Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible
I can honestly say nothing has captivated me so quickly as this film,within a few minutes I was hooked and couldn't take my eyes off the screen.There is next to no dialogue,the story is all told visually,and it tells it with style and breathtaking flair.All of the acts are amazing,and almost all seem to defy gravity,from the Wheel of Death,which has to be seen to be...
Published 18 months ago by The Neon Weasel

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misses the essence
Shows what they can do, but it is made for TV - it lacks the vital essence of the performance.
Published 8 months ago by John


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 15 Mar 2013
By 
The Neon Weasel (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I can honestly say nothing has captivated me so quickly as this film,within a few minutes I was hooked and couldn't take my eyes off the screen.There is next to no dialogue,the story is all told visually,and it tells it with style and breathtaking flair.All of the acts are amazing,and almost all seem to defy gravity,from the Wheel of Death,which has to be seen to be believed.To the silk acrobatics,which are an aerial ballet,and are graceful,beautiful and mesmerizing in equal measure.

If,like me,you have never seen the Cirque du Soleli,this film gives you the best possible seat in the house.The clever camera angles and slow motion ensures that you don't miss a thing,even so some sequences need to be watched more than once just to take everything in.These performers really are the best there is at what they do,and what they do is out of this world.The musical accompaniment creates drama and,in some places,an ethereal charm that suits the visuals perfectly.Personally I cant fault this film,its everything I could want,and more besides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning in every way, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There have been many mixed reviews about this production. If you are looking for a movie with a strong storyline or tense drama then this might not be for you. However, if you want to see human creativity and skill at its best then you will, as we did, enjoy this superbly produced piece of work.

The 3D is really good in my opinion - it's not all whizz-bang over-the-top effects, just 3D used in a sensible way that adds enormously to the visual enjoyment of the movie. The picture quality, lighting and colours are frankly STUNNING! Each scene and dance has been so masterfully presented, it really is awesome. The music too is crafted and produced to perfection. As for the costumes... well they almost defy description and the creative and artistic minds that put them together certainly didn't skimp. Wow! - if I was to sum up the whole thing then "wow!" would be it!

If you had told me that I would want to sit through a movie length feature where there's hardly a word spoken, and the whole thing consists of dancers and acrobats whizzing around the stage sets for the entire duration, then I would have probably said, "no way thanks!" — but this production of Cirque du Soleil is a masterpiece in my humble opinion. It is also the kind of movie I could watch several times, just to relive and soak up the beauty of it all.

Gets a ten out of ten from me. I really can't see how you could present this type of entertainment any better. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular circus acts, 20 Dec 2013
Cirque du Soleil is a Canadian company based in Montreal, Quebec. The French name means Circus of the Sun. One unique feature of Cirque du Soleil is the absence of any animal. That's the way I like it. This film is essentially a showcase of the circus art of Cirque. It includes seven shows that were running in Las Vegas in 2011. They are spectacular. Like all of Cirque's performance, they are character and story-driven.

*Spoiler Alert. The following review may contain spoilers.*

The plot is simple. A young woman (Erica Linz) visits a circus where a clown hands her a flyer on the show's star attraction - a handsome aerialist (Igor Zaripov). During his flying act, he slips and falls into the sandpit below. She jumps onto the sand trying to help and, together, they fall through the sand into a surreal world dotted with circus tents. They are finally re-united after Erica visits many tents and witnesses many circus acts. The film ends with a duet of the two aerialists performing a courtship dance in air.

*End of possible spoilers*

I watched the 2-D version on Amazon Prime. A 3-D version on BD is available to viewers with the proper hardware. Don't miss out on this very entertaining film on the world-famous circus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cirque du Soleil - Worlds Away in 3D, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. P. J. C. Ankers "Pete Ankers" (S.Yorks, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never having had the opportunity to see them live (as well as being prohibitively expensive to take the family there) but often wondered what they were like.....this gives you as broad a picture of their outfit and what they do as anyone but wealthy diehard fans will ever see. It covers excerts from a host of different shows including some of their permanent residencies in Las Vegas - one of which is performed over water where the costumes alone cost £30 million and the stage set a further £130 million!! Some of the performances have quite a dark almost nightmarish feel about them, one or two are quite erotic (though done very tastefully and fully costumed), but all are visually gripping and entertaining - there are some incredibly talented and creative individuals working for them. Each act is cleverly spliced together, and the whole bound by a non verbal story line featuring a female who falls for a high wire male who perform an arial ballet towards the end that is both beautiful and breathtaking. Recomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Magic, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfection is the only word that I would use to describe this blu ray. I, like a great number of other people, have never had the opportunity to see this troupe live, so it is great to watch it on blu ray. The whole story from beginning to end is captivating and yes I did have a tear in my eye. If you have never seen any dvd by this group, then, buy the blu ray, turn on the surround sound and immerse yourself in a world of utter disbelief and be amazed at what the human body is capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 3D experience, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cirque Du Soleil - Mondi Lontani (3D) (Blu-Ray+Blu-Ray 3D) (Blu-ray)
Cique Du Solei - Mondi Lontani is a great 3D experience. This could be a great demo disc for anyone who is interested todays 3D technology. Also, the content is also entertaining and it is hard to get bored with Cirque Du Solei.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite the best Cirque du Soleil video, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Head and shoulders above the rest. There are sections of various shows here all intelligently tied together by a real film producer.
A professional production with lots of content giving excellent value.
This is also a disc to show off your 3D system to best advantage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 27 Mar 2014
By 
A. Travis "Nick" (Peniscola, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's hard to imagine how such a talented team can put this together. I've been to 2 live Cirque de Soleil performances which were stunning. An absolute feast for the eyes and ears. However add the creative genius of James Cameron and the whole effect is in some cases breathtaking. Different camera angles intensify the experience.
Whether you're a fan of Cirque or a first timer, I would definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... demo your new 3D TV - this is as good as it gets, 24 Aug 2014
By 
Mike (Irvine, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you wand something to demo your new 3D TV - this is as good as it gets !

It's a compilation of several "Cirque du Soleil" shows, and shows these amazing performers at their very best - fantastic !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good on new HD TV, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Keith R. Bruce (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First 3D DVD for me on new TV.
I was not expecting it to be so good compared with cinema, but everyone who has seen it was very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cirque Du Soleil - Mondi Lontani (3D) (Blu-Ray+Blu-Ray 3D)
£9.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews