Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of two men.....
Firstly this is an amazing film. Johan Philip Asbęk plays the role of Mikkel, the ship's cook. He is the main character on board a ship which has been captured by Somalian pirates. Soren Malling is Peter, the CEO for the shipping company thus takes on the lead role in negotiations to free the crew members.

What gives the film energy is the constant...
Published 15 months ago by godzilla78

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars my comments
Not as good as I had anticipated. I was expecting it to be more like "The Killing" That's all folks!
Published 2 months ago by Michael Walsh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat., 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent acting. Very powerful and understated. Touching and a real treat to watch due to the slow suspense and great acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new look at the crime of hi-jacking., 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film cuts between those on board suffering under the ruthlessness of the pirates and the ship owner's office attempting to negotiate in an atmosphere of growing helplessness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, convincing drama, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Having recently been impressed by Compliance it seems that 2013 is the year for realistic & understated drama, since A Hijacking is cut from a similar cloth. This Danish film brings to mind the gritty & critically acclaimed TV series from the same part of the world - indeed, director Tobias Lindholm apparently wrote several episodes of Borgen.

By contrast, Hollywood is on an entirely different continent - as can be clearly seen when comparing this film with the trailers for Tom Hanks' upcoming portrayal of Captain Phillips, who found himself in a similar situation. While Captain Phillips is based upon a true story, its lack of the Hollywood treatment makes A Hijacking ironically seem more realistic - a softly spoken lesson in how understated & maturely-handled drama can be even more exciting than the visceral thrill of an aesthetically shot gunfight.

The plot is simple - Somali pirates hijack a Danish ship & force the English-speaking cook Mikkel to negotiate his ransom with the shipping company. Feeling the pressure, Mikkel struggles to keep himself together - he may wear a vest but that's where his similarity to Bruce Willis' John McLane begins & ends. At the other end of the radio phone, the CEO of his shipping company has to negotiate for the lives of the crew. Pirates, businessmen - both are making deals where human lives & millions of dollars are on the table. Who is the more ruthless?

Having never been involved in a pirate raid myself, I of course can't guarantee with hand on heart that this film represents what really happens - but it feels very real. On the films' website, Lindholm says "I couldn't make a film about the truth of the hijackings in the Indian Ocean, because I don't believe that truth exists. But I could make a film about seamen, pirates, CEOs and relatives. Because they do exist." So there's no love interest, no wise-cracking sidekicks, no 'let's get out of here' while outrunning henchmen who can't shoot straight - merely documentary-like camerawork & refreshingly down-to-earth characters. Which feels far more respectful to the people who really have gone through such ordeals than turning their experiences into yet another action film would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tense Scandinavian Drama, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Piracy in the Red Sea has been a hot topic in the media for several years now, and this movie takes a long, serious look at the psychological and physical impact of a hijacking on two men intimately involved. The first is the cook on board the hijacked ship, the second is the CEO of the shipping company who throws himself into the role of coordinating negotiations with the highjackers. Both actors will be familiar to fans of "Borgen" (the cook played the PM's advisor, the CEO played the TV news editor). Each puts in an amazing performance in this film, as we witness the mental torture experienced by the cook (all he wants to to get back home to his wife and young daughter) and the unbearable stress suffered by the CEO of the company (who, in spite of his best efforts, becomes
emotionally involved in the human drama unfolding thousands of miles away). It would have been easy for this film to have developed as a heroes vs villains action thriller (in the Steven Segal mode). Instead, it chooses to explore the devastating human consequences of piracy on the high seas. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hijacking shown up for what it is...criminal, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Taught, tense, exciting and yet an excellent study in emotional disintegration under intense, sustained pressure.

Don't watch this for laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb production, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Lynn Braben "lynnieb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you want a night of light viewing, don't get this film, but if you want to see superb acting, fabulous directing, and a thought provoking story, then this is the film, based on real events, is for you.
Since Borgen and Forbrydelson, I have been introduced to the wonders of Scandinavian film making. While American Directors tend to go for the 'shoot first act questions never' model, the Scandi films/tv series I have seen so far, are much more character driven, and A Highjacking is a fine example of this. We are slowly drawn in, inch by inch. The viewers get to know each and every character, and all the gamut emotions they experience. At. times it was like invading someone's personal space when they are suffering the worst thing they could ever suffer. And as there are only a few different sets in the film, at times it was like a stage play.
This film took my breath away. Pilou Asbaek who was in Borgen was brilliant, as was Soren Malling, (Jan from Killing 1). And if anyone is worreied about sub-titles, then half the film is in ENglish

PSWatching the extras that came with my copy was a rewvelation, and I'd highly recommend a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant danish treat, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Missed this on its limited cinema release but this is a real Danish gem to enjoy at home [ especially as a fan of the killing and borgen as there are many familiar actors ] . Basically it shows the horror of being held captive by Somali pirates and also the way the hostage negotiation is handled and the consequences for all . Yes this is a film of slow pace and subtle pausing but if you enjoy Danish tv you will both expect and enjoy this . There is no Bruce Willis arriving to save the day with a machine gun or Tom Hanks pulling a gurn of pain , just an emotional brilliant powerful story in which the audience is treated as an intelligent adult .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
By 
Soft Daddy (Co Wexford Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good - very happy thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undecided, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Curious how with so many of the 'Film Noir' actors they keep cropping up in different roles. This seemed strange to begin with in this film as it was almost a spinoff from Borgen, though in a wholly different situation. It seems to have got rave reviews, but I found it relatively simple, uneventful, and just a means of passing away 90 minutes. I was never on the edge of my seat is what I am trying to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a Hijacking, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. P. E. Tilbury (Barnstaple, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good plot, very good actors, shows how being in a situation like that can change the way you are after being released
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Hijacking [Blu-ray]
A Hijacking [Blu-ray] by Tobias Lindholm (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews