Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars32
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 11 October 2013
This novel was much more gripping than I expected it to be. I bought it because I love a good book about the Titanic, fictional or not, it's one of those subjects that I find fascinating. I wasn't entirely sure what to expect, from the 'blurb', but be assured if it's a fast paced thriller that you're after, then this definitely falls in to the category.

The novel opens with the scene described via the back cover, a ship's crew discover something that shocks them to the core. The story that follows reveal the consequences of what they saw. It is much more than any of them could ever have imagined.

The wreck of the Titanic has become a radioactive source - but it is natural or man made? Commander Jerry Derham is sent to find out, and he enlists Kate and Lou renowned marine archaeologists to help him.

As the back cover blurb suggests, Kate and Lou were once a couple, it's clear throughout the novel that they both have feelings for each other, but these are largely ignored, which I liked, I didn't want it to turn into a sappy love story.

It doesn't.

As they set out to uncover the mystery, we are taken back to 1912, the year of the Titanic disaster, through flashbacks we are woven even deeper into the mystery. But it doesn't become confusing, only more intriguing.

I haven't read anything by Tom West or Michael White before (Tom West is a pseudonym ) but he's an author now on my radar, and I look forward to reading the next Tom West in 2014.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 28 September 2013
A story that stretches credibility too far and defies physics too much. Much the same story as Cussler's Raise the Titanic with similar plot twists. Almost gave up reading it as the plot and characters failed to hold interest. Historically weak and inclusion of real people as characters failed to convince. Pulp fiction.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 June 2013
I knew nothing about The Titanic Enigma (or its author) when I bought it, other than that it had these factors going for it - marine archaeology, oceans, the Titanic, baddies, scientific secrets, explosions. With ingredients like these, there was no choice but to download and read it as soon as it became available. I'm delighted to report that the resulting dish was a pageturning thrill of a ride that brought together two equally exciting stories, one set in the present day and the other back in April 1912 aboard the largest manmade moving object of its day which was not, despite the poster headlines suggesting the contrary, unsinkable.

Lou Bates and Kate Wetherall are marine archaeologists working in Bermuda on the wreck of a pilgrim fathers vessel from the early 1600s. Meanwhile, in a colder part of the Atlantic, a burst of something radioative and lethal is unleashed from the deep ocean floor, bursting upwards, killing all sealife in its path, including a large whale. Its point of origin is the wreck of the Titanic with all the evidence indicating that it's manmade. Captain Jerry Derham of the United States Navy therefore enlists the help of Kate and Lou to discover the source using state of the art technology. Of course, this is also a chance of a lifetime for Kate and Lou - they will be able to explore in person the most famous wreck on the planet.

As if that's not exciting enough, you have to throw into the mix a host of competing agencies from across the globe, all intent on discovering for themselves (or stealing or killing for) the radioactive material and, more importantly, the mathematical and scientific formulae that Kate and Lou are able to recover from the Titanic on their first dive. The race is on, the stakes are high and no-one's life is valued more highly than the secrets that sank to the depths of the ocean one hundred years ago aboard the Titanic.

The Titanic Enigma moves between two worlds - that of the hunt to discover (and steal) the lost secrets and that of the last days of the Titanic. In 1912 Europe was preparing for war and the scientific mystery carried aboard the vessel was a valuable prize. Tom West does a fine job of bringing life into both stories, evoking the past splendour of the Titanic (plus what it reveals about class divisions) as well as the alien awe of exploring its remains a century on. The characters have a reality to them. The mysterious gentleman and his shipmates aboard the Titanic are vividly hinted at while Kate and Lou in the present day are not superhuman. They have a lot to be frightened about and they are. Also, one aspect I particularly liked is that some of the evil deeds that happen are hinted at and not salaciously displayed before the reader in all their detail. This actually made them seem more disturbing and believable. The baddies are likewise an interesting bunch.

I thoroughly enjoyed The Titanic Enigma. It had a slow start but it quickly picked up and I raced through it. One thing, though. I would have loved to have found out more about the Pilgrim vessel off Bermuda. Clearly, Tom West has succeeded in making me want more. A much recommended holiday read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 19 September 2013
Started with great promise but seems to lose its way. Character background and relationships not explained or explored, I didn't feel attached to them. The actual Titanic element is interesting and the historical back story is good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 September 2013
Interesting take on the Titanic 'mystery'; could have happened I suppose, just be thankful that it didn't! A bit disconcerting hopping backwards and forwards in time, but it had to to explain what had happened. Very impressive new technology ideas, maybe some truth there also - time will tell. Good read, and believable storyline. Would recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
A thoroughly entertaining read if you are able to accept the scientific impossibilities throughout.
Thats not to belittle the book as without the said impossibilities the story could not be written.
Something is killing the marine wildlife around the final resting place of the titanic. A radiation source is eminating from the wreck.
The US navy investigate along with 2 marine biologists recruited.
The story becomes a contest among interested parties to obtain the information the US navy recover from the wreck. Thts one half of it anyway. Through flashback chapters we are taken back to 1912 and the voyage of the titanic and just what was happening on the ship and how a radiation source could come to be present, these passages were particularly enjoyable.
The book is an easy read and well written.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
A good escapist novel, just what you need from a book. As a Titanic buff it's a bit far fetched but who knows what's being developed secretly by whoever!! I've read his second book about this couple, he's going down the road other authors have / are going with the professional married couple; he's just made them marine archeologists. But I'll keep reading this author until he starts repeating himself as so many authors do when they have a winning formula.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 1 December 2013
Not bad but I found it rather slow going in the beginning. The second half was much better. I would have liked more action.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
A little chancy perhaps to use the iconic Titanic as the centre stage but it works well. The likelihood of the details of the discovery of nuclear fusion being carried on board is quite feasible so the issue is quite thought provoking. A good yarn and I will look for more by Tom West.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
A really good adventure thriller that had me glued to the Kindle page. The two well written stories blend well with each other and though some of the hardware is a bit suspect its a damn good read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Ice Tomb Second Edition
Ice Tomb Second Edition by Deborah Jackson

Ice Rift
Ice Rift by Pamela Lane

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.