes me calm in my car, when stuck in traffic. A really nice piece of music. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for myself, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight Shadow: The Collection (Audio CD)
this is something everyone should have in their music library. Oldfield Is a wizard with all instruments and this cd is as good as they get
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight Shadow: The Collection (Audio CD)
This is a very good CD for all Mike Oldfield fans - it is a very good selection for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight Shadow: The Collection (Audio CD)
I bought a vinyl copy of this when it first came out but have lost it somewhere.
Great to have a CD now. Able to play it on the move now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great driving music......mellow tracks too., 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight Shadow: The Collection (Audio CD)
I think you automatically skip to the tracks you know like Moonlight shaDOW OR
Guilty but the others are all growing on me......a great trip down memory lane...
coinciding nicely with the amazing prog last week showing Mike performing Tubular
Bells live (mid oct posting).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch work, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight Shadow: The Collection (Audio CD)
An excellent sampling of Mike Oldfield's work. I can't listen to it too many times. He's one of the few artists that I try to grab everything he's done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight Shadow: The Collection (Audio CD)
I have wanted to find Moonlight Shadow for some time as I think this particular song is beautiful although sad but my friend used to have it on an LP many years ago so when I saw it I just had to have it and was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A condensed Oldfield collection, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight Shadow: The Collection (Audio CD)
A good overview of Mike Oldfield's work on one album without listening to the whole collective. I enjoyed listening to some of his earlier music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moonlight Shadow: The Collection, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonlight Shadow: The Collection (Audio CD)
Having been and Oldfield fan from the first release of Tubular Bells, I enjoyed this collection of re mastered tunes.

Yes I have them on other albums but its nice to hear the changes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moonlight Shadow: The Collection
Moonlight Shadow: The Collection by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews