Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smash Season 2 DVD
What can I say except I love it, I love it, I love it. Such a great series with amazing characters and fantastic songs. Devastated that it's all finished. I miss it sooo much..........
Published 5 months ago by Mrs Attracta Stewart

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the Smash of season 1
Pros - great songs, talented cast, fun rivalry between the two musicals, more contemporary.

Cons - seems to aim at a younger audience than season one, loss of some of the spectacle.

The second season of Smash sees the continued attempts to bring the Marilyn Monroe musical to the bright lights of Broadway. New cast members and a rival musical that...
Published 13 months ago by Jakeisthecoolest


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the Smash of season 1, 22 Aug 2013
This review is from: Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Pros - great songs, talented cast, fun rivalry between the two musicals, more contemporary.

Cons - seems to aim at a younger audience than season one, loss of some of the spectacle.

The second season of Smash sees the continued attempts to bring the Marilyn Monroe musical to the bright lights of Broadway. New cast members and a rival musical that divides the cast gives the show an additional edge that expands well on the previous season.
Great songs continue to litter the show with a nice mix of powerful emotion and foot stomping energy with a definite move toward more contemporary sound, a plus or a minus depending on your point of view and preference. As with the previous season, the performances are first rate. I must admit I did find some of the plot lines a little angsty as the show strayed into Gleeish territory, and sadly some of the maturity is lost along the way, particularly the reduction in quality lines for Jack Davenport. That said it is still a great show that is eminently watchable and I look forward to a third season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smash Season 2 DVD, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
What can I say except I love it, I love it, I love it. Such a great series with amazing characters and fantastic songs. Devastated that it's all finished. I miss it sooo much..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smash is a smash !, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Every bit as good as series one... Love it...!!! A grown up Glee.. great performances - look forward to series three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more research into the show for reviewers!!!!, 8 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Im not really a fan of big budget musicals, Chicago and Moulin Rogue did nothing for me, but Smash had me hooked! People have said on here that Katherine Mcphee has a great career ahead. She was the American Idol winner a few years ago and has released a few albums!!!! Megan Hilty also as an album out and Hitlist is being turned in to musical which is being performed in December!!! Enjoy a great show on dvd and ignore the ill informed haters. Steve Speilberg couldn't save it and I bet he wasn't happy with the network one bit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no cd of the "hit list"songs???, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Sorry but i loved the 2nd series of smash as much as the first if not more,
the songs for "hit list" are brilliant but why can't we access them in the
UK, just love "Reach for Me". Come on lets have a Hit List CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wanted to love it..., 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The wheels fell off Smash in its second season. Too many new characters written into the show; too many repetitive plot devices; some really silly, meaningless cameos (Sean Hayes particularly grates, although his one big number is fabulous). But my biggest complaint against the show is that the core cast simply didn't have enough to do. Jack Davenport's Derek goes from likably grouchy to tediously bad tempered; Debra Messing's Julia (outstanding in Season 1) has a few great scenes early on, and again towards the end, but the writers seemed to forget about her in the middle episodes. Katherine McPhee has a lot to do, but certainly can't prop up a show on her own.

Thankfully, the show is redeemed by a few absolutely outstanding numbers - my personal highlight being Megan Hilty's belter "They Just Keep Moving The Line". Hilty is a breathtaking talent, and despite the cancellation of the show, there's little doubt we'll be hearing a lot more from her. Hope so anyway. Smash 2 isn't all bad. It's just not very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Fun follow-up to the first series. I very much enjoyed this and am sorry there's currently no more in the pipeline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not good!, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Dreadful! Could not watch the whole series, I had to give up half way. The acting was bad and the storyline riddiculous. This was such a disappointment especially as season 1 was not bad at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The second series of Smash was good and, for once, there was a proper ending not another cliff hanger. This was purchased as a present and was well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CURTAINS CLOSE, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is the best show on TV when it first aired in Sky Living, even though I've already seen all of the episodes way before it aired in the U.K

Now that I have Season 1 & 2 on DVD, there be no one stopping me from watching this masterpiece over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013]
Smash - Season 2 [DVD] [2013] by Debra Messing (DVD - 2013)
£11.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews