Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great investment, the type of beans do matter!
I have owned this for coming up to 2 years now and I am very happy with it:

Good:
- you save thousands on high street coffee. Think about it, an average of 220 working days/year in the UK and say you have two latte's daily.
- as already mentioned makes a good espresso .
- streamed milk is great skimmed or semi milk.
- fairly easy to clean,...
Published 22 months ago by Transmitlikeadataman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its going back!
Leaked from back every time i used it. Flooded the work surface each time i used it and the floor too. The drip tray also filled up each time but could not understand where the water came from as i kept a cup under it as it dripped away for ages. Made weak coffee as the filter holds much less than my 25 year old Krups espresso machine. We drink espresso and would expect...
Published 8 months ago by dolphin girl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great investment, the type of beans do matter!, 30 May 2013
This review is from: Dualit 3-in-1 Espressivo Coffee Machine, 1.5 Litre, 1250 Watt, 15 Bar, Polished Stainless Steel DCM2X (Kitchen & Home)
I have owned this for coming up to 2 years now and I am very happy with it:

Good:
- you save thousands on high street coffee. Think about it, an average of 220 working days/year in the UK and say you have two latte's daily.
- as already mentioned makes a good espresso .
- streamed milk is great skimmed or semi milk.
- fairly easy to clean, but I do so every day. Wash the basket, handle, drip tray, steamer bits and dry in rack. It doesnt take that long.

The type of beans used do matter. Espresso ground works best, but note some ground beans have these lightish bits in the ground. This comes from netting hung over the coffee plants when grown to protect them from insects. When it rains in the tropics the water dripping through coats the coffee bean in this "film". This is the lightish bits you see in the ground. Not harmful to ingest, they can block a non-pro unit like this one.

If coffee doesnt come through then stop brewing, let pressure die down for a few mins and SLOWLY open the handle, otherwise you get a pop of wet espresso everywhere. This isnt a problem with this machine, something you will find on other machines at this power / price. Best to use a bean that wasnt covered in netting. Trial and error unfortunately.

Bad points, but i can live with them:
- its seriously noisy when brewing coffee, the steamer noise is acceptable.
- parts cant be dishwashed.
- the water chamber is hard to clean and being plastic scratches easily. Then again it sits out of sight behind the machine.
- the enclosed scoop / tamper has a totally pointless tamper; its not solid and smaller than the hole. Invest in a solid metal tamper of the same size.
- the cup warming surface really doesnt so much in my opinion, unless you leave cups on there for hours, your better off fill a cup with hot water when priming the machine.
- get yourself a milk thermometer so you know when the milk is at the right temperature / consistency. They are only £5.
- every now and then you have to unscrew the underside espresso shower head. Clean monthly as the best efforts will see some coffee get on the wrong side of the filter due to pressure build up with the wrong bean type (as mentioned above). Soak in diluted vinegar it works great and means your avoid tasting the chemical solution of these other coffee cleaners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love my coffee machine, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dualit 3-in-1 Espressivo Coffee Machine, 1.5 Litre, 1250 Watt, 15 Bar, Polished Stainless Steel DCM2X (Kitchen & Home)
This is my second dualit - love the dual functionality of it - have learnt not to use such finely ground expresso and I religiously use the filters ... Last one lasted 5 years but took a lot of abuse - didn't use filters for 2 years, persevered with expresso ground coffee and didn't de-scale - lesson learnt !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement for older model!, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dualit 3-in-1 Espressivo Coffee Machine, 1.5 Litre, 1250 Watt, 15 Bar, Polished Stainless Steel DCM2X (Kitchen & Home)
Good quality, good price and I am reliably informed relatively easy to use. Looks stylish sitting in the kitchen. Service provided excellent too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dualit 3in1 coffee machine, 23 July 2013
This review is from: Dualit 3-in-1 Espressivo Coffee Machine, 1.5 Litre, 1250 Watt, 15 Bar, Polished Stainless Steel DCM2X (Kitchen & Home)
Just bought & compared to other well known makes. Plus points were; good reputation for solid reliable products; metal feel - others very "placky", price seemed fair & comparable, looked good. Experience was; ok, it's a little involved, but that's the case with any of these types of machines - accept it's not a convenience purchase, but once you get the routine then you get great coffee comparable to starbucks & costa etc.
Other points: should have bought the jug, temp gauge & extra filters (you only get 20 in a starter pack) at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its going back!, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Dualit 3-in-1 Espressivo Coffee Machine, 1.5 Litre, 1250 Watt, 15 Bar, Polished Stainless Steel DCM2X (Kitchen & Home)
Leaked from back every time i used it. Flooded the work surface each time i used it and the floor too. The drip tray also filled up each time but could not understand where the water came from as i kept a cup under it as it dripped away for ages. Made weak coffee as the filter holds much less than my 25 year old Krups espresso machine. We drink espresso and would expect it to make two in one go but no, its too weak. And not very nice tasting either. I used the same blend of coffee i have used for years and it did not taste the same. It had no body. I even mixed a fresh lot and it was not good.
Cleaning and maintenance will take up a lot of your time.
Looks good but its going to leak some time, as the water is only one O ring from a flood. I gave up after 4 attempts and am going to return it tomorrow for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargin., 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dualit 3-in-1 Espressivo Coffee Machine, 1.5 Litre, 1250 Watt, 15 Bar, Polished Stainless Steel DCM2X (Kitchen & Home)
Makes a fantastic latte, espresso etc and the steamer is fab to. Noisy as are most machines but adds to the experience!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Pass The Test Of Time, 27 Jan. 2015
By 
D. C. Parry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dualit 3-in-1 Espressivo Coffee Machine, 1.5 Litre, 1250 Watt, 15 Bar, Polished Stainless Steel DCM2X (Kitchen & Home)
Good looking machine. Made a really nice coffee to begin with and the clearence height was good as we could just about get a regular mug under it. Build quality wasn't great but it is only £145. Having said that, after 3 months the machine started to struggle to push water through the coffee and filter. i followed all the cleaning instructions provided but this didn't help, until shortly after it stopped pushing water through altogether, and it had to go back. Amazon gave a no questions asked refund. Great.
Yes it is loud and it does rattle, but if the idiots in other reviews expect smooth and quiet then they need to go and spend £9000 on a proper Barista machine.
We have since purchased the Sage machine which is miles better. More clearence height again. Better build quality and better instructions. Since buying the Sage machine I have found out (from it's instructions) that the issue with the dualit was the metal filters provided. With the dualit you get 2 dual layered filters. (1 double espresso 1 single). It turns out that this is for shop bought ground coffee. If you grind your own coffee beans through a grinder then you need a machine with single layered filters. With the Sage you get both sets. 2 double layered (double and single shot) and 2 single layered filters (double and single shot). The Sage doesn't do pods however, but I didn't use them on the Dualit anyway so was a complete waste in the end. My advice is get the Sage machine. It's an extra £200 but you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dualit coffee machine, 17 Dec. 2013
By 
DG (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dualit 3-in-1 Espressivo Coffee Machine, 1.5 Litre, 1250 Watt, 15 Bar, Polished Stainless Steel DCM2X (Kitchen & Home)
I received this as a birthday present to replace my £50 Morphy Richards coffee machine that died (to be fair it lasted 4 years).

First the bad - it is fairly noisy and you'd struggle if making more that 2 cups.

The good - Once you get into the routine of warming the cup, steaming the milk etc the coffee is superb and it's easy to keep clean. It looks the part too.

Going through way too much coffee at the moment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars first return in over 14 years membership, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dualit 3-in-1 Espressivo Coffee Machine, 1.5 Litre, 1250 Watt, 15 Bar, Polished Stainless Steel DCM2X (Kitchen & Home)
I have been buying things from Amazon from 1999 with the same account.
Sadly, this is the first time I return an item.
Even if the look of the machine is great, the quality of the material was less so and it was easy to scratch any part of it.
More importantly, the quality of the coffee was poor. I followed the instructions, primed the machine, run a cup of hot water before every coffee and the result was a brew that wasn't hot enough. Not to mention the coffee being sprayed all over in the brewing process.
I also own an old baby Gaggia (prior Philips acquisition) and that beats the Dualit in any way I am afraid. I was therefore expecting a result that was at least non inferior and I was wrong. The impression I got from the product was that it was made to cut corners, an utter disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars UNFIT FOR PURPOSE/DANGEROUS, 20 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Dualit 3-in-1 Espressivo Coffee Machine, 1.5 Litre, 1250 Watt, 15 Bar, Polished Stainless Steel DCM2X (Kitchen & Home)
Noisy, messy and not fit for purpose!
Received as a wedding present but we are sending it back.
Not only is it noisy and messy but the pump isn't sufficient to make a double shot of espresso ground coffee.
When my wife attempted to do so the machine made a lot of noise, no water came through and when she released the coffee holder, it sprayed her in the face with hot coffee granules and hotter water.
I contacted Dualit and they fobbed me off stating that they had received no complaints about this machine and only I was having problems.
I will be purchasing the Gaggia as a replacement.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews