Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a must read!
i have wanted to read this book for a long time, and glad i finally purchased it! have not finished it yet but so far its an interesting read examining the behaviour of the "negro". it seems that alot of what the author talks about is still very much relevant today...
Published on 20 Jan 2011 by miss ebony lobban

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The Mis-Education Of The African American
This book deals primarily with the current educational status of Blacks in America - African American - as they prefer to be called.
It's called The Mis-Education Of The Negro because it relates to the influences that slavery has had on the educational status of Blacks in USA - ie how did the educated Black man go from being a slave to being a prominent member of...
Published 3 months ago by Cruella


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a must read!, 20 Jan 2011
i have wanted to read this book for a long time, and glad i finally purchased it! have not finished it yet but so far its an interesting read examining the behaviour of the "negro". it seems that alot of what the author talks about is still very much relevant today...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a wonderful book and a neccesary reading!, 19 Oct 1998
By A Customer
I am a twenty-four year old African American man and I read this book six years ago, and even at that young age I found it "On point". Dr. Woodson wrote this book over 60 years ago and his observations of social and educational conditions hold true to this day. This book was my introduction to my continuing studies of African American history, and I recommend that anyone beginning their studies begin with this book. There will be many instances when you will nod your head in agreement with what is stated, and other times when you will learn things about your own behaviors that you could not previously understand. The only reason that I couldn't give this book five stars is because it is a scholarly text and it is a little difficult for less sophisticated readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The in-for-mation for all AFRICANS, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Loretta B. Thomas "Loretta" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have only begun reading this and already I have an overstanding as to why our children are growing into lost adults and why some of us as black people find it hard to nuture our children into adults. We have been to pre-occupied with trying to fit in to a system that was never set up for our gain. However an African American has wrote this book and proves we can triumph and do triumph over adversity. We are a mighty race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly educative, 27 Feb 2005
By 
Michael Brown (Greensboro, NC, USA) - See all my reviews
What I find amazing about this book is its almost prophetic nature. The author writes in a masterly manner, virtually giving directions to the subjects dealt with. Written more than six and a half decades ago, this book spoke of the misdirection in education and the consequences it can have on a society without deep a sense of purpose, a society that is failing to nurture its own values and build on genuine and progressive thoughts. The greatest strength of this book is that it shows us not only the strength of a proper education, but also the negative imparts of an improper education. This book is still relevant today. Few books have so masterfully challenged the minds of both the mis-educated and the mis-educators as 'Mis-Education of the Negro' has done, by calling on society to be humble, accept its errors and choose new directions in education. I strong recommend readers to make themselves familiar with the pages of this book. You will not regret it.
Also recommended: Race matters, Disciples of Fortune
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well said by Carter Woodson, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I woill recommend this book to be read by all black people. we need to rise up and unite and learn to do things for ourselves as the author said. Like a previous reviewer has noted, it is a shame that 75% of what is in the book still exists. Black people, we can turn things around and we can, with a positve midset and turn things around from a brainwashed state
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a book all Americans should read, 22 Oct 1997
By A Customer
This book, written in the 1930's is as timely today as it was 60 years ago. The mis-education of black children in segregated America now reads as a national indictment of our entire education system. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mis-Education of the Negro., 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was interesting to a point-.apart from only relating to America it is dated refering to the mid 20th century and before . I found it of little relevence to today (though it probably has an importance being that it started a movement which is a possitive thing for black people in America.) I would like books which show the struggle and achievements of black people in England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need i say more, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is perfect!
It reminds you of things you may of forgotten or too ignorant to admit, and forces you to look at the truth as well as put modern issues into context, and see its nothing new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Mis-Education Of The African American, 11 Jun 2014
This book deals primarily with the current educational status of Blacks in America - African American - as they prefer to be called.
It's called The Mis-Education Of The Negro because it relates to the influences that slavery has had on the educational status of Blacks in USA - ie how did the educated Black man go from being a slave to being a prominent member of society or how did America go from enslaving the Black slave to educating the Black student.

This edition does not have a Contents Page or an Index to tailor your studies to suit your personal needs, but there is a page of Study Questions and a Notes pad for your own jottings in the back of the book.

Thank You!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book arrived early. It is in excellent condition and was well priced. I would definately recommend this book for those seeking enlightenment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mis-Education of the Negro
The Mis-Education of the Negro by Carter G. Woodson
£0.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews