Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Churchill vs Taliban
Fascinating book full of 'things I never knew', for example that Churchill so determined at such a young age to make his mark, nor that his mother had such a predilection for young army officers. Luckily this book is not just about the campaign of the 'Malakand field force' in the middle of nowhere but also has a lot of more general background information about the world...
Published 16 months ago by M. Baerends

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A history of folly
I found this book rather instructive as it shows what a folly it is to battle the Taliban when other empires at other times tried and failed in this enterprise. As a book I found its construction rather bitty and the writing sometimes simplistic and regularly seeking validation to its main theme which is comparison of present day operations in Afghanistan with those of...
Published 11 months ago by DIMITRI DRAGAZIS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars a well written piece, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this came very quickly it is for a 95th birthday and much to my surprise he had not read it and was delighted as he has many churchill books a lovely gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thought I knew about Churchill - I was wrong, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A 'missed' part of Churchill's early life. Interestingly put together with tales about life in those times with regard to Churchill and linked to comments about the current problems in the area.Churchill mentions Fred Burnaby's book ' A Ride To Khiva'. Another A Ride to Khiva: Travels and Adventures in Central Asiafascinating story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written and exhaustively researched book examining Churchill's early military career and the parallels of fighting the Taliban then and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars History repeating itself!!!, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Churchill's First War: Young Winston and the Fight Against the Taliban (Kindle Edition)
A extremely interesting comparison of a period over 100 years ago and the present. I is a pity our politicians could not have this book before starting an action that they were bound to lose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars marvelous read, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for any one who knows Churchill through reading about him this still opens other avenues to explore about this great mans mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Churchill's First War, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most enjoyable read and illustration of how history repeats itself and unfortunately we learn nothing from it! Very well written, clear print. A most interesting purchase not only to the Churchill fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb and timely book, 16 May 2013
By 
C. Catherwood "writer" (Cambridge UK and Richmond VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is not only a stand-alone biography of a part of Winston Churchill's life that has not been adequately covered, but a superb book that puts the struggles that he had on the North-West Frontier into the context of the struggle that Britain is facing in 2013 against the Taliban in present-day Afghanistan (and of course Pakistan, from whose present borders Churchill was operating in the days of the Raj).

So a book that will satisfy two kinds of reader: Churchill buffs and also those interested in the region today, one of the tinderbox regions of the 21st century world.

And an excellent example of how decision makers today absolutely must learn the lessons of history, for otherwise we are surely condemned to repeat them.

Christopher Catherwood, author of CHURCHILL'S TREASURES http://www.amazon.co.uk/Churchill-Treasures-Winston-Greatest-Briton/dp/0233003630/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1345730389&sr=1-1Churchill: the Treasures of Winston Churchill, the Greatest Briton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect holiday reading, 9 Sep 2013
By 
The Fox (Eastleach, Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Churchill's First War: Young Winston and the Fight Against the Taliban (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating review of Churchill's early life. Far more interesting than his own My Early Life. The parallels with the situation in modern Pakistan and Afghanistan are chilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Peters read, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Churchill's First War: Young Winston and the Fight Against the Taliban (Kindle Edition)
I have only just started reading the book but so far have found it an easy historical read, albeit it would not suit everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews