Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It !!!
After the disappointment of her last book in this series, I was wary about buying another but it this was unfounded, back to her usual brilliant self. This book engages you from page one, right through to the very last page. A brilliant and gripping read with an unexpected ending !!
Recommended
Published 15 months ago by Relic

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars predictable
Weak plot unanswered story lines could feel empathy for Kate, author needs to quit while semi ahead ..no more thanks
Published 6 months ago by Mrs. Lisa M. McLeish


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It !!!, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Last Breath (Kate Burkholder Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
After the disappointment of her last book in this series, I was wary about buying another but it this was unfounded, back to her usual brilliant self. This book engages you from page one, right through to the very last page. A brilliant and gripping read with an unexpected ending !!
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Her Last Breath? - I don't hope so, because..., 23 Jun 2013
This review is from: Her Last Breath (Kate Burkholder Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
... since her first book about Chief Kate Burkholder I am really a big fan of Linda Castillo. But yet in the 4.th book Gone Missing (Kate Burkholder 4) I missed something... I couldn't put my finger on it...
The Amish "magic" had lost a bit its spell - so I hoped for something better this time. But the outstanding qualities of the first books are fading a bit out...
OK, later more to this.

One rainy night, an Amish deacon with his three children is driving his buggy home from an appointment at the local clinic. All the children are suffering from a - in normal circumstances very rare - but in Amish communities more often found, genetic illness. They have special needs. From the right comes a car at very high speed and bangs the horse, the buggy and its passenger into oblivion. Paul Borntrager and two of his children remain dead on the tarmac. David, the eldest son, is speeded to the hospital for an emergency operation.
What at first seems like a tragic, but routine car/buggy accident was a coldly planned and executed killing, as the emerging evidence is showing. But who would want to kill an Amish deacon his children? Someone obviously did!

Kate is Chief of Police of Painters Mill where she grew up Amish, but has left the faith, so many people she once knew well avoid her now. The most interesting about those books was always the view into a life that not too many people can understand - the Amish Way. Now this sinister "non-accident" involves Kate's best childhood girlfriend, Mattie. Who is griefing and keeps herself upright only with the help of other Amish women - who almost all hate Kate, who "will burn in hell"!

Now Kate has to put the parts of the puzzle together, which isn't easy. As she struggles with the case, Kate is also troubled by her relationship with John Tomasetti, an other law enforcement officer. Kate is finding herself falling in love with him while resisting it at the same time. And when decade-old bones are found in a deserted property, a crime from Katie's past starts to emerge. And she has to fight about her professional integrity, too...

This was a very interesting thriller. I simply couldn't put it down and so I read it in one night. It is full of suspense and it was a bit of a surprise how the story evolves. The only two things which disturbed the pleasure were:
a.) that Kate has to take more hits and fight more fights and has to save herself out of almost impossible situations in the progression of the case than Superwoman
b.) the whining about the troubled pasts of her and John - those "I want You, but... - no, let's leave it how it is..." thing was a bit stressing for me.

For those reasons - my pesonal objections - I gave only a 4 Stars-Rating, but tenting to 5... :)
For You, who see it maybe in an other way - this may be a plain 5-Star thriller.
I am yet awaiting the next Kate-Burkholder-Thiller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linda Castillo at her best, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Last Breath (Kate Burkholder Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
An ingenious story of an unexpected sociopath. Linda Castillo at her very best. A must read for Kate Burkholder fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Story, 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: Her Last Breath (Kate Burkholder Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Kate Burkholder series
* Sworn to Silence, Minotaur Books, 2009
* Pray for Silence, Minotaur Books, 2010
* Breaking Silence, Minotaur Books, 2011
* Gone Missing, Minotaur Books, 2012
* Her Last Breath, Minotaur Books, 2013
I have been following this series since book 1 and I think that this is the best one yet. While this book can be read as a standalone, I DO recommend that you eventually read the others, just to fill in some of the blanks you may encounter. Ms Castillo is such a wonderful author and understands the importance of back-story so well that you will have no problems understanding who is who and what is what in this series.

This book starts out with a horrific buggy crash - a car or truck coming out of nowhere plows into a buggy carrying most of an Amish family (three children and the father) all but one die at the scene. The author paints such a vivid word picture that I found myself getting sick to my stomach during some parts of this scene. This was a horrific hit-and-run accident...or was it really?

Along with this story, there is a second story going on that deals with Kate's childhood, a murder that occurred when Kate was 14 and some of the reasons she may have left the Amish faith. Her lover, John Tomasetti becomes more involved in this secondary plot and that may not bode well for them as a couple in coming books, but I have faith in Ms. Castillo's vision for this series.

This exceptional mystery had me guessing right until the last. I think my jaw actually dropped open and hit my chest when things were eventually revealed and circumstances are played out.
The characters each have their own voice, are multi-dimensional (even tertiary characters) and complex. Kate is a wonderful character that makes mistakes and is still paying for past ones, she is strong and kick-butt, but is not afraid to ask for help. She has flaws and that is such a relief to read. I am so tired of the `perfect star' of so many series.

The plot is complex yet when you get to the denouement, you find yourself wondering just how you missed so many clues. It will prove to you just how complicated and difficult a police officers' job really is. Everything is written so very realistically.

This book was a true page-turner and this series is one that you will most likely find yourself re-reading a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting reflection on human characteristics, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Last Breath (Kate Burkholder Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I love the continuing love story between Kate and John. I'm hoping this time she's going to play for keeps. She's so tough yet so human - I love this character. I love the way she appears to be on the mend following her immensely traimatic childhood. She's made it all the wY to the top and there ain't nobody gonna take that away! Great story - an interesting insight into some negative human personality traits : the ability to convincingly hide who you really are, even from your best friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Kate Burkholder story, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Last Breath (Kate Burkholder Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Linda Castillo doesn't disappoint with the 5th Kate Burkholder book.

Another great tale that takes you on a journey into the Amish world, where we find a story that could just as easily have been set in any community.

The on-going will they, won't they, between Kate and John Tomassetti is another reason to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read Linda Castillo, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We both love Linda Castillo's books, all that we've read have kept our interest all the way through and we look forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Her Last Breath (Kate Burkholder 5), 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all the Kate Burkholder books this one was exciting and kept you reading. The writing style is perhaps not brilliant, and she spends too much time pointing back to previous books, but all in all an easy and enjoyable read. And being hooked on the series I'll read the next one as well, even though I'll know it'll have shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Last Breath (Kate Burkholder Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
As per all her other books in the series, I found Her Last Breath a really good read. The interesting background story adds to the readers pleasure. I hope there will be more books to come in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and Suspenseful., 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Her Last Breath (Kate Burkholder Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Another great exciting story.As usual reading at speed but not wanting to finish so enjoyable.waiting for the next eventful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Her Last Breath (Kate Burkholder Book 5)
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews