Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect solution to a common problem
As with many TV's my new Samsung has only an optical audio out and my HiFi only line-in RCA. This little box sits between the TV and the HiFi and converts the TV's optical out to analogue audio. Sound quality is as good as the source allows; anything from Blu-Ray or DVD sounds brilliant, so does music streamed from VEVO. Without spending a fortune on a branded...
Published 20 months ago by Wally

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Does The Job - but - Shop Around!!!!
Would like to point out first of all that the image of the product displayed is NOT exactly the item I received, reasonably accurate otherwise, except that I DID NOT get the one with the SPDIF/COAX switch on the side of the unit, everything else was laid out similarly though. In my opinion that is a very big thing seeing as there were alot more other branded ones, far...
Published 4 months ago by Demented RedFox


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect solution to a common problem, 13 Jun. 2013
By 
Wally (birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINPOON Optical SPDIF Toslink Coaxial Digital to RCA L/R Analog Audio Converter 192kHz/24bit DAC with 3.5mm Jack Supports Simultaneous Headphone with Speaker Outputs - UK Plug (Electronics)
As with many TV's my new Samsung has only an optical audio out and my HiFi only line-in RCA. This little box sits between the TV and the HiFi and converts the TV's optical out to analogue audio. Sound quality is as good as the source allows; anything from Blu-Ray or DVD sounds brilliant, so does music streamed from VEVO. Without spending a fortune on a branded separates-sized DAC i cannot see a better and more cost effective solution. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At this price point, superb bang for buck..., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINPOON Optical SPDIF Toslink Coaxial Digital to RCA L/R Analog Audio Converter 192kHz/24bit DAC with 3.5mm Jack Supports Simultaneous Headphone with Speaker Outputs - UK Plug (Electronics)
The WINPOON (WIN(G)POON?) counts as an upgrade :-).

I had been using a KanaaN Digital to Analogue Audio Converter 2nd Generation - SPDIF/ Toslink to R/L Audio Converter - Digital (Toslink/Coaxial) to Analogue (Cinch) and 3.5 mm Jack Converter - Audio Converter DAC but, for me, the sound was just a bit too "soft" so I decided to try the WINGPOON instead.

I struck lucky. The sound (connected via RCA interconnects) is definitely more controlled and firmer than the KanaaN. Trebles are clearer without being overly bright and the bottom end is less flabby plus it has decent presence. However, through the 3.5mm jack, the bass is definitely lacking so if you're buying this for headphone use, this may be a factor to bear in mind - bottom end is fine via RCA connectivity to an amp+speakers or an amp with its own headphone socket. So far, I haven't experienced any background noise or interference.

It may or may not be of interest that the KanaaN and now the WINGPOON have seen off two "proper" DACs - a Beresford Bushmaster Mk II ("almost but not quite") and the thoroughly disappointing Musical Fidelity V90 DAC. I have two optical sources: a Cocktail Audio X10 with 1 TB HDD and a TV. Both the Bushmaster and the V90 have two optical inputs and, as advertised, the WINGPOON only has one. However, the combined cost of two WINGPOONs is only one fifth of the cost of, for example, one V90. Currently, the X10 is connected to the WINGPOON and the TV is connected to a KanaaN. Each DAC is connected by the RCA outputs to its own line-in on an old Arcam amp.

For optical cables, I am using AmazonBasics Digital Optical Audio Toslink Cable 6 Feet / 1.8 m - these seem to work perfectly well. I already had a selection of RCA interconnect/phono cables from an earlier hi-fi set up but if a pointer is helpful, you could do far worse than the Profigold BA-PGA4201 - Audio Lead 2RCA To 2RCA - 1.0m.

Included with the WINGPOON package is the DAC itself (the white box pictured) + a mains power supply unit and a small booklet that is, frankly, somewhat rudimentary. The WINGPOON can definitely be powered by USB instead of mains power if that's for you. The mains plug supplied to me was UK 3-pin.

Why 4 stars and not 5? The quality of sound via the 3.5mm (headphone) jack really isn't that great and, to some, that will be a deal breaker. For info, it's possible to have simultaneous output from the RCA connectors AND the 3.5mm jack.

Hopefully, the above is helpful - happy listening.

NB: Purchased from 3C4U (fulfilled by Amazon) - prompt delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINPOON Optical SPDIF Toslink Coaxial Digital to RCA L/R Analog Audio Converter 192kHz/24bit DAC with 3.5mm Jack Supports Simultaneous Headphone with Speaker Outputs - UK Plug (Electronics)
I only have to say, it works. + it's nice it can be USB powered so it doesn't take any of my outlets either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Converts optical connection on my smart TV to audio., 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINPOON Optical SPDIF Toslink Coaxial Digital to RCA L/R Analog Audio Converter 192kHz/24bit DAC with 3.5mm Jack Supports Simultaneous Headphone with Speaker Outputs - UK Plug (Electronics)
Takes optical cable connection from my smart TV to audio and enables my audio cable to plug in and produce great sound from my existing hi-fi system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 15 May 2013
By 
M. Gharcha - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINPOON Optical SPDIF Toslink Coaxial Digital to RCA L/R Analog Audio Converter 192kHz/24bit DAC with 3.5mm Jack Supports Simultaneous Headphone with Speaker Outputs - UK Plug (Electronics)
Its does what it says on the tin, not bad for £20.
I was about about to buy a new sound system to use with my new LED TV, but this has put life into a older system which hasn't got digital in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great with an Apple TV, especially for music, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINPOON Optical SPDIF Toslink Coaxial Digital to RCA L/R Analog Audio Converter 192kHz/24bit DAC with 3.5mm Jack Supports Simultaneous Headphone with Speaker Outputs - UK Plug (Electronics)
Worked great out of the box, no hissing noise when there is no incoming signal. Very little setup: connect the cables and you're done. For streaming music it works great. When streaming video (with sound) there is a delay between audio sent through HDMI to the TV set and the audio sent through optical out -> converter -> amplifier. I've not done extensive testing and I think the delay wouldn't be annoying if you mute the TV set and just listen to the sound from the amp.

The converter is very small and light which makes it easy to place. It can be fastened with a strip of velcro to any suitable surface for a clutter free install.

It would have been even better if there was a choice of plug. It ships with UK plug, and I need a EU plug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purchased to convert optical outpt to analogue, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINPOON Optical SPDIF Toslink Coaxial Digital to RCA L/R Analog Audio Converter 192kHz/24bit DAC with 3.5mm Jack Supports Simultaneous Headphone with Speaker Outputs - UK Plug (Electronics)
Purchased this to convert my Samsung TV optical output to my Denon stereo analogue RCA input. Works well as far as I am concerned. I cannot hear any audio distortions, but then again, my ears have never been that good - :-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Optical/Digital to Analogue - a definite life saver!, 23 Jun. 2013
By 
D. Lincoln-lewis "dla HQ" (Detroitwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINPOON Optical SPDIF Toslink Coaxial Digital to RCA L/R Analog Audio Converter 192kHz/24bit DAC with 3.5mm Jack Supports Simultaneous Headphone with Speaker Outputs - UK Plug (Electronics)
Arrived handily packaged & in good time. This powered unit has saved my surround sound & is an essential purchase for those analoguers out there like myself. Definitely recommend, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did exactly as promised, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINPOON Optical SPDIF Toslink Coaxial Digital to RCA L/R Analog Audio Converter 192kHz/24bit DAC with 3.5mm Jack Supports Simultaneous Headphone with Speaker Outputs - UK Plug (Electronics)
Easy to install. Turned my AppleTV into an AirPlay station by connecting it to my HiFi. Tunes al over da house!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WINPOON Optical SPDIF Toslink Coaxial Digital to RCA L/R Analog Audio Converter 192kHz/24bit DAC with 3.5mm Jack Supports Simultaneous Headphone with Speaker Outputs - UK Plug (Electronics)
I have an old Sony AV Receiver and the new Panasonic TV I bought only had optical or HDMI out (should have checked first!). Was going to have to buy a new amp . . . but had this recommended by a friend and it worked right out of the box. My old amp has a new lease of life and I saved a packet. Had this a few months now ans so far no issues to report. Came with power adapter too (yes, it does need an external adapter).

Recommended if you need a converter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews