Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars37
4.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2013
This is just an outstanding show. Whilst it takes a little while to find its feet (the first series is a little uneven), once it hits season 2 it seriously hits its stride. The joy of the show is that it manages to be just about the funniest thing on television without having to delve into cynicism or mean-spirited fun-poking, whilst maintaining all the while a central cast of likeable characters who are each given their own space to develop.

Also, it doesn't hurt that one of the themes of the show (a committed public servant fighting to maintain the public services she so cherishes in the face of budget cuts and bureaucracy) resonates so closely with the situation on both sides of the Atlantic in the wake of the recession.

All in all it is easy to see why this show has developed a cult following in the US and, to a lesser extent, here in the UK and all credit to the BBC for bringing it to our screens.

A must see.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I can't rate this show highly enough, I have been totally hooked since the first episode. I know many people don't have such kind words to say about season one, but truly it had me hooked - you need a few episodes to get to know the characters to truly appreciate it. I can watch it again and again and I'm still in stitches!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Once again those damn yankees show us how to do it (with the exception of course of Father Ted i.e. the funniest programme ever). Very funny with a great collection of characters with particular reference to April and Ron Swanson who is one of the funniest characters seen in a long time.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
This set contains the 6 episodes of Season One, and the 24 episodes of Season Two and, whilst Season 1 starts off a little unsteady, by the end of it you start to see it's brilliance, and by the start of Season Two the show becomes the best US sitcom there is.

It's an incredible show with an incredible cast and one of the funniest things I have ever seen, just stick with it to the end of the first season because Seasons 2, 3, 4, 5 are all amazing! You wont regret it!
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
I ordered series' one and two after seeing a couple of episodes of 'Parks & Recreation' on 'Dave' TV. Whoever wrote this series has observed the separate, institutionalised, world inhabited by local authority staff well, seeing them as being collectively odd like I always have. They would appear to be as peculiar in the U.S as their counterparts are in Britain for such a comedy to be made. I find the situations in this series making me laugh continually, the way all these diverse individuals are forced to interrelate in the workplace, having to adopt common goals and interests that none of them are even remotely bothered about. Very funny, especially when a character tries to elicit empathy from the viewer when it is thought necessary, documentary style, to explain themself. Nothing substantial ever gets achieved and everyone carries on being employed to achieve nothing substantial, just like in your local Council offices. It is not what you'd expect from U.S comedy programmes, most of which have had humour suppression surgery in order to crack safe, lame, self-censorial, jokes. This has more of a British style of wackiness. I have a lot of catching up to do if I decide on getting all the series'. Still, it'll be good for a laugh.

Eamonn
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
I caught the last few episodes of season 2 on the BBC and I was hooked, so we bought this and it's realyl funny watchable tv. If you like 30 rock of anything Saturday Night Live-esque give this a try! Just ordered the third season!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
Very funny, gets better with series two so persevere. Some great episodes and the characters are brilliant. Ron should run for president, he would get elected!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
I would highly recommend watching this TV series. It's smart and funny and all the characters are great. It's very easy and fun to watch, I always find myself watching 3 or 4 episodes at a time! The comedic timing is brilliant and the show is obviously very well written by some very funny people.

It starts off a bit slow but by season two it starts to get really good.

Warning: there are only 5 episodes in season one, in case you were expecting more (which I was)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Very funny, light hearted and original comedy. Love all the characters and would highly recommend all seasons as excellent viewing.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Goods arrived fast and were as promised
Son-in-law thrilled with gift
Good range of products - will certainly use again
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse