Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read
This novel was much more gripping than I expected it to be. I bought it because I love a good book about the Titanic, fictional or not, it's one of those subjects that I find fascinating. I wasn't entirely sure what to expect, from the 'blurb', but be assured if it's a fast paced thriller that you're after, then this definitely falls in to the category.

The...
Published 15 months ago by xVickyLeighx

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak
A story that stretches credibility too far and defies physics too much. Much the same story as Cussler's Raise the Titanic with similar plot twists. Almost gave up reading it as the plot and characters failed to hold interest. Historically weak and inclusion of real people as characters failed to convince. Pulp fiction.
Published 16 months ago by Andrew


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Titanic Enigma (Kindle Edition)
A story that stretches credibility too far and defies physics too much. Much the same story as Cussler's Raise the Titanic with similar plot twists. Almost gave up reading it as the plot and characters failed to hold interest. Historically weak and inclusion of real people as characters failed to convince. Pulp fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read, 11 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Titanic Enigma (Paperback)
This novel was much more gripping than I expected it to be. I bought it because I love a good book about the Titanic, fictional or not, it's one of those subjects that I find fascinating. I wasn't entirely sure what to expect, from the 'blurb', but be assured if it's a fast paced thriller that you're after, then this definitely falls in to the category.

The novel opens with the scene described via the back cover, a ship's crew discover something that shocks them to the core. The story that follows reveal the consequences of what they saw. It is much more than any of them could ever have imagined.

The wreck of the Titanic has become a radioactive source - but it is natural or man made? Commander Jerry Derham is sent to find out, and he enlists Kate and Lou renowned marine archaeologists to help him.

As the back cover blurb suggests, Kate and Lou were once a couple, it's clear throughout the novel that they both have feelings for each other, but these are largely ignored, which I liked, I didn't want it to turn into a sappy love story.

It doesn't.

As they set out to uncover the mystery, we are taken back to 1912, the year of the Titanic disaster, through flashbacks we are woven even deeper into the mystery. But it doesn't become confusing, only more intriguing.

I haven't read anything by Tom West or Michael White before (Tom West is a pseudonym ) but he's an author now on my radar, and I look forward to reading the next Tom West in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Titanic Enigma, 19 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Titanic Enigma (Kindle Edition)
Started with great promise but seems to lose its way. Character background and relationships not explained or explored, I didn't feel attached to them. The actual Titanic element is interesting and the historical back story is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars books to die for, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Titanic Enigma (Kindle Edition)
Not bad but I found it rather slow going in the beginning. The second half was much better. I would have liked more action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New twist on the Titanic sinking, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Titanic Enigma (Kindle Edition)
Interesting take on the Titanic 'mystery'; could have happened I suppose, just be thankful that it didn't! A bit disconcerting hopping backwards and forwards in time, but it had to to explain what had happened. Very impressive new technology ideas, maybe some truth there also - time will tell. Good read, and believable storyline. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable thriller - prefect summer reading, 26 Jun. 2013
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Titanic Enigma (Kindle Edition)
I knew nothing about The Titanic Enigma (or its author) when I bought it, other than that it had these factors going for it - marine archaeology, oceans, the Titanic, baddies, scientific secrets, explosions. With ingredients like these, there was no choice but to download and read it as soon as it became available. I'm delighted to report that the resulting dish was a pageturning thrill of a ride that brought together two equally exciting stories, one set in the present day and the other back in April 1912 aboard the largest manmade moving object of its day which was not, despite the poster headlines suggesting the contrary, unsinkable.

Lou Bates and Kate Wetherall are marine archaeologists working in Bermuda on the wreck of a pilgrim fathers vessel from the early 1600s. Meanwhile, in a colder part of the Atlantic, a burst of something radioative and lethal is unleashed from the deep ocean floor, bursting upwards, killing all sealife in its path, including a large whale. Its point of origin is the wreck of the Titanic with all the evidence indicating that it's manmade. Captain Jerry Derham of the United States Navy therefore enlists the help of Kate and Lou to discover the source using state of the art technology. Of course, this is also a chance of a lifetime for Kate and Lou - they will be able to explore in person the most famous wreck on the planet.

As if that's not exciting enough, you have to throw into the mix a host of competing agencies from across the globe, all intent on discovering for themselves (or stealing or killing for) the radioactive material and, more importantly, the mathematical and scientific formulae that Kate and Lou are able to recover from the Titanic on their first dive. The race is on, the stakes are high and no-one's life is valued more highly than the secrets that sank to the depths of the ocean one hundred years ago aboard the Titanic.

The Titanic Enigma moves between two worlds - that of the hunt to discover (and steal) the lost secrets and that of the last days of the Titanic. In 1912 Europe was preparing for war and the scientific mystery carried aboard the vessel was a valuable prize. Tom West does a fine job of bringing life into both stories, evoking the past splendour of the Titanic (plus what it reveals about class divisions) as well as the alien awe of exploring its remains a century on. The characters have a reality to them. The mysterious gentleman and his shipmates aboard the Titanic are vividly hinted at while Kate and Lou in the present day are not superhuman. They have a lot to be frightened about and they are. Also, one aspect I particularly liked is that some of the evil deeds that happen are hinted at and not salaciously displayed before the reader in all their detail. This actually made them seem more disturbing and believable. The baddies are likewise an interesting bunch.

I thoroughly enjoyed The Titanic Enigma. It had a slow start but it quickly picked up and I raced through it. One thing, though. I would have loved to have found out more about the Pilgrim vessel off Bermuda. Clearly, Tom West has succeeded in making me want more. A much recommended holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Titanic Enigma (Kindle Edition)
Great read, an adventure and for once not an Indiana Jones treasure hunt, refreshing and impressive. Great read, worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book from beginning to end!, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Titanic Enigma (Kindle Edition)
The Titanic Enigma brings back a love for the Titanic and everything it stood for. Also a great story that never was!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Titanic Enigma (Paperback)
Definitely a book of two halves! Liked the first half had an intriguing storyline with some good characters but the second half seemed rushed and fizzled out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 22 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Titanic Enigma (Kindle Edition)
A little chancy perhaps to use the iconic Titanic as the centre stage but it works well. The likelihood of the details of the discovery of nuclear fusion being carried on board is quite feasible so the issue is quite thought provoking. A good yarn and I will look for more by Tom West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Titanic Enigma
The Titanic Enigma by Tom West
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews