Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic German TV Show! From 1971
Not many Cliff Richard TV Shows survived the early 1970s by the BBC in the UK. However Cliff did a number of TV specials around Europe. This imported DVD from Germany is a TV special, Cliff recorded in September 1970 for a German TV Channel called SFB and was first Aired on 15 March 1971. The TV program was for Germany only and hence some German Language over dubbed on...
Published 20 months ago by Luke73

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD]
I was disappointed that all the `chat` was in German, with no English subtitles. There did not seem to be as many songs as there usually are on other Cliff Richrd DVD`s I have bought.
Published 15 months ago by Ruth Jopling


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic German TV Show! From 1971, 11 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
Not many Cliff Richard TV Shows survived the early 1970s by the BBC in the UK. However Cliff did a number of TV specials around Europe. This imported DVD from Germany is a TV special, Cliff recorded in September 1970 for a German TV Channel called SFB and was first Aired on 15 March 1971. The TV program was for Germany only and hence some German Language over dubbed on some of Cliff Richard's Interviews/intros to songs, which was made this way for the TV special which must be appreciated when this DVD is viewed outside Germany. I think for many Cliff fans, this is the first time they will see this TV show, though clips have been widely available on youtube for a while and snippets on various Cliff Richard TV documentaries in the UK.

The song list:
1 Tracy-Sugar Sugar (Medley)
2 It's All In The Game
3 The Day I Met Marie
4 Interview/Montage in Berlin
5 I Saw The Light
6 Travellin' Light (Guitar Solo)
7 Montage/TV Clip of Cliff/Shadows Singing Move It from 1965)
8 Rock N Roll Medley: The Girl Can't Help It/Great Balls Of Fire/Lucille/Jailhouse Rock/Good Old Rock n' Roll/Do You Want To Dance
9 The Lady Came From Baltimore (Guitar Solo)
10 When I'm 64
11 Words (Brilliant Bee Gees cover version!)
12 Congratulations

This is a fantastic TV Special where Cliff sings full length performances for each song intersperse with Cliff around Berlin. There are dynamic camera shots/rehearsal scenes. Cliff's vocals are richly in fine form.

The DVD: Despite Amazon stating a Widescreen version, thankfully the DVD is the original 4:3 as originally broadcasted on German TV. The picture quality is taken direct from the TV Master/vault and is fantastic broadcast quality! with original TV mono sound. There are chapter points to the program but not to the song list. Running time is 43 mins. It has a picture disc.

The DVD cover is interesting as a 1980 photo of Cliff is used for the picture cover rather than one from 1970/1971. Also the cover is reversible: one with German language and the other in English.

Overall this is a welcome DVD release of extremely rare TV footage of Cliff Richard. It would be nice if others like 'Getaway With Cliff' (1971) & 'The Case' (1972) can be release in this way.

I purchased this DVD from Amazon from pre-order and it arrived today. For a low budget price this DVD was worth it.

I think a lot of Cliff Richard fans will love this DVD. Just FAB!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD], 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
I was disappointed that all the `chat` was in German, with no English subtitles. There did not seem to be as many songs as there usually are on other Cliff Richrd DVD`s I have bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Talk!, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
The clue is in the title, "Live in Berlin" so most of the dialogue (even Cliff's) is overdubbed in German. It's not a long dvd either so if you're used to Cliff's 2 hour concerts be prepared to be disappointed. There are better dvds out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :), 11 Dec. 2013
By 
Elaine (Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
even though this is an older one, I love it. I often play this one too...he has lots of fun with some of the songs, and the backstage scenes are cool too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cliff, live in berlin, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
Really good video, some happy memories of cliff. watched the video over and over, cliff in his swimming trunks. heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cliff fan, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
very usual shots round Germany and lovely views with cliff talking very good dvd recommend to cliff fans around the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not to be missed, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
sound quality good nice to see the germans loving our cliff good concert especially all in the game the early years were his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my cliff dvd, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
I am very very pleased with my dad. I have been playing it lots with no complaints at all. It came all the way to Australia . I have no hesitation in recommending this company to all my friends. Really recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catch up on the concert you missed up till now, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
If you collect Cliff's music and concerts you will enjoy adding this to your collection. Takes you back a bit , but it is nice to look
back at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to view and hear this, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
P E Simms "Paula Simms" (New Forest, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD works so well and shows how truly well the concert began and ended. This has a 5* rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cliff Richard - Live In Berlin [DVD]
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews